Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
London
City of London
The Sichuan
The Sichuan Reviews

The Sichuan

Chinese, Asian

Dishes priced around£10

Photo of restaurant The Sichuan in City of London, London

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Sichuan (296)

Read what people think about The Sichuan. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Sichuan before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Sichuan and book a table with confidence!

5.2/6

296 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
6162
589
420
312
26
17
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Excellent"
6/6
sharon f.15 days ago · 1 review

I really enjoyed the food and the staff was amazing dealing with my booking as my family was late 😂 they kept the table open and food was great I loved the whole dinner thank you for being amazing and understanding

"Awful"
1/6
Vina W.17 days ago · 1 review

I had dinner on my own and because i only had short time to dine i paid my order early before i finished eating to save time. When i stood up to leave I was asked bluntly by 2 waitressess if I paid already, the tables near me were all at earshot which was very awkward. I had to show my receipt to prove that i paid. No apologies given just said "don't worry about it " which is really unprofessional and very rude. This is the worst treatment a restaurant can give its client very rude.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jim W.2 months ago · 1 review

Tasty food and huge selection of dishes. Will eat here again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Mark R.3 months ago · 3 reviews

The Sichuan is a bustling, busy restaurant with a great atmosphere. Unfortunately we were half an hour late for our table but the lady we spoke to was very kind and accommodating when we called and still kept a table ready for us when we got there (thank you!) The food was incredible, with generous portions and tasted great. We also loved the friendly service, which was very efficient too. Will definitely be coming again! Whilst I highly recommend every dish, my favourites are the Sliced Beef served in Boiling Chilli Oil, and Chicken in a Pile of Chillies. Delicious!

"Excellent"
6/6
Sara M.3 months ago · 1 review

One of the best Chinese meals we have ever had. Excellent friendly service, lovely fresh flavoursome food, incredible valve for money. Will definitely be back 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

"Excellent"
6/6
Kate G.3 months ago · 2 reviews

The Sichuan is a wonderful, family-owned restaurant serving delicious, authentic Chinese food. The chef, Zhang, comes from Chengdu and is a master of Sichuan cooking. We greatly enjoyed the Hand-Tom Aubergine with chopped satled fresh chilli - savoury and moreish. Other stand-out dishes were 'Gong Bao' king prawns with cashew nuts and celery; Boiled fish in sizzling chilli oil (the fish was so tender and contrasted beautifully with the zing of the chilli, the mouth-numbing szechuan peppers and soft bean sprouts) and the beef with Sichuan pickles, needle mushrooms and wild pepper (an enticing mix of savoury and sour with tender strips of beef). Service is warm, friendly and attentive. There are a good selection of beverages to suit all tastes. Delicious, refreshing teas, beers and fine wines. We will definitely be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Richard H.4 months ago · 1 review

Very authentic and delicious! Must try for people loving Chinese food

"Very good"
5/6
Iris Z.4 months ago · 1 review

Good portion and delicious food with speedy service! Will visit again

"Excellent"
6/6
gwen m.8 months ago · 1 review

Great food and service.. we were not rushed out the door. Good value too for central London

"Very good"
5/6
Vicky c.9 months ago · 11 reviews

I ordered spicy noodles and my friend ordered seafood noodles. Both of them are tasty.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kuangjie L.a year ago · 3 reviews

They have very good service and the food is very delicious.

"Very good"
5/6
Roger P.2 years ago · 1 review

Great Sichuan food and value. Good service. We go regularly.

"Very good"
5/6
Malcom R.2 years ago · 130 reviews

We did have a very nice time at The Sichuan. The food was very good as also the service.

"Very good"
5/6
Malcom R.2 years ago · 130 reviews

We did enjoy our visit. The service was excellent!! The meal was very good.

"Very good"
5/6
Malcom R.2 years ago · 130 reviews

We did enjoy our visit. The service was good, also the service

"Very good"
5/6
Daryl O.3 years ago · 175 reviews

We did have a very nice lunch at The Sichuan. The service was very good. We will come again!!

"Very good"
5/6
Andrea P.3 years ago · 2 reviews

Very tasty just and great service! I’ll recommend it absolutely

"Excellent"
6/6
Kajetan C.4 years ago · 4 reviews

Great as always. Cheap place next to Moorgate, it does get full for lunch so worth booking.

