Reviews The Corner House

Town CentreBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.1/6
105 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Bird in Hand

Cowplain
5.3/6460
Bird in Hand

The Ship Inn

Redbridge
5.3/6132
The Ship Inn

105 The Corner House Reviews

Read reviews about The Corner House here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Corner House. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Corner House.

Excellent
5.1/6
105 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Suzanne B.9 months ago · 1 review

This little gem is a very short walk from the city centre, offers coffee and cake, super suppers and delicious breakfasts and Jazz evenings! Amazing staff and always a warm welcome. Can’t recommend it enough.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nick L.9 months ago · 1 review

Great place, great food. Excellent staff. It came recommended by a friend who met us there. Very impressed. Would recommmebd this place to our friends.

"Excellent"
6/6
Phil R.9 months ago · 1 review

Great food and atmosphere supported by a jazz band. The team producing and serving the food were very polite and friendly. Will return again on our next trip.

"Excellent"
6/6
Christine C.a year ago · 1 review

Delicious food, especially the cake. Staff are lovely, service is always with a smile. Great choice of Gins, background music relaxing. I will definitely be back for more.

"Good"
4/6
Penny J.2 years ago · 4 reviews

A friend and I visit 'The Corner House' approximately every 5-6 weeks. We like the cafe because it's relatively quiet (i.e. no loud music) and the staff are friendly.The menu is varied, the food tasty and the prices are sensible and fair. However on our visit last week, our food, although delicious, was tepid and the staff didn't seem quite so attentive as before, which was surprising as the cafe wasn't over busy, and we kept having to go up to the counter to get anything extra. Hence me rating a score of only 4 on this occasion. Hopefully the service will be a bit better next visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Roz S.a year ago · 1 review

A quirky, comfortable and very welcoming restaurant to meet for breakfast. Fantastic locally sourced food, served quickly. One full english, one half english breakfast (both good sized portions) a bacon sandwich and granola served with yoghurt and compote, mmmmmmmmm. The Corner House always provides a peaceful oasis in a busy city, a perfect start to a busy day, thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
rhian j.a year ago · 1 review

It is always agreat atmosphere at The Corner House, good food and live music. Although we had a waiter with a sense of humour failure which is a first, usually everyone is super friendly. I guess we all have bad days!

"Excellent"
6/6
Polly M.a year ago · 1 review

The Corner House is a fabulous independent pub/restaurant. We have celebrated birthdays there, broadcasted, branched, lunched and caked and coffeed. The staff are really kind and helpful and the food is home made and delicious. We will be back.

"Good"
4/6
Catherine F.2 years ago · 1 review

We went to The Corner House as a group of 6 which included 2 kids. The food was great, staff were friendly however they had no high chairs. I was quite surprised at this and honestly can't remember the last time I went somewhere that doesn't have at least 1.

"Good"
4/6
Claire W.2 years ago · 1 review

The staff were very attentive and helpful. Although I had booked a table, the restaurant was very quiet and we had a choice of seating. There was not a huge choice for vegetarians but my friend and I both enjoyed our all-day vegetarian breakfast. My only criticism was that the cutlery (although it looked clean) had an unpleasant smell about it suggesting the dishwasher could do with a clean. However nice the food is, smelly cutlery does ruin it and it made me wonder about the overall hygiene in the kitchen.