Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Hanbury
Hanbury
The Vernon
The Vernon Reviews

The Vernon

British, European, International

Dishes priced around£14

Photo of restaurant The Vernon in Hanbury, Hanbury

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Vernon (230)

Read what people think about The Vernon. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Vernon before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Vernon and book a table with confidence!

5.1/6

230 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
6107
572
435
39
23
14
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Excellent"
6/6
Jasmin B.3 months ago · 6 reviews

Sadly ran out of menu items and were not told but the food we did have was fabulous

"Good"
4/6
Navin P.a year ago · 1 review

We turned up and the restaurant was totally empty. We thought the staff were lovely and attentive. The chicken parfait was great and plenty of it, the sirloin steak was a little tough but still tasty. Great chips. We will come back again but prob in the summer.

"Average"
3/6
Lee B.a year ago · 1 review

Friday night table of 5 on 2 steaks left, no pork belly and no tomatoes for the 2 steaks.

"Good"
4/6
Eleanor P.a year ago · 2 reviews

Meal very good but no festive accompaniments received as expected.

"Very good"
5/6
Anthony B.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent service food great wonderful environment to dine, will come again

"Good"
4/6
Paul H.2 years ago · 1 review

New chef , new staff trying very hard . Hopefully they will get there .

"Very good"
5/6
John M.2 years ago · 1 review

LOVELY FOOD VERY MUCH ENJOYED TALKING WITH THE MANAGER NNMNMNM,,M

"Excellent"
6/6
Ella D.2 years ago · 1 review

absolutely delicious food. amazing service from staff too. very polite and the food was a bit more expensive but I absolutely loved it

"Excellent"
6/6
Kim D.2 years ago · 6 reviews

staff were friendly, food was excellent. Only thing that let them down was the 45 minute wait we had for our first.

"Excellent"
6/6
James F.3 years ago · 18 reviews

Lovely meal and the staff were excellent. Will be returning soon.

"Very good"
5/6
Colin H.3 years ago · 3 reviews

Nice atmosphere… good service… good food…. Would recommend and go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gary W.3 years ago · 1 review

First class staff & food as always Polite service Excellent value

"Excellent"
6/6
Kay W.3 years ago · 2 reviews

Waiting staff were polite, helpful and friendly and service was excellent. Every course was delicious - presentation was excellent, piping hot and could not fault anything. Compliments to the chef and his team. Will definitely be returning there again soon. A really enjoyable and relaxed evening!

"Very good"
5/6
Mel D.3 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food, first time I had been there for food. Friendly staff. What’s not to like !

"Good"
4/6
Adam K.3 years ago · 1 review

Overall a good visit. The price of some menu items seemed excessive e.g. fish and chips for £17.50. However other items seemed reasonably priced for the venue.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sam C.3 years ago · 4 reviews

Brilliant tapas food- big portions! Great atmosphere. Service a little slow but was straight after COVID lockdown

"Excellent"
6/6
Lorraine M.3 years ago · 1 review

Lovely restaurant, food was amazing we had the 3 course festive menu, all the staff were great, also very good covid safety measures in place

"Average"
3/6
Paul H.3 years ago · 1 review

Food mediocre for the money, staff were very nice and pleasant

"Good"
4/6
Ann M.3 years ago · 1 review

We were made to feel very welcome . The venue Itself I have always enjoyed and it was spotless on this occasion and adhering to COVID regulations !Our meal was enjoyable and the staff pleasant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dawn W.3 years ago · 1 review

it was all enjoyable, staff were great, it was nice

"Very good"
5/6
Marilyn H.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Excellent food Excellent staff Very clean and kept us safe

"Very good"
5/6
Matt P.4 years ago · 4 reviews

Very Good selection and Food, was an impulse reservation, but so glad we made the effort.

"Excellent"
6/6
Eve L.4 years ago · 1 review

The food was out of this world, very much fine dining with a reasonable price tag. Tried to book for Wednesday but it’s full.

"Good"
4/6
Roz W.4 years ago · 1 review

So hot today but we were outside under a parasol so it was fine. Food was very good we all enjoyed.

"Excellent"
6/6
Edward C.4 years ago · 1 review

A great pub for Sunday lunch with the family. Will visit again.

"Very good"
5/6
Charles R.4 years ago · 1 review

I was taken promptly to my seat Drinks order taken within a few minutes Menu bought a few minutes later Food order taken when drink was served Food was brought quickly and I was offered water Food was whitebait followed by prawn and crayfish salad Fresh and delicious- most enjoyable Service friendly and efficient S

"Very good"
5/6
Sonia P.4 years ago · 1 review

We sat outside as the weather was nice, it was an almost normal experience.......if that can be said now!!!!

"Very good"
5/6
Kalia D.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Setting lovely, staff terrific, food great! All told, a great experience, thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen W.4 years ago · 1 review

The place was lovely and the staff and food were amazing. They had organised the distancing well and made you reassured. It will definitely be on our must go again list.

"Very good"
5/6
Ray B.4 years ago · 1 review

First meal out in a long time. Very enjoyable thanks.

"Good"
4/6
Alison R.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Chips overdone some were black ! Slow service get drinks then suppose go to bar yourself ! Everything got cream sauce on mains

"Very good"
5/6
Debbie T.4 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food - very comfortable venue - will definitely recommend it

"Very good"
5/6
Dean W.4 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic food very good portions definitely go back again Brilliant

"Excellent"
6/6
Louise D.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Fabulous dinner plus delightful young lady Zoe took orders and checked all was ok throughout our visit Will return soon

"Awful"
1/6
Vivienne M.4 years ago · 1 review

Terrible service, forgoten when ordering drink,forgotten when requesting desert menu,overall poor service but food good

"Good"
4/6
Robin P.4 years ago · 1 review

food was excellent service was a little slow Nice decor

"Very good"
5/6
Bethany W.4 years ago · 8 reviews

Went for a Sunday roast, not as good as last year (unsure if it’s been taken over in the past year or just different kitchen staff) still good though and good value for money. Will Be returning.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kate R.4 years ago · 1 review

Friendly, efficient staff that made our experience fabulous. The food was wonderful and the Yorkshire puddings were the best I’ve ever tasted. Lovely interior and great ambiance.

"Not good "
2/6
judy e.4 years ago · 1 review

we go to the Vernon every year for our family Christmas get together Oh dear we wont be going again

"Excellent"
6/6
Clive P.4 years ago · 1 review

A good meal. It was busy, but the staff were very welcoming and kept smiling throughout.