Reviews Hook Camden Town

Camden TownFish££££
Excellent
5.2/6
100 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Fancy Crab

Marylebone
5.0/6429
Fancy Crab

Sea Salt

Beckenham
5.6/6204
Sea Salt

100 Hook Camden Town Reviews

Read reviews about Hook Camden Town here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Hook Camden Town. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Hook Camden Town.

Excellent
5.2/6
100 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Lee T.2 years ago · 1 review

Brilliant Staff, beautiful restaurant, PHENOMENAL food. It's fish and chips, but lighter and less oily... It's perfect. Hurry up and book a table already! Guaranteed you wont' regret it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gwladys C.2 years ago · 1 review

The employees were really nice and the food was great! I really liked the way they cook chips, with the skin and in big slices. I recommend this place, definitely!

"Excellent"
6/6
Hilary B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

We started with drinks outside & ended up staying for dinner. Our waiter was super & suggested we try all six dressings - great idea. Seaweed chips fab. Lovely food & evg. Thank you

"Excellent"
6/6
Samantha S.2 years ago · 1 review

Great fish & chips and lovely staff. Restaurant is rustically cool - would definitely recommend :-) Within easy walking distance of Camden Town underground station.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tania M.2 years ago · 1 review

Love visiting Hook in Camden for lunch with colleagues; the fresh take on fish & chips is always well received - with an exciting choice of coatings (Cajun-spiced, Jamaican crispy panko, lemon and basil tempura) and selection of fish (coley, sea bream, cod, mackerel - selection changes daily), and also some chicken options, there's something to interest everyone's tastebuds. Fish has always been excellently cooked. Accompaniments include baked potato "fries", minted mushy peas and samphire salad, and a range of home-made dips and sauces to try. Drinks menu is also well chosen with interesting soft drinks and a good selection of craft beer. Atmosphere and service has always been warm and friendly, and I always leave keen to plan in another visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lorraine C.2 years ago · 1 review

A real delight. Absolutely everything tasted so fresh and delicious. The fish was cut thick and done to perfection. Both types of batters were light and well seasoned., and we simply could not get enough of the homemade tartar sauce. We were also pleasantly surprised by the chips as the freshness of the potato came through every bite. And let's not forget our side plates of calamari rings and cucumber salad which awakened our taste buds. Our only regret: we could not try everything on the menu. Oh yes, and you just have to love the very friendly atmosphere and service.

"Excellent"
6/6
Katie O.2 years ago · 1 review

We Loved Hook! ever since we watched Guy Fieri feature Hook on U.S. TV, we made it a priority destination during our first trip to UK. Glad we did and found it to be just a short walk from Regent's Park, another great place to visit for beautiful stroll before or after. We had the Classic and Argentinian. Both were excellent, as were the accompanying "chips." We ordered their homemade ketchup which was worth the small charge and I wish had recipe. Service was friendly. Thank you Hook--we will highly recommend you to all.

"Good"
4/6
Eurico B.2 years ago · 3 reviews

First time to Hook after being recommended. The restaurant is lively enough for a Sunday evening and staff are friendly. I don't think this restaurant should be compared with your usual or local chippies, it's obvious they are trying to be different. I think the idea is good, the execution is debatable. I had a Lemon & Basil fish, but in my opinion deep frying ended up masking any Lemon & Basil flavours. The chips are more like potato wedges which I found quite greasy. I would love to give it a second try and wishing they can serve larger portion fish. Definitely has potential.

"Excellent"
6/6
Charlotte A.2 years ago · 1 review

Amazing food- Perfect crispy batter, yummy sauces and chips spot on! also nice as a bit different from the usual fish and chips. And the waiter was a BABE!.. Told us he was new- he was great. My friend didn't want the spice on her tacos and they kindly replaced it without a fuss. Will definitely go back! (Noisy because we sat outside and someone's car alarm was going off!)

"Great"
5/6
Mischa H.2 years ago · 1 review

Wonderful food, very friendly staff and service. Simply great. Also loved the choice of craft beers - I only had one of them, but I liked it. The simple, but cool design of the place I liked. Unfortunately, customers coming on going were in general incapable to close the door, which with the cold weather outside made an unpleasant cold air creep in everytime until I got up an closed it again. So add a door-closer to the door and it's solved :-)