Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
London
Clerkenwell
Fish Central
Fish Central Reviews

Fish Central

Fish, Seafood, British

Dishes priced around£11

Photo of restaurant Fish Central in Clerkenwell, London

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Fish Central (114)

Read what people think about Fish Central. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Fish Central before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Fish Central and book a table with confidence!

5.6/6

114 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
679
529
44
32
2
1
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Excellent"
6/6
Gary Y.5 years ago · 1 review

Fish Soup is absolutely sweet and refreshing. Reasonably Priced and excellent quality restaurants in London

"Very good"
5/6
Alec T.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Friendly as ever. Good choice of fish and cooking very good

"Excellent"
6/6
Denise H.5 years ago · 2 reviews

We were meeting to catchup and we all had a most enjoyable experience. Very good value and service.

"Very good"
5/6
Caroline S.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Great fish, reasonable prices, great service, I loved everything about Fish Central. It’s only 5/6 because it’s a bit noisy. But I’ll definitely come again

"Good"
4/6
June C.5 years ago · 1 review

A real nice nite and Vickie was terrific and the fish and chips was beautiful bit expensive but nice will go again vxxx

"Excellent"
6/6
Akpo O.5 years ago · 1 review

The service and the food in this establishment were unsurpassed. At one point a gentleman, who I can only assume was the head chef, came out to greet all the tables to ask how everything was and whether we enjoyed our meal, with a warm and genuine concern. Class. It was also clear to see that there were many regulars who were familiar with the owners, giving it a family vibe. I would highly recommend this place, it’s no surprise it’s still open after 50 years. Class.

"Excellent"
6/6
Patricia S.5 years ago · 1 review

Excellent service very friendly. Nice ambierce and like the background music. Excellent menu with a good and varied choice. Would definitely go again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Bernice C.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Always good, oysters reliable, great lemon sole, nice service, kind welcome.

"Very good"
5/6
Joe L.5 years ago · 1 review

Very friendly staff. Very nice atmosphere. Excellent food. Generous portions. Will definitely go back.

"Very good"
5/6
Andrew H.5 years ago · 19 reviews

Havent been back for ages but its pretty much the same - good service, fresh food from the kitchen/takeaway next door, nice room with an upstairs for private groups, you get a little amuse bouche, plenty of specials - if you are going at a busy time then best to book. On Sat evening there had lots of big groups who were going to arrive - I was pre theatre so was ok.

"Average"
3/6
Quandoo Diner5 years ago · 0 reviews

Good fish and chips. Slightly too thick batter. Chips were soggy and not well fried

"Very good"
5/6
nicholas h.5 years ago · 1 review

Food was great, services very good. Its been a good few years since my last visit dueto changing jobs & illness, but the food this evening was as good as I remember.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nigel M.5 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic simple, fresh and tasty fish restaurant run by a lovely family.

"Very good"
5/6
Andrew S.5 years ago · 1 review

It was a very enjoyable meal at an excellent local restaurant

"Excellent"
6/6
Riccardo M.5 years ago · 1 review

Great fish and chips, friendly people, a bit far from the hotel...

"Very good"
5/6
Jude A.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Great food, lovely friendly service! We went for the classic cod, chips and mushy peas and it didn't disappoint! Great for a lunchtime meeting place.

"Excellent"
6/6
Quandoo Diner5 years ago · 0 reviews

First time I have been back here in 10 years, whilst the decor may have changed the quality of the food hasn't. The fish was fresh and the side dishes lived up to the high standards. I shall be back and hope it won't be another 10 years.

"Excellent"
6/6
Natalie D.5 years ago · 1 review

Had a great time , waiters were very friendly and attentive . The food was great we all had a lovely time . It was my mums birthday and they made a wonderful entrance with the cake and the whole restaurant sang happy birthday . Fantastic !

"Excellent"
6/6
Richard S.5 years ago · 1 review

Great fish, varied menu with a range from the familiar (cod, meats, pasta), the less common (rock, hake) through to the exotic (octopus); friendly and attentive service, excellent wine, unpretentious surroundings - all you could wish for!

"Excellent"
6/6
Ros S.5 years ago · 4 reviews

Prompt, attentive service, delicious food, excellent wine. Lovely atmosphere. An all-round enjoyable experience. Fish ultra-fresh and cooked to perfection. Delightful staff. Has the feel of a neighbourhood eatery.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dave A.5 years ago · 1 review

This is the best fish restaurant in London and the service is so good the staff are amazing they can not do enough for you just love the place can not wait to go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Shirley B.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Great restaurant, family run and very friendly service and you would have to go a very long way to find better quality of fish I can tell you!

"Excellent"
6/6
Ingrid S.5 years ago · 8 reviews

Great spot! Fantastic food, great selection and the staff was amazing. The low prices led me to believe that the portions would be dmall. I couldn't have been more wrong. Will definitely return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew M.5 years ago · 1 review

Excellent meal! Had a steak (chargrilled) with gilled tomatos and a ravioli to start with. Everyone enjoyed their mails and there was very little left on the plates that the end. service was great also.

"Good"
4/6
Paul D.5 years ago · 1 review

Three of us had a meal with wine. The house wine was Purtuguese - smooth and fruity and sold at a decent price. The cod and rock salmon were superb, but the chips and the vegetables were decidedly average.

"Excellent"
6/6
Vivien N.5 years ago · 1 review

Really genuine place full of locals and simply smashing fish well cooked ! Great menu choice and good wine No hesitation about returning - we will be going back

"Excellent"
6/6
Joy M.6 years ago · 1 review

Best fish and chips we’ve had in London. Service was old world lovely. We would go back in a heartbeat on our next trip to the city.

"Excellent"
6/6
Stephen C.6 years ago · 1 review

Absolutely great place. Excellent menu. Delicious food. Attentive service. Interesting wine list and all the benefits of being family run. Can't wait to go back!

"Excellent"
6/6
christine f.6 years ago · 1 review

Great fish. Delightful staff. Very reasonable prices. Will definitely go back. A real find. Full of local people. Can’t believe I live so close and didn’t know about it.

"Very good"
5/6
Tania Rose D.6 years ago · 2 reviews

Fish Central, we had an awesome experience and feel part of their family circle. The food was scrumptious and service and quality excellent. Keep up the great work! I'd recommend to any fish lovers, although there are some meat dishes. Fish is their speciality. Definitely a visit, if you in that neck of the woods!

"Very good"
5/6
Ronnie M.6 years ago · 1 review

Good menu friendly service nice food. The only drawback was our choice of wine wasn’t sold by the glass. O/w a really good experience, would recommend and visit again.

"Very good"
5/6
stephen g.6 years ago · 7 reviews

As usual, a great fish super. great quality, Open windows as there is no aircon, and rather noisy when full. Still go there regularly though

"Excellent"
6/6
Anand C.6 years ago · 7 reviews

Wonderful to return to Fish Central. Had wondered with anticipation what the specials would be and delighted to enjoy the lobster and prawn cocktail and the filleted monkfish with sweet potato and prawn bisque. As usual a delightful cocktail was made and the Duboeuf house white perfectly complemented the meal. Attentive service as ever.

"Excellent"
6/6
Danilo C.6 years ago · 5 reviews

The restaurant is quite nice and the fish really good. We got complimentary salmon fishcakes with starters. I had grilled squid as starter and a grilled plaice which was very tender and tasty. With a bottle of Pinot grigio it was £30 each.