"Excellent"
6/6
Enzo M.4 years ago · 1 review

Really nice food, great hosting and great atmosphere. Loved it

"Excellent"
6/6
Dina S.4 years ago · 1 review

We were celebrating a birthday and food was lovely as usual

"Very good"
5/6
Peter D.4 years ago · 1 review

A great find, really close to my office. Delicious food, great service and good value for money

"Excellent"
6/6
Heidi T.4 years ago · 1 review

Great food and lovely atmosphere. Definitely recommend and will be back soon!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lingzhi S.4 years ago · 4 reviews

Food is delicious. If you like spice Chinese food, try it and you will love it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Marisa b.4 years ago · 1 review

Good food and service, I would come back. I recommend the crispy duck with pancakes s

"Excellent"
6/6
David L.4 years ago · 1 review

Our first time at Sichuan. Such amazing food and excellent service. We will be going back for sure.

"Excellent"
6/6
Maya B.4 years ago · 1 review

Really great restaurant. Delicious food and a wide choice of dishes. Seabass with ginger and onion highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew B.5 years ago · 1 review

Very friendly and helpful staff. The food is amazing and came to our table promptly except for one dish which was explained to us would take a little longer which was thoughtful of them to explain. All in all a very pleasureable experience

"Excellent"
6/6
Justin G.5 years ago · 1 review

Some of the best Chinese food I've had the pleasure of tasting. Wish my belly was bigger to try more. Will definitely go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kawai J.5 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food, fast service, reasonable prices. Clean crockery and toilets.

"Excellent"
6/6
Richard N.5 years ago · 4 reviews

Service was excellent and the food very good. We will be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
John C.5 years ago · 6 reviews

The menu is fascinating and we look forward to our next visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
James M.5 years ago · 1 review

Top-notch Sichuan cooking in the City, recommended if you like the spicy-numb peppercorns.

"Excellent"
6/6
Charlie G.5 years ago · 1 review

Amazing time was had by all. The food was brilliant - the staff were friendly and quick. Couldn't have had a better dinner.

"Very good"
5/6
David J.5 years ago · 1 review

Authentic food, nicely cooked and well presented. I you enjoy spicy, well worth a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
John-Paul F.5 years ago · 1 review

Best Sichuanese food outside China. Utterly delicious and a lovely restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Grahame F.5 years ago · 1 review

Perfect meal, perfect service - Brilliant evening Definitely go again

"Average"
3/6
paul c.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Perfectly average food in an obnoxiously loud space thanks to a senseless play list of music being pumped through speakers overhead

"Very good"
5/6
Marta P.5 years ago · 5 reviews

Good quality and tasty food. I would definitely recommend it!

"Average"
3/6
Carel V.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Visited as it received good reviews, and was very disappointed, as the food did not live up to the lofty expectations.

"Excellent"
6/6
Akshay K.5 years ago · 1 review

superb. the restaurant is a class act with great cooking.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mark C.5 years ago · 1 review

I was so happy to find Chinese food as authentic as this, having lived in China for a couple of years in the past. I've found it surprisingly hard to find the good stuff in London, but The Sichuan is the real deal! I only tried the chef's special fish (whole roasted fish) on my first visit, but since it was SO good I will definitely be returning soon to see if the rest of the menu stacks up. Great value for money, the service was great (all the staff were super friendly), couldn't recommend this place more.

"Very good"
5/6
Susie C.5 years ago · 3 reviews

Fast efficient service, very good food. The chicken dish (辣子鸡) was a little dry.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter P.5 years ago · 3 reviews

Birthday lunch with friends, Great food and service, nice and relaxed.

"Very good"
5/6
Conrad M.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Food was great and service was excellent, particularly given we were a large party of 14!

"Very good"
5/6
Jiajia L.5 years ago · 1 review

Good food, fast and good taste . I think will come back again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Wendy W.5 years ago · 1 review

Service was efficient and friendly. The food was really delicious. Better to have a larger group so that more dishes can be sampled. Will go again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Fredrik O.5 years ago · 1 review

Very authentic food from Sichuan. Excellent quality. Reasonable price. Recommended.

"Very good"
5/6
Caitlin R.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Food was quick and delicious with healthy portions, staff extremely friendly and helpful.

"Very good"
5/6
Christine C.5 years ago · 1 review

Lovely friendly staff, lovely meal good size portions, very welcoming.

"Very good"
5/6
Sharon W.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Lovely food. Good service and value for money. Everyone enjoyed the evening

Earn cashback as you dine

Create a Quandoo account and earn £3 cashback.

Book a table and earn £1.50 cashback.

Leave a review and earn £0.50 cashback.