Reviews The Blackbird Inn

PontelandBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
343 Reviews
The Blackbird Inn Ponteland image 1
The Blackbird Inn Ponteland image 2
The Blackbird Inn Ponteland image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

343 The Blackbird Inn Reviews

Read reviews about The Blackbird Inn here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Blackbird Inn. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Blackbird Inn.

Excellent
5.3/6
343 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very Good
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Dianne T.4 days ago · 1 review

Good leisurely lunch. Lovely food well presented and served. Thank you.

New"Excellent"
6/6
David K.7 days ago · 1 review

We visited The Blackbird to celebrate my Birthday. Meal started with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco just for subscribing to their Website. The food was well prepared and presented and the staff very helpful and courteous. All in all this was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and well worth it. A real jewel in Ponteland and well worth a visit.

New"Excellent"
6/6
steve s.11 days ago · 1 review

Venue excellent service excellent and the food was absolutely outstanding

"Excellent"
6/6
Garry W.21 days ago · 1 review

First time there and shall not be the last great food and the price was just about right. I was not offered mint with my lamb, so I think the staff may need a little more training. A larger​ range for Vegies would be a suggestion.

"Great"
5/6
Colin M.2 years ago · 1 review

A very disappointing start to the evening when we were brusquely ushered downstairs despite being booked upstairs! Downstairs is too crowded and the tables so close together I could not physically get both legs under the table. A much more caring waitress spotted our plight and offered us a table upstairs. This is a proper dining room and a delightful space which was not being used, however there was a lovely log fire burning and we were given a table in front of it. Excellent. The waitresses and service were fantastic as was the food. What a wasted room this is, they cram people in downstairs probaby unlikely to return (for that reason) when they could have a superb dining experience upstairs. I really can't understand the management's reasoning! Full marks to the waitress who saved our evening, turning it from a potential disaster to a thoroughly enjoyable occasion. Not so many marks though to the gentleman who showed us to our table when we arrived.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rob C.2 months ago · 1 review

Our first time visiting The Blackbird Inn and we were hugely impressed by the look, feel and atmosphere of both the bar area and restaurant. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Our table was ready ahead of time and drinks were served almost immediately. The food was incredible and worth every penny. All in all, an excellent experience and we will be sure to visit again. Thank you.

"Great"
5/6
Susan R.2 years ago · 1 review

It was the first time we have visited the Blackbird since its refurbishment. I remember it from previous years as an olde world type pub with small linking rooms. The refurbishment has opened up the inside. While loosing some of its old world charm it is more fit for purpose now as a gastro pub. We had a Sunday lunch menu, which was all that was offered on a Sunday. It was a very limited choice for mains but all that was ordered was good. A good choice of vegetables was provided making the main choice quite substantial. There was a better choice for starters and desserts. All six of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal, my favourite being the homemade panettone pudding which was yummy. The waiting staff work very hard and were friendly making the whole experience an enjoyable trip out. Will definitely be back, very impressed. Look forward to trying the everyday menus. Thanks.

"Great"
5/6
Carol A.a year ago · 2 reviews

On a Friday night, the bar area was extremely busy, providing a lively atmosphere. The pump room was a great room to eat in with lots of character. Staff were very good; but it's the food that would bring us back again. A good selection including some standard pub fare featured alongside more exciting options, both the lamb and duck dishes were simply fantastic and exceeded our expectations. Everything was very well presented and to top it all off, the sticky toffee pudding (of which I've sampled a few) was possibly the best I can recall ever having, it certainly had the thickest sauce! All in all an excellent meal in a wonderful place, I thoroughly recommend giving the Blackbird a try!

"Excellent"
6/6
Barbara G.7 months ago · 1 review

It was lovely: the staff were very friendly and helpful, we parked alright in the disabled bay and our reg. was taken and explanation given and we had just the table area I had requested because of my brother-in-law's poor sight. The Sunday dinner was beautiful, large portions, perfect beef with all the trimmings and separate vegetables to help ourselves to, and a lovely choice of indulgent desserts; we had good advice with the wine choice and even had some left which we were able to take home. In all a very pleasurable experience which we are sure to repeat.

"Great"
5/6
Judith H.3 months ago · 1 review

Good Sunday lunch The staff were delightful and couldn’t be more helpful Unfortunately the booking for the bar was confirmed but I missed seeing that the reminder of the booking had changed to the restaurant We had a dog so had to be in the bar The only table at 1pm had to be vacated by 2.30 That meant we had to forgo a starter as not time for three courses This was a Christmas celebration with my mother who is in a local old people’s care home so rather special We felt rushed especially when the people for 2.30 arrived early and stood over us until we left So really not the perfect occasion we had planned