Reviews The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire

HathersageBritish, European££££
Excellent
4.9/6
101 Reviews
The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire Hathersage image 1
The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire Hathersage image 2
The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire Hathersage image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

101 The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire Reviews

Read reviews about The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Plough Inn - Hathersage/Derbyshire.

Excellent
4.9/6
101 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Belinda S.4 months ago · 2 reviews

We have eaten here many times and it never disappoints, another lovely meal and so nice to be by the fire with good food and beer after a bracing walk

"Excellent"
6/6
sean r.6 months ago · 1 review

Great food, service and welcome. Well worth a visit, we will be back! The staff were very attentive and nothing too much bother. A gem of a place which I highly recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michael S.6 months ago · 1 review

Excellent service and food. Visited this place a few times now and never had cause to complain about service or food. Recommend booking though as busy every time we have been. But you would expect that with the lovely food.

"Excellent"
6/6
William J.7 months ago · 1 review

The Plough Inn near Hathersage has a friendly and hospitable atmosphere. It serves good quality food with friendly staff. The drinks available are also commendable.

"Great"
5/6
jonathan w.2 years ago · 1 review

On a cold and rainy New Year's Day The Plough Inn was a perfect venue for our family get together. There was a log fire and plenty of space for our party of four grown ups and four kids. It felt a bit like a smart pub, but it was cosy and welcoming. The food was very good. The beef was cooked to a turn, the Guinea Fowl fell off the bone nicely and the vegetarian Puy Lentils were delicious. Good beer (Sheffield Brewery's Moonshine) and proper desserts. Nice.

"Good"
4/6
Dennis S.10 months ago · 1 review

The Plough is one of our 'special' places, but last Wednesday, it was not up to its usual standard. Our table by the fireplace was shabby, and very, very, sticky to the touch. It was not laid up correctly, no cutlery for our starters, and none for our desserts. We had requested a table at the far end of the bar, but when we arrived we found that they had already seated another couple there. There were only two young girls to cater for a fairly busy lunch service. Bob's son was called away to deal with something outside, and that, and the fact that Bob wasn't around made the difference. We have been going there for the past 16yrs since my wife and I first met, and had our first lunch date at The Plough, and last Wednesday was the anniversary of our that meeting, and sadly it was not up to its usual standard.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mike B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Our party of 8 was warmly welcomed to the Plough, and staff had arranged a suitable table on the terrace, assuring us that if it was, too hot there, they would be happy for us to have a table in the restaurant. Service was friendly and efficient, the food was excellent and it was very clear that the chef sourced high quality produce. The pub was very busy at lunchtime and I was very glad that we had booked. I'm sure that evening dining in the restaurant would be a wonderful experience!

"Great"
5/6
Bob S.a year ago · 1 review

The food was excellent, reflecting that good quality restaurant food is served rather than just good pub food. This is reflected in the prices that were not overly expensive. We ate in the pub area where we enjoyed the warm glow of the log fire. We preferred this as we like the "Country pub" atmosphere. Service was a little slow as the young staff were learning, but as long as you made the effort to "catch" their eye, then they came and took your order. They were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. I would thoroughly recommend the restaurant to other people.

"Excellent"
6/6
Judith R.2 years ago · 1 review

Delicious and interesting food including unusual and tasty vegetarian options. I had Manchester tart for dessert not something you often see on the menu but I had fond memories of it from school days. It did not disappoint it was a Manchester tart taken to a different level. The service was friendly and efficient if a little slow but we were in no hurry anyway. We'll definitely be back.

"Bad"
2/6
Caroline J.a year ago · 1 review

We were disappointed with the service and some of the food on this occasion. We were placed in a rather dull restaurant whilst the homely pub lay half empty just through the archway. After waiting a while to order drinks (no wine list left with us) we also ordered olives and baguette whilst waiting for our mains. This was a most odd combination, the baguette was a small freshly baked white one, but there was no dipping oil or butter - such a pity not to provide a portion of more interesting (non-white) bread and some oil etc.. The mains took nearly an hour to arrive, even then we had to prompt the waiting staff. The salmon (think it was Thai) was disappointing with a single small sprig of the advertised broccoli. The lemon sole was very good, but at £22.50 quite expensive for a pub. Other tables also received 'Appetisers' which we did not, the waitress admitting this was an error. All told we didn't feel that welcome, which is a pity as we've dined and stayed at The Plough before and been happy.