Reviews The Garden House Inn

North EndBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.0/6
189 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Cafe Lilli

Norton
5.5/6348
Cafe Lilli

The Patricia

Jesmond
5.5/6172
The Patricia

189 The Garden House Inn Reviews

Read reviews about The Garden House Inn here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Garden House Inn. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Garden House Inn.

Excellent
5.0/6
189 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Susan B.7 months ago · 1 review

Lovely food and staff,good value for money too. Would recomend the sticky toffee pudding it us delicious. Handy location to walk into Durham after a lovely meal

"Excellent"
6/6
Aub F.8 months ago · 1 review

The food in the Garden House was excellent as usual and the service very friendly. A great choice of beers and wines are also stocked

"Excellent"
6/6
David L.9 months ago · 1 review

Perfect Sunday dinner. Could not fault it except I would advise not to go too late on a Sunday as some food was unavailable .

"Excellent"
6/6
Trudy S.9 months ago · 2 reviews

We had a fabulous meal here, with attentive staff and in pleasant surroundings. Sunday lunch full of so many scrumptious ingredients. Very good value. Can fully recommend.

"Great"
5/6
Ed R.a year ago · 1 review

My friend and I decided to opt for small portions of dishes we'd never tried before. Part way through our first three dishes (and a free snack) we realised that we had under-estimated how filling the dishes were, and that we had well-and-truly over-ordered. We mentioned this to our waitress, half-expecting: 'Well, loosen your belts; I'm bringing two more'. She returned after speaking to the chef and told us they hoped we would enjoy the rest of the meal we were eating and not to worry about the remainder of the order which was now cancelled. Overall, we had a very pleasant evening at The Garden House - a tasty, interesting meal for a very reasonable price, in simple,attractive surroundings with a relaxing atmosphere sustained by friendly, helpful staff. I will be going back soon.

"Good"
4/6
John H.2 years ago · 1 review

Very nice on the whole. The Inn itself has a lot of character, although we were seated in the (newly built?) conservatory, but it was bright and cheerful on a Sunday afternoon. Food was very nice. Really it was traditional Sunday Lunch fair, but of a slightly more chef-y sort. A Few shortcuts were taken (veggies served under the John Dory were the same as serve as a side veg, and the sauce was quite similar to the sauce my wife had on the gnocchi). But the food was very tasty. The side veg and potato were very nicely done, which makes for a nice change. The lemon posset was lovely. Service was very nice, although maybe inexperienced and got a bit frazzled when things got busy. On the whole lovely, and would recommend and go again.

"Great"
5/6
Stuart T.2 years ago · 1 review

The bar area is the place to be rather than the conservatory as it has more character. Wide selection of food on the menu, lobster sandwich starter was excellent as was the tomato soup. Wine reasonably priced and 3 real ales available. The main course (hake) was very tasty but we had virtually finished the wine by the time it arrived. Whether not all the chefs were in with it being a Monday I don't know but other people around were waiting as well. So, on the whole very good, just the long wait a bit of a downside.

"Okay"
3/6
Mandy F.2 years ago · 1 review

Bit disappointing - the interior and experience doesn't really match the exterior. Met with a smell of toilets as we walked through the front door, very dingy inside, had to find someone to show us to our table. Floor was sticky and bots of food from previous diners. Our server was lovely and friendly, but we did wait over an hour from arrival to getting our main course, with only drinks and some bread and butter between (no starters) and we had to ask where our food was. No vanilla ice cream for dessert /accompaniment (but not explained when menus were asked for) meant we all had to choose something else or go without. Nice staff, food was OK and reasonable price but the other things really let it down. Probably wouldn't visit again unfortunately, as its very local to us.

"Great"
5/6
Jason W.a year ago · 1 review

I ordered the monkfish cheeks to start, what I got was posh scampi, it just wasn't what I had in mind, even if it was monkfish, you couldn't taste it for the deep fried breadcrumbs!! Not great, but the main more than made up for it!! I ordered the 12 hour feather blade beef, which was fantastic and my wife had the rare rump of beef which was well worth the extra £2 supplement!! The starter was quickly forgotten about!!!!

"Good"
4/6
David H.2 years ago · 1 review

Sunday lunch, Good food and plentiful. Down side was the cramped seating which meant difficult to access seats and posed problems for waiting staff access to other tables. Will not be returning on a Sunday as due to popularity did not have adequate space. Service was good but minor training issue - asked waitress what beers they had to be told she did not know. On a positive the salmon starter was excellent and everyone enjoyed their main course. So plentiful that only two of five could manage dessert which again was well presented and tasty.