Reviews The French House - Crystal Palace

Crystal PalaceFrench££££
Excellent
5.3/6
52 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Côte Covent Garden - St Martin's Lane

Covent Garden
5.1/63526
Côte Covent Garden - St Martin's Lane

Côte Covent Garden - Tavistock Street

Covent Garden
5.2/63154
Côte Covent Garden - Tavistock Street

52 The French House - Crystal Palace Reviews

Read reviews about The French House - Crystal Palace here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The French House - Crystal Palace. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The French House - Crystal Palace.

Excellent
5.3/6
52 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Matt W.a year ago · 1 review

We were looking for something authentic French, good food as Bon Bouffe in East Dulwich where we usually go was closed. Booked for the family and very glad we did. Great plates, really well considered menu and excellent value. Cherry on top is the fantastic service we received. Plus a great location for us, bang on the CP triangle.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jerome G.a year ago · 5 reviews

Overall the food was quite good and the staff very friendly

"Excellent"
6/6
Alexander M.a year ago · 1 review

Great food, great service! People need to know about it. Highly recommended! Will be trying the one on Dulwich too! Hi and enjoy the fondue!

"Excellent"
6/6
Nicola B.2 years ago · 1 review

Very enjoyable first visit to the French House, along with a French friend for extra authenticity. Great ambience and excellent service - helpful and friendly and well timed. Delicious food and will definitely be going back, particularly as I will be able to take my dog next time!

"Excellent"
6/6
Alex S.2 years ago · 1 review

Perfect service. Plentiful, high quality cheese and charcuterie. Delicious wine (but relatively steeply priced). Good coffee. Real pastry. Excellent ambience. I would return again to try their cooked dishes - this restaurant clearly cares about its French roots and makes it possible to enjoy a slice of France without picking up the tab of a Michelin starred restaurant. In the context of Crystal Palace, it is neither cheap nor expensive. If you're reading this review, deciding whether to visit or not, then I would recommend giving it a shot. At worst, it won't be your thing. At best, you'll have found a charming French restaurant that is admirably trying to be different. In any event, I cannot envisage being served a bad meal here. I live locally.

"Good"
4/6
Henry D.2 years ago · 1 review

The ambience was very nice with Ye Ye music laying. The music playing was not, sadly, what was being shown on the TV, old French music programmes in black and white. Sad. Nice posters on tne walls. Staff friendly and knew the menu, very helpful. The starter, a charcuterie board, was very nice and tasty, good choices. The mains were a tad disappointing. The menu didn't fully reflect what was on the plates. The coq au vin was on noodles yes, but there was also chargrilled veg. Or that's what it looked/tasted like. It's difficult because I rather like my own coq au vin made the traditional way. My Wife had a salmon a la nicoise. Well, we know what a nicoise is, or do we. This was, sadly, very overcooked salmon fillets on a bed of charlotte potatoes d green beans. The pudding, well, we both had chocolate fondants with ice cream. Rather delicious. A pint and a vodka tonic all for just over £60 was good value. Would we return, not sure, I may spend an evening dr king their wine and having charcuterie.

"Excellent"
6/6
Angela P.2 years ago · 2 reviews

We had a lovely birthday meal here last night. I recommend the large charcuterie platter for four people. If you love cheese, this is certainly the starter for you. So many delicious flavours. The service was lovely and friendly and we always had a drink (or two) on our table. Please try all the tarte flambes. Between us we tried three different flavours and the toppings were very generous. I can't wait to go back to try the desserts. We ate too much and couldn't fit them in!

"Good"
4/6
Howard W.2 years ago · 1 review

Overall we enjoyed our visit. However, it is overpriced for what it offers. Also the music was via a soundtrack in the background whilst the TV which played 60;s video music was not linked to the sound system. So we saw silent video which bore no relation to the 'muzak' soundtrack. Disappointing as this was a main reason for our visit. Staff were friendly and the food was fine, if overpriced as mentioned. Could be 25% cheaper and it would be a different experience. Expectation = high, delivery = medium overall. Not sure I would go back though as there are many other restaurants in Crystal Palace. Stiff competition needs a great offering and this did not deliver.

"Excellent"
6/6
Emma J.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Went mid week with a group of girls, atmosphere was lovely, wine choices were good with options for glasses, carafs or bottles. Shared a raclette and a fondue plus one other meal between 5 and it was more than enough food for us. Food did take quite a long time to come out but we were informed and they were apologetic. Company and atmosphere was good so this didn't matter. Will definitely return.

"Great"
5/6
Ruth B.a year ago · 1 review

Great restaurant, been a few times and it's always a good atmosphere and lovely food. Friendly service too.Only drawback was they didn't have the kirsch digestif that was on the menu. French onion soup was tasty and good tarte flambees for me and my friend. She enjoyed her duck pate too. Also like that they do wine by the carafe as well as by the bottle and glass.