Reviews The Jolly Ristorante

New TownItalian, Pizza, European££££
Excellent
5.4/6
89 Reviews
The Jolly Ristorante Edinburgh image 1
The Jolly Ristorante Edinburgh image 2
The Jolly Ristorante Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

89 The Jolly Ristorante Reviews

Read reviews about The Jolly Ristorante here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Jolly Ristorante. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Jolly Ristorante.

Excellent
5.4/6
89 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Gillian C.4 days ago · 1 review

Everything was lovely until two hours later I projectile vomited in the playhouse - only thing I had eaten that day so not great

New"Excellent"
6/6
Angela B.6 days ago · 1 review

Love the food and not to expensive. Would definitely recommend

New"Excellent"
6/6
R A K.7 days ago · 1 review

We were impressed with the food, the staff and above all, the owner, Vito! The first time we visited, we didn't have reservations, but despite the fact that the restaurant was extremely busy, they made a place to accommodate us. Based on that first visit, we made reservations and returned for another meal. We would gladly visit again if or when we return to Edinburgh.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Alison M.14 days ago · 13 reviews

Loved the Jolly it’s been years since I was last in and fantastic value for money for the 3 course special lunch. Would highly recommend and will be back again soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julie S.8 months ago · 1 review

It's old school, delicious Italian food with a pizza menu that never ends! The starters huge and very tasty, the mains just as good. The bill was absolutely astounding value for money especially with crafts of house wine flowing. Great service, attentive but not too much i.e they don't ask how the food is when you've just put food in your mouth! Busy little place come 6pm so I'm glad we booked a table and people walking in all very familiar with the owner so everyone chatting away like you were in someone's living area rather than a restaurant which I believe is what an Italian restaurant strives to achieve. Reading other reviews, yes the decor is dated but so what, we're not eating the décor and I think it makes The Jolly unique rather than a run of the mill chain that has the same decor no matter what country you are in but that doesn't matter (in my opinion) when you have quality food at a good price, service and atmosphere.

"Great"
5/6
Fran H.a year ago · 1 review

Very retro restaurant, loved it. But, my soup was not hot, more under warm. The main course heat wise was warm. The food itself was exceedingly good for a lunchtime menu of under £7.00. I chose liver and bacon and the liver was cooked to perfection. This restaurant needs to keep its retro flavour. Get dishes hot. Not use frozen veg. It’s soup was homemade, and tasted yummy, my liver dish was amazing. The pears were good too. Could have done with ice cream. But remember this was under £7.00 . Tell them keep the he good work up! With the food places round it hem they could do a amazingly. I am a local

"Excellent"
6/6
michael f.2 years ago · 11 reviews

First time we have been here for lunch. We were looking for somewhere to eat at the start of our holidays when my wife remembered that they did a set 3 course lunch for £6.50 so given that we love their a la Carte menu we did not think ml this was a gamble. 3 garlic bread starters 3half pizza half pasta mains and 3 ice cream plus 3 pepsi colas all for under £25.00 what's not too like.

"Great"
5/6
Shirley M.4 months ago · 1 review

I hadn't been to the jolly since the mid 90s and I must say the food was as good as I remember it being, delicious! Great portions and very good value even still. We were having a pre theatre meal. The place was stowed out which of course meant service was a little slow. But it is Christmas time so to be expected. Would definitely go back again though. Best Italian in Edinburgh.

"Excellent"
6/6
Donald F.a month ago · 1 review

As always a great night at Jolly Restaurant. Such a good menu and great tasting dishes. Was very busy tonight so the staff were kept on their toes, but always had service with a smile. just as well we booked a Table as it was packed! Will come again. One of the best restaurants on Edinburgh for sure!

"Good"
4/6
Fiona M.2 years ago · 5 reviews

We have been visiting The Jolly regularly for the past 30 years and always enjoy the experience - especially the friendliness of staff and their 'banter'. However, on this latest occasion we felt that neither the food nor the service was up to the usual standard: the normal 'sparkle' was missing. This latest experience will not prevent us from going to The Jolly again in future, but has slightly tarnished our view of the restaurant. We would still recommend it to friends but perhaps no longer unreservedly.