Reviews Coconut Lagoon

CliftonIndian, Asian££££
Excellent
5.3/6
78 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Bombay Spice - York

City Centre
5.0/6197
Bombay Spice - York

Indian Lounge - York

City Centre
5.2/648
Indian Lounge - York

78 Coconut Lagoon Reviews

Read reviews about Coconut Lagoon here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Coconut Lagoon. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Coconut Lagoon.

Excellent
5.3/6
78 Reviews
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very Good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Susan J.4 months ago · 3 reviews

Great meal. Authentic Southern Indian cuisine cooked and presented very well. Homely resteraunt with attentive staff who will explain the dishes to you if you are unsure. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Debbie H.5 months ago · 4 reviews

Wonderful! From the exquisite flavours of the beautifully cooked and presented food to the impeccable service. An Indian restaurant like no other, specialising in food from South India rather than the usual North Indian style. Just read the amazing menu!

"Excellent"
6/6
Susan J.7 months ago · 3 reviews

Fabulous authentic Southern Indian food. Attentive staff. Cosy location. If you are unsure of the menu the staff will explain it to you. This was not our first visit. The food is always well cooked and presented.

"Excellent"
6/6
Vicky C.10 months ago · 1 review

The food was excellent and definitely the best Indian meal I’ve had outside India. Saji the maitre d’hote was very attentive welcoming and we will certainly return and recommend coconut lagoon to friends.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lotta S.2 years ago · 2 reviews

We had a great birthday dinner at the Coconut Lagoon and really enjoyed the lovely food and the good service! Apparently something had gone wrong with the reservation, as they had only received a reservation for 6 people, and not for 12 - but the staff was very accommodating, solved the issue quickly and put a few tables together so that we could all sit at the same table!

"Great"
5/6
Paul S.2 years ago · 1 review

The food itself was amongst the best curries I've ever tasted. The variety of tastes, textures and flavours was superb and it was all perfectly cooked. My wife said the fish dish one of the best meals (not just curried) of her life so far. The service was great at the start but flaky at the end. However, the waiter recommended a wine without us asking, and it was in my view poor and disappointing, if you're going to recommend a wine it should at least be above average, this one fell well short of that. I'd have no hesitation in returning for the food itself, it was remarkable, but I'd not bother with the wine list.

"Great"
5/6
Richard T.2 years ago · 1 review

After reading rave reviews online we decided to give Coconut Lagoon a try and were not disappointed. I really enjoy south Indian cuisine and the Dosa's here were fantastic the only minor critcism was the slightly slow (but pleasant) service and incorrect bill (remedied after putting it out.

"Great"
5/6
Melvyn S.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our third visit to Coconut Lagoon and won't be our last. The food is wonderful, very different to the standard "Indian" restaurant. The service could improve as we weren't offered desert, extra drinks or tea/coffee after the meal.

"Great"
5/6
Lucy C.2 years ago · 1 review

Delicious, unusual flavours and tastes - different from most other curry houses. Particularly enjoyable was the Chicken Kadai Curry, and the refreshing Cardamon Beer - really tasty. Friendly service on a busy Saturday night. Thank you Coconut Lagoon team.

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda H.2 years ago · 1 review

Absolutely fantastic meal. The chef was so helpful and offered to make all the dishes separately due to my partner not being able to have onions. We had the thali which is about 8 small Indian dishes with rice, chapati and poppadom. You also got ice cream for desert included in the price. Will definitely be returning.