Reviews Côte Welwyn Garden City

Town CentreFrench, European££££
Excellent
5.2/6
1,360 Reviews
Côte Welwyn Garden City Welwyn Garden City image 1
Côte Welwyn Garden City Welwyn Garden City image 2
Côte Welwyn Garden City Welwyn Garden City image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

1,360 Côte Welwyn Garden City Reviews

Read reviews about Côte Welwyn Garden City here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Côte Welwyn Garden City. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Côte Welwyn Garden City.

Excellent
5.2/6
1,360 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Service:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Simone S.2 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and excellent service. A really enjoyable three course meal from the early evening set menu that was value for money and tasted delicious.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Beverley F.3 days ago · 1 review

As ever from cote an excellent meal and really good service. Really enjoy the monthly specials and the birthday treat of drink and pudding a lovely thought.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Tracey C.3 days ago · 1 review

Delicious as usual. Our favourite place to enjoy a tasty breakfast in a friendly relaxing atmosphere. There is a large selection on the menu to choose from & a variety of cooked breakfast deal available. I opted for the vegetarian meal & the flavours & ingredients put together were delicious. My husband had a tradition cooked breakfast, which he also thoroughly enjoyed. You can also just enjoy a hot drink & pastry if you don’t want a big meal.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Jane W.6 days ago · 1 review

Excellent service and food. Maitre D a personable young man who maintained a calm pleasant atmosphere and should be commended. Went above and beyond. Good evening!

"Great"
5/6
Jean C.2 months ago · 1 review

Having only recently discovered that there was a French restaurant chain in the area, I was eager to try it. My brother and I enjoyed a meal at the Welwyn Garden restaurant, on a Tuesday night, so it wasn't mega busy. I chose the Warm Roquefort Salad...have never tried this dish before...it was tasty, but the Roquefort dressing was tepid rather than warm...maybe it's supposed to be like that, I don't know. My main course of Moules Frites was delicious, and plenty hot enough. My brother chose the Chicken Liver Pate, and a main course of Roast Duck. He enjoyed both. We both opted for Creme Brule as dessert...delicious, and freshly torched ! The staff were friendly and efficient, there was a nice atmosphere...the only thing I did feel was that the tables for two are a bit small. There wasn't an inch to spare, by the time our dinner plates, my bowl for moules shells and finger bowl were added, in additon to drinks glasses. I also do not like the policy of automatically adding on the 12.5% tip to the bill. I always tip for good service anyway...I would like to think that the majority of people do. I think this addition is cheeky, and unnecessary. Overall I was impressed with the meal and the restaurant, and would go again, but it would probably have to be for a special occasion, as it is a little expensive for my pocket.

"Great"
5/6
Pamela B.2 years ago · 1 review

Just a few small points: on showing us to our table, the member of staff stopped to have a conversation with a customer who was about to leave. Only a small conversation but it did mean us standing there not knowing where to go until she'd finished her conversation. We had planned to have the breakfast which is served until 1 pm at weekends and received every menu except the breakfast one so when the waitress came to take our order, she had to fetch one. A table for two is really too small for breakfast as there is nowhere to put everything without juggling a few things. We did actually use the empty table next to us to put things we weren't using. Also coffee normally comes in a cafetière in Côte which is brilliant as it stays warm throughout breakfast but this time it arrived ready poured into a cup even though I had asked for a cafetière. By the time the food arrived, the coffee had cooled down a bit. On the plus side, the food was tasty and nicely presented, good toast, nice choice of jams and nice atmosphere.

"Good"
4/6
Miles F.8 months ago · 1 review

The overall experience was ok but we had 2 problems. We had a party of 5 and shared a few starters while we waited for our food, the main courses didn't arrive at the same time ( a minor problem ) two people had ordered ribeye steaks ( I was one of them ) these were the last thing to arrive from the kitchen, I can honestly say that this was definitely one of ( if not ) the toughest steaks I had ever eaten. this was the first time that the other person had eaten at Cote but he has said that he will not eat there again because of this ! I didn't complain and encouraged him not to because we didn't want to go through the wait for another one ( which would probably also be tough as the two we had ordered were ). The other problem was that a tomato salad had been ordered with the other steak which didn't arrive while we were eating I asked about it but it still didn't arrive.. I cancelled it when we placed our dessert order. I am sad to report this because I have had meals at this and other Cote restaurants and generally they have been good. This is reflected in this point score, if I had not been before it would have got a 2 !

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda T.a year ago · 2 reviews

I don't think I have ever been to a restaurant that is so well run as the Côte Brasserie, the service is always excellent and the food amazing. Today is Mothering Sunday and they were expecting over 700 diners during the day and you could see at 1100 hrs this morning that all staff had been well briefed and therefore despite being very busy the experience was as always first class. Well done Côte Welwyn Garden City.

"Good"
4/6
Roger W.2 years ago · 1 review

The staff were pleasant and welcoming and the general level of service throughout the meal was very good. The food was of a good standard but with some variation from course to course. The starter of melon and ham was well executed. The main course of rib-eye with pepper sauce was excellent and cooked medium-to-rare as ordered. The French apple tart was totally spoiled by the puff pastry - which was like chewing gum and and lacked any puff or crispness. I returned this and it was replaced with strawberry and vanilla ice-cream .....which were both excellent. The staff commented that reordering the apple tart would probably have a similar result as the item was not "made on the premises" but, as an experienced cook, I know that frozen pastry desserts can be excellent provided the quality is good and prepared in an oven (not microwave) at the correct temperature. This was a bit strange. At nearly £45 per head including a bottle of wine I thought it borderline expensive for a "chain" meal and this was mainly due to my steak being disproportionally priced (£20) and the mark up on alcohol. We have eaten here many times and will probably do so again but I shall pay more attention to the pricing of courses.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michael P.17 days ago · 1 review

We chose Cote Welwyn Garden City to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary last night. Our occasion was treated as special by your staff right from the moment we arrived. Your chefs are to be congratulated on the high quality of the food we enjoyed last night. I would also like to mention that earlier in the day with a group of friends for the first time chose Cote WGC for our regular every 6 week breakfast get together. My full English breakfast could not have been cooked better, we were looked after so very well and we have already booked again for our next breakfast get together. My wife and I have also decided that Cote tops our list of WGC restaurants so we have no hesitation in recommending it to others for its high quality for both food and hospitality.