Reviews Armenian Taverna & Restaurant

City CentreInternational££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
120 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Lime Bar & Restaurant

City Centre
5.0/6751
Lime Bar & Restaurant

Peachy Keens

Northern Quarter
4.7/6127
Peachy Keens

120 Armenian Taverna & Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about Armenian Taverna & Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Armenian Taverna & Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Armenian Taverna & Restaurant.

Wonderful
5.5/6
120 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Natalja M.a year ago · 1 review

Good food, good atmosphere. Latvian waiter slightly rude and too self confident when talking to customers, but in general this does not worsen impression about the restaurant

"Excellent"
6/6
Anna K.a year ago · 1 review

Great restaurant, food and service. Proper freshly home- made meals in combination with delucious wines! You will keep talking about this place weeks after the visit

"Excellent"
6/6
Catherine A.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely evening in a very relaxed atmosphere, the staff were very helpful and friendly, without being too 'present'. The food was beautifully cooked, full of flavour and reasonably priced.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kathryn T.a year ago · 2 reviews

Fabulous food, especially vegetarian sharing platter. Staff could not be more helpful or friendly, When one of us became ill they did all they could to support.

"Excellent"
6/6
solomon s.2 years ago · 1 review

We visited Armenian restaurant to try something new in Manchester and it was out first outing since we had our daughter. Me, my wife and our baby daughter visited the restaurant in the evening. The ambience was excellent but as it is in the lower ground it was a bit of a hassle to take the pram and pushchair but it was totally worth the effort. Right from the start all went well, we were greeted and made comfortable by the waiters. I would specially want to thank Victoria for her excellent hospitality. She gave us an overview of the menu and she suggested us some of the most traditional Armenian food which was excellent. We had the meat platter to share for 2 which had a good variety, tasty and sufficient for 2. The Amaretto for an aperitif was a good start. For the main course I had the Lamb Goulash and my wife had the Chef's Mixed Khorovac. Both were excellent. We would definitely visit this restaurant again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Remigiusz M.2 years ago · 1 review

We tried the cold vegetarian mezzeh and it was very good. The restaurant have large selecton of char grilled meats, fish and vegetables, you can see the chef through a glass window all on steamy smoke doing his work. The char grilled marineted lamb chops I had were very well seasoned with herbs or marinated. It was nicely cooked with nice chunks of meat and still juicy. Wine was tasty. A kind, attentive , helpfull staff. We asked for a swap of potatoes for cus cus for grilled salmon in marinated cabage (very nice) and it arrived flavoured with some herbs that gave it a citrus like taste to go very well with fish. We had a table for two, which was medium-small. The staff managed well to keep it tidy all the time. Background music is probably modern music of respective area where the cuisine comes from.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen D.2 years ago · 1 review

I took a group of family members to celebrate the visit of a second cousin from New Zealand. The atmosphere was welcoming and the decor adds to that. During dinner, our second cousin was delighted to hear from his father, an ex-pat from Manchester originally, that he remembered celebrating his 18th in the same Taverna. The food was lovely, as ever though a little too hot/chilli to be completely authentic Armenian food on this occasion - perhaps a new chef? The meal was rounded off with 20-year old Armenian cognac - very special indeed and warmed delightfully before our eyes by the host. A wonderful evening and highly recommended to anyone who likes Greek and Middle Eastern food but is searching for a slightly different angle.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sharon G.2 years ago · 1 review

We have loved this restaurant since the 1980's so we were a little apprehensive because tonight was our first visit since its refurbishment. It has retained its atmosphere and the decor is lovely. The food, as always, was delicious. We shared a vegetarian platter for our starter - a generous selection of tasty dips, cheese, felafal and a savoury pastry. Our main course was a selection of mixed grilled chicken and meat - beautifully cooked and presented with fresh herbs and a delicious sauce. Finally, good coffee complimented the very special Armenian Ararat brandy - a real treat. Lovely service too! Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
LAURA W.2 years ago · 1 review

The restaurant was tucked away and was really quiet but staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The house wine was very good value at £8.50 for a half carafe. The best thing about the place is definitely the food - the portions are huge and it is all very tasty. I would recommend the mixed grill or the minced lamb with pitta and fried egg, and definitely the meat mezze for two to start (we actually shared between three and it was plenty!). Overall this is a hidden gem, I would definitely go back.

"Great"
5/6
Jorge S.a year ago · 1 review

The Armenian Taverna was a great experience. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I would totally recommend an evening at this restaurant for something a little bit different. My only criticism is the noise level. With everyone talking, it did feel like I had to shout a bit. And then as there is someone playing the piano, people then talk louder to hear themselves over the music. Probably not something that can be easily solved, but just something to bear in mind. Also, would be a more authentic experience if the piano player would play something Armenian! :-)