Reviews Bistro Italiano

Town CentreItalian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European££££
Wonderful
5.6/6
158 Reviews
Bistro Italiano Durham image 1
Bistro Italiano Durham image 2
Bistro Italiano Durham image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

158 Bistro Italiano Reviews

Read reviews about Bistro Italiano here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Bistro Italiano. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Bistro Italiano.

Wonderful
5.6/6
158 Reviews
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Karl John R.10 days ago · 1 review

Always love eating here, their Caprina Pizza is on of the best I have eaten. Lovely service, always friendly and high recommend a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
SUE M.18 days ago · 1 review

Great food very authentic atmosphere a great night for my husbands birthday, even brought a candle out on his dessert and sung happy birthday to him! Great night thank you

"Excellent"
6/6
Tanza T.21 days ago · 1 review

Fabulous food once again, vey friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Highly recommended

"Excellent"
6/6
Laura B.21 days ago · 3 reviews

Always ten out of ten here amazing food and friendly staff.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julie G.a year ago · 4 reviews

Our meal at Bistro Italiano was superb. It was several weeks ago on a cold February Friday evening but when we entered the restaurant the owner warmly welcomed us and introduced himself. He was very helpful in describing the restaurant specials and recommendations from the menu. The menu was extensive and offered pizza, pasta, fish & meats and the choice catered for all prices. My husband and I both had the home made ravioli followed by steak which was cooked perfectly and finished with a delicious Tiramisu. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and look forward to a return visit to Bistro Italiano next time we are in Durham City.

"Excellent"
6/6
Janet W.2 years ago · 5 reviews

We had booked a table for 8pm but were running late - the weather in Durham was very wet and windy and our plans had had to be amended so we phoned ahead to say we woud be more likely to arrive at 8 30pm. The restaurant said this was fine but in the end we did arrive at 8pm ! The restaurant is small and was very full - it was Graduation week in Durham and the city was full of graduands and their parents . My som and I were welcomed like long lost relatives and immediately shown to a table. AS usual there were fresh flowers and white tablecloth and napkins . We shared a plate of homemade ravioli from the Specials board and then I had the monkfish again from the Specials . My son chose steak Diane which should have been sirloin but they had run out so gave him a ribsteak at no extra charge - it was huge and cooked to his request . We have eaten there many times and it is always excellent . The welcome never fails .

"Great"
5/6
Susan M.2 years ago · 1 review

Attentive and knowledgeable waiters. Excellent food. Wide ranging menu includes pizza and pasta dishes as well as interesting meat and fish main courses. My partner had steak and I had lemon sole with prawns and mussels. Vegetables were included. We had a starter and main course each and sadly were too full to contemplate ordering a dessert. This was our first visit and I look forward to returning to the Bistro Italiano.

"Excellent"
6/6
Janet W.3 months ago · 5 reviews

We were regulars at this restaurant during the three years that our son was lecturing at Durham University - it was our favourite eating establishment in the city. We were in Durham last week for work , not having been there for a year or so and thought we would visit our old haunt . We were warmly welcomed and chose from the specials board - this bistro specialises in fish and my husband chose the tuna carpaccio followed by sea bream fillets and I had my favourite Melanzana and then tuna fillet . Our food was cooked to perfection and delicious. The service was excellent as it always has been . Highly recommended !

"Good"
4/6
Terry W.2 months ago · 1 review

Not able to give a better review as the larger rear dining area was unknown to us until later on. Otherwise we really enjoyed our evening. The staff were very attentive and not obtrusive in any way. Service was at the speed we like, not too fast and no long waits although we did wonder why it took so long to prepare our meals but must have been the diners in the back room which we were unaware of. Music was far too loud and not Italian enough. Entrance and stairs to toilets very scruffy which might put some people off as kitchens are often rated alongside the condition of the toilets. Food was good and hot, obviously freshly prepared and the 3 course "deal" was excellent value. House wine was good and the selection of liqueurs was to our liking. Would definitely go again as we have a dislike of chain set ups which seem to dominate all towns these days. Support the independents we say!!

"Great"
5/6
Julie G.3 months ago · 4 reviews

This was our second visit to Bistro Italiano and as previously the welcome was warm and the food delicious. This was a lunchtime reservation and we shared a pizza between three of us as a starter and then had pasta which was well presented and tasty. Next time we are on Durham we will eat in this restaurant again.