Reviews The George - Cask & Carvery

RiponBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.0/6
60 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Ilkley Cow

Ilkley
5.3/6588
The Ilkley Cow

The Fox & Hounds at Walton

Walton
5.4/6374
The Fox & Hounds at Walton

60 The George - Cask & Carvery Reviews

Read reviews about The George - Cask & Carvery here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The George - Cask & Carvery. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The George - Cask & Carvery.

Excellent
5.0/6
60 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
janet h.2 years ago · 10 reviews

a friendly and very very fantastic place to eat the food is excellent

"Excellent"
6/6
janet h.2 years ago · 10 reviews

very friendly service the staff are very polite excellent place to eat

"Excellent"
6/6
Kathleen Y.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent carvery, wonderful puds, friendly staff and lovely surroundings ... will definitely be back! Cannot find fault in any way whatsoever. Thoroughly enjoyed our selves.

"Excellent"
6/6
diane b.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely meal, food was excellent and staff were amazing including their approach to the children. We were all made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived would definitely recommend the George for all families

"Good"
4/6
Barbara T.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was very good. Service could have been better. We went into the bar first, and waited whilst the barman served other customers, in a queue. After a few minutes we were able to say we had made a booking to a female member of staff who suddenly appeared through the door. It was not obvious she was a member of staff (no uniform or badge) until she asked if she could help us. We said we had pre-booked a table and gave our name. She didn't acknowledge nor seemed interested in the fact we had pre-booked and said we should follow her. We were taken into the room opposite, directed to a table (no reservation sign evident) and she quickly disappeared, leaving us wondering what the system was. Do we buy drinks at the bar? Does she come back to take our drinks order? What if we wanted to order wine to have with our food (there was a wine list on the table)? Although staff were pleasant enough, the service just lacked the finer touches that would make you feel a valued customer and want to return. Yes, the food was very good -hot, plentiful choice of meats and vegetables, accompaniments and giant Yorkshire Puddings. We did not try out the desserts. Chef at the carvery was very polite, friendly and helpful.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew K.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service. We were a party of 7 on Boxing Day, including 2 children under 4 (one in a high chair) - not the easiest of situations to cater for! We were put in a private room, which we hadn't asked for, and this worked wonderfully well. There was a wide variety of meats available and plates were piled high! Service was cheerful and friendly and the children were made a fuss of! Afterwards, we spent some time in the games room which suited the children enormously. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely and special Boxing Day experience.

"Great"
5/6
Barbara B.2 years ago · 1 review

I have never been a fan of carvery meals, but this was something different. My husband chose the roast ham, and was cut a huge thick slice which he said was delicious. I picked the turkey steak, which was enormous, very tasty and tender and cooked in a white wine and cream sauce. The vegetables were beautifully cooked, the roast potatoes were like home-made, as were all the other vegetables; and even the cauliflower cheese was cooked to perfection and not made soggy by being kept hot. All excellent. I have to add that the service from everybody excelled most top-class restaurants.

"Okay"
3/6
Janet M.2 years ago · 1 review

Not great! Shown to the table straight away then left to our own devices. With it being first time visit not sure what the routine was.Finally a young girl came and asked if we needed any drinks- she did not know what children's drinks were stocked. We asked her what we were supposed to do for the carvery she was not confident in the information at all. She eventually came back and asked if we wanted a starter. I eventually took the initiative to go get some food for the child as he was starving and we were having starters. When I finally got my meal I had to search for a knife and fork as the container was totally empty. Mashed potato was sticky could not get it off the serving spoon, lots of fat on meat. Good thing was the bill at end did not include our meals!! Which I did bring to their attention. No ambiance to the place!

"Great"
5/6
Ian B.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our first visit to The George at Wormald Green. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. A good selection of food at the carvery, but a non carvery menu would have been useful as well. I felt the food could have been a bit hotter, but my wife was happy and she usually likes her food piping hot! We will be visiting The George again, partly because it is not too far away from home, but also because the food was good, and surroundings pleasant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Emma-Louise W.2 years ago · 1 review

I met a friend to here to experience the carvery for the first time. We were both very impressed. All the staff that dealt with us were very helpful and informative. Service was very quick. The was a wide variety of meats to choose from at the carvery. The food , wine and the service was of very good quality. I will be returning, great first experience.