Reviews Ye Horns Inn

GoosnarghBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
57 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Hinds Head

Charnock Richard
5.5/6381
The Hinds Head

The Butcher & Tonic

City Centre
5.0/6108
The Butcher & Tonic

57 Ye Horns Inn Reviews

Read reviews about Ye Horns Inn here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Ye Horns Inn. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Ye Horns Inn.

Excellent
5.3/6
57 Reviews
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
JON M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Lovely homemade food and service in a well maintained traditional Inn. They even brew their own beer. The Sunday Lunch menu great value, had good choice and the Beef & Veg soup was very tasty indeed. Will definitely return and highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pauline B.a year ago · 1 review

Good service food and plates nice and hot excellent meal we really enjoyed ourselves would recommend this venue and look forward to our next visit

"Excellent"
6/6
Tony L.a year ago · 1 review

Good food ,lovely people warm welcoming atmosphere what more can you ask. Black pudding fritters were a great starter, I had pheasant my wife the Hake both delicious finished off with sticky toffee pudding WOW

"Excellent"
6/6
John K.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent service great food very good value for money. The beer is brewed on the premises and as a senior brewer with 40 years experience I know quality when I taste it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Elisabeth H.2 years ago · 4 reviews

A beautiful 189th century country inn - loads of atmosphere and splendid but not pretentious cooking, I had locally shot pheasant, which was great, and I speak as one who was "sick of pheasant" during WWII - There were no game laws, Dad was a good shot....! My friend had the mince and potato pie, first class pastry (no soggy bottoms here) followed by what was essentially a lighter Christmas pudding tart All in all a great birthday treat. Finally, great beer, I solved my Christmas pressy probs for the blokes in my family in one neat order.I believe it comes from a local micro brewery. More power to its alcoholic elbow!

"Excellent"
6/6
Gilbert W.2 years ago · 1 review

The Horns Inn has a special place in my life. I have eaten here many, many times including all of my landmark birthdays and my wedding reception since 1967. Can't beat the signature beef & vegetable soup and the steak & kidney pie - and now they have a micro-brewery too, brewing fabulous beer. I now live in Carlisle, but try to stop here whenever I'm passing Preston on the M6.

"Great"
5/6
Michael T.2 years ago · 1 review

On a cold winter night a very warm welcome from the open fire and the staff. Not visited for a number of years but the Horns matched our expectations based on previous knowledge. Would be a comfortable spot for a short stay and a tour or walking of the area. Only missed on a 6 due to limited evening menu but food nicely presented and well cooked. The on site micro brewery produces excellent beer, especially the "Red", and house red merlot is very quaffable!

"Bad"
2/6
Janet B.a year ago · 1 review

The menu choice was limited, as it was boxing day to a 3 course meal at £26. On arrival, the lady behind the bar was doing something and didn't even acknowledge our arrival. When we were handed the menu, I asked if it was possible to have something else and she said 'no'. The food was poor value for £26. As we had 2 elderly people with us,we felt that 3 courses was too much so only ordered 3 of the meals. I had the starter and my Mother's pudding as she only wanted a main. There was very little food served between 3 people. The fish my parents had they said was tasteless and didn't even look nicely presented. The tipsy trifle I had was not at all 'tipsy' I tasted no alcohol flavour even. The atmosphere of the place was very lacking. We sat in a room with 3 tables in it where everyone could hear what others were saying. This put us off even talking and whispered everything to each other. It was like gate crashing someones Sunday dinner. Coffee and mince pies was part of the set meal, and when it came the pies were as big as 50p pieces. Very disappointing. We will not be going again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny T.a year ago · 2 reviews

Good, tasty food with generous portions: I had never had such a large portion of pheasant in my life. The local potted shrimps and home made sticky toffee pudding were exceptionally good. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and accommodating. Old fashioned country pub but well worth finding. They even made us coffee to go as we had a long journey home and needed to get off.

"Great"
5/6
Andrew S.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Always out and about to find good places to eat and this location more than lived up to expectations. Made to feel welcome and good food. I had the rump steak and my partner had the battered scampi both of which were beautifully cooked. The location is a bit out of the way and an old establishment but nicely decorated.