Reviews Janaki Restaurant

Dickens HeathIndian, Asian££££
Excellent
5.2/6
47 Reviews
Janaki Restaurant Solihull image 1
Janaki Restaurