Reviews The Duke William

Town CentreBritish, European, International££££
Excellent
5.3/6
459 Reviews
The Duke William Lincoln image 1
The Duke William Lincoln image 2
The Duke William Lincoln image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

459 The Duke William Reviews

Read reviews about The Duke William here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Duke William. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Duke William.

Excellent
5.3/6
459 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Sandra P.5 days ago · 5 reviews

Made very welcome. Excellent range of good on offer. High quality.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Julian B.7 days ago · 2 reviews

Nice meal and great service, never had a bad meal here!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Leslie H.13 days ago · 1 review

Very busy because of the Lincoln 10k run but we were well looked after as usual. We had friends up for Birmingham and Bolton and they were very happy with their experience.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Stephanie W.13 days ago · 1 review

Really impressed with my visit. Came on a Sunday and ordered the beef roast which was delicious and cooked perfectly. The Panna cotta desert was also lovely. Cosy atmosphere and great service!

"Great"
5/6
Hayley H.a year ago · 2 reviews

Atmosphere and overall presentation of the pub is good. Food was very nice, but the service let it down. I wouldn't say it was the busiest Friday I've seen (about half the tables were full). We asked for side plates with our starters, they didn't turn up before they came to clear the table (good job we weren't waiting), asked for napkins with the main, 5 mins later still no napkins and had to ask again. Dessert menu took nearly 10 mins to arrive after asking and when the bill was presented, no body came back to take payment so we ended up taking ourselves to the bar on the way out. When we asked about items on the menu the waitress didn't seem knowledgeable on the menu - We asked if the chicken liver moose was a moose or a pate and she wasn't sure. Nor did she know what the pistachio crumb was like. It wouldn't put us off going back because the food more than made up for the service. But there's definitely room for improvement. And just as a personal side note, please get rid of the awful Black Rat cider, if you're only going to have 1 Apple cider option make it a good one!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Laurence W.a year ago · 2 reviews

The Duke William is a great place for a meal & a drink. Lunchtime or evening you always get a warm welcome, a great choice of real beers and a super menu. The prices are very reasonable and the quality of the food is first class. There are rooms available but not having tried these I wouldn't want to comment on these. If you are visiting the Cathedral quarter of Lincoln, this is ideal. Booking is advisable at weekends as the Duke is very popular.

"Good"
4/6
Hayley H.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Staff were very accommodating when I arrived with an extra person in my party however, service was slow. We were seated in the bar rather than restaurant area and it felt as though we were forgotten about. It was 20 minutes before we had our drinks orders taken, we would have gone to the bar ourselves but on a Thursday night there was only 1 member of staff behind the bar and she was clearly very busy. Food arrived after a reasonable amount of time, our party had pasta, steak, beef pot and the duck special which everybody agreed the food was average. Another 20 minute wait for the table to be cleared during which time we did decide to go to the bar ourselves. For afters we had chocolate tort, sticky toffee pudding, chocolate brownie and a cheese board which everyone really enjoyed. It was definitely the best part of the meal! The table was cleared a bit quicker this tine but there was no offer of more drinks / coffees or the bill! So it was back to the bar again to settle up. Over all, not the best night I've had in the Duke William but it wouldn't stop me from going back because when it's good, it's really good!

"Great"
5/6
Joseph S.a year ago · 4 reviews

Atmosphere and staff/service very good. Specials Board selection sadly depleted due to "a very busy day"...which is understandable and at least shows the ingredients are fresh and not just hauled out of the freezer etc. But, more surprisingly, the 'Sausage and Mash" main course had also run out. Run out of Sausages in Lincolnshire? Surely that's treasonable? Of more import, the fish in my Fish & chips was not fully cooked and the batter not crisp, suggesting cool fat in deep fryer or too short cooking time. Section of raw fish didn't become apparent until almost finished. The fish was also the last portion. Mentioned to waitress and low-0level apology given. Not big points but took the icing off the experience at a place we have, until now, rated highly. Whilst moaning....could the menu be a little more adventurous, it just felt a tad staid. Maybe we were just having a bad night, but there is so much competition around The Bail' that we have come to expect better.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sara V.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely place, delicious food and awesome staff! We were able to book a table the same day for a Sunday roast, and the experience could not have been any better. The Sunday roast options were very inclusive, and the remaining items on the menu we tried were equally great. I even ordered dessert after the roast, no matter how stuffed I felt already (piece of advice, try the three chocolate brownie, you will not be disappointed!). Staff was friendly, attentive and did not rush us at all, even though us Spaniards are known for making reeeeally long after lunch chats over coffee at the table. We will definitely go back if we visit Lincoln in the future, because this place is absolutely worth going up the hill! :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Desley L.a year ago · 2 reviews

We went in to the pub we were shown a table. When I given the menu there did not appear to have anything that was gluten free, when the waitress came to the our order I explained that I didn't eat gluten and there wasn't anything on the menu she took my concern to the chef she came after a couple on minutes and it was all sorted. The food I had was beef stew mash and veg. It was really good. I have been before when in the area and it has all ways been good. Staff very efficient and can't do enough to make sure every thing is correct.