Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Ponteland
Ponteland
The Blackbird Inn
The Blackbird Inn Reviews

The Blackbird Inn

British, European

Dishes priced around£14

Photo of restaurant The Blackbird Inn in Ponteland, Ponteland

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Blackbird Inn (818)

Read what people think about The Blackbird Inn. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Blackbird Inn before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Blackbird Inn and book a table with confidence!

5.3/6

818 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
6411
5286
470
332
215
14
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
New"Excellent"
6/6
Kate G.10 days ago · 2 reviews

Absolutely beautiful food. 3 time we’ve been and never disappointed.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Charlotte B.10 days ago · 1 review

Food was great and the staff were all very friendly. We sat upstairs, and the atmosphere was lovely.

New"Very good"
5/6
Norman W.12 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and service. Pity about the sauce bottles on tables.

New"Good"
4/6
Graeme A.12 days ago · 1 review

Food was excellent. Only downside was that my wife sat next to 2 radiators which were boiling hot which made her too hot. Also the chairs were uncomfortable.

New"Very good"
5/6
Quandoo Diner13 days ago · 1 review

The food was good as usual service good .every thing up to usual standard.

New"Very good"
5/6
David J.13 days ago · 2 reviews

Attentive staff, nice warm atmosphere and very tasty food and wine. Thank you.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Ray A.14 days ago · 1 review

Good food,friendly team and a great atmosphere. Will be back.

"Very good"
5/6
stephen g.15 days ago · 1 review

Lovely Food and pleasant staff,so it was a very enjoyable visit

"Average"
3/6
Kevin R.16 days ago · 2 reviews

Been here a few times and really enjoyed it, not so much this time. Staff are really good and very attentive but the food was disappointing compared to previous visits. It's at the expensive end of Sunday lunches at nearly £20 for beef sirloin roast, which would be fine if it had quality to match. It didn't and the meat was a bit tough and chewy,l, made me wish we'd opted for the cheaper cut. The main issue was the amount of vegetables you get for a table of 5. One small dish for 5 people is woefully inadequate, even with the turnip being separate in a tiny ramekin. Would still come back on other days but there are much better quality and priced Sunday lunches out there

"Very good"
5/6
Michael Y.16 days ago · 1 review

Excellent environment, great food, great service but a short wait for dessert. The team kept us informed the whole time though, so no worries The Blackbird is a gem with very well trained colleagues

"Good"
4/6
Debbie J.17 days ago · 1 review

Bit disappointed that we had been seated for a while before we were asked if we required any drinks. Our Sunday lunch was excellent.

"Good"
4/6
Nigel S.18 days ago · 1 review

First visit - loved the atmosphere, the service and the food was amazing. The chairs on our table were uncomfortable and mine was wobbly, also felt squashed into a corner, would prefer to be seated in the restaurant next time. Will definitely return, thank you :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Charlotte G.18 days ago · 1 review

Fab service, epic food. Can't wait to try Sunday dinner!

"Not good "
2/6
Simon W.18 days ago · 1 review

From the time of ordering our food, we waited 40 minutes for it to arrive. Meanwhile, a party arrived just before our food came and their food came 5 minutes later! Our toddler was falling asleep by the time his food came so he barely ate anything. We won’t return

"Excellent"
6/6
Kim I.23 days ago · 1 review

Fabulous Sunday lunch. Attentive staff and a good atmosphere. Can definitely recommend.

"Very good"
5/6
Hilary R.24 days ago · 1 review

Lovely atmosphere, great service & very pleasant Sunday lunch - super tender sirloin. Yum.

"Very good"
5/6
John E.a month ago · 1 review

Excellent food and good service. What more could we want!.

"Very good"
5/6
Barry H.a month ago · 17 reviews

Very enjoyable experience. Service very good, attentive but not intrusive. Food excellent.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jack W.a month ago · 1 review

We came for Sunday lunch and we were really impressed. Will definitely be making regular visits.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sandra D.a month ago · 1 review

everything was wonderful, the staff, the food, the resturant was all great.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah H.a month ago · 1 review

Delicious food and wonderful staff. We always have a fab evening.

"Very good"
5/6
Kavicha G.a month ago · 1 review

Food was amazing but the wait between courses was quite a bit

"Excellent"
6/6
Vincent John M.a month ago · 1 review

Excellent food, staff and service. Will return again soon for a meal.

"Excellent"
6/6
Quandoo Dinera month ago · 1 review

First class all round, service excellent, short wait, food nice and hot and very tasty. Best Sunday lunch in the area, always recommend.

"Good"
4/6
Kevin H.a month ago · 1 review

Our forth visit now after spending sometime trying to find somewhere for Sunday lunch where the meat is edible. Today however having gone for the trio of meats the beef was sadly disappointing, tough and chewy to say the least but I accept this was my fault entirely having not stayed with my usual choice of beef sirloin. My partner opted for the cheesecake and I the lemon mousse, both were delicious but particularly with the cheesecake one wonders just how small is it acceptable to go on the portion size for the price charged!!. All in all our experience today was not as enjoyable as previous visits.

"Very good"
5/6
Mike P.a month ago · 1 review

Excellent & extensive Sunday lunch menu. Top quality food. The beef was the best I’ve tasted,

"Very good"
5/6
Andy S.a month ago · 1 review

Great atmosphere , excellent staff and superb food 👍 definitely go again soon

"Excellent"
6/6
neil b.a month ago · 1 review

great food, friendly service and very pleasant atmosphere. would recommend.

"Very good"
5/6
Carol W.2 months ago · 1 review

Nice staff. Good service. Good food. Nice pub. Would recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Caroline E.2 months ago · 1 review

Their Asian beef salad is the best! Lively friendly service too.

"Very good"
5/6
Lisa R.2 months ago · 1 review

Really good food, lovely atmosphere. Staff very friendly & helpful

"Very good"
5/6
Eileen G.2 months ago · 2 reviews

Have been here before and made a Bee line again to celebrate my birthday. We sat in the vaulted dining area which is cosy and intimate and has amazing history. The food here is fantastic. Beautifully presented, good sized portions and full of flavour. There is plenty of choice on the menu but we were too full for pudding. The venue was busy and there’s a great atmosphere. Definitely recommend this place. We look forward to our next visit.

"Average"
3/6
Diane A.2 months ago · 1 review

It was very busy. Staff forgot to come back to order sweet and coffee. Also they forgot the coffee we ordered but brought it once prompted and apologised. Disabled access could be better.

"Excellent"
6/6
David G.2 months ago · 1 review

Lovely food then the staff were amazing as my uncle passed out. Thanks to all. Think it was a bad reaction to his shingles jab. I honestly thought he wasn’t coming around. Thanks for looking after him, putting him In recovery position and calling ambulance. . Thanks staff ❤️

"Excellent"
6/6
Pam m.2 months ago · 2 reviews

Initially we were being seated in the Tunnel Room the tables were too close together we asked if we could go to another table and they moved us to Minstrel Room. It was perfect

"Average"
3/6
Andrew H.2 months ago · 1 review

Rather quick to clear the table. So much so a drink was whilst my dining companion was still drinking. We sat in an almost empty room for 40 mins before our food arrived. Peas far too salty. Chips not only undercooked but not triple cooked (as per menu description). Vegan options 1 - the ice cream! The brownie dessert dry and no alcohol free wine on the wine list. On a positive note the crackers were supporting the Trussel Trust.

"Very good"
5/6
Val C.2 months ago · 1 review

Lovely food and good friendly, and very efficient service. Nice surroundings

"Very good"
5/6
Elizabeth K.2 months ago · 1 review

Lovely food and really nice surroundings, only spoiled by our table for two being hammed right next to the LOUDEST and most ostentatious 3 couples I have ever come across. "Oh shall we have fizz?" "Oh let's, it would be rude not not to" followed by raucous cackle

"Very good"
5/6
Jackie G.2 months ago · 5 reviews

Wonderful food and attentive service. We had a little while to wait for our food, but it is Christmas and it wasn't a problem! We are regulars and will be back!!

"Very good"
5/6
Fiona A.2 months ago · 1 review

Efficient service, friendly helpful staff and lovely food , good portion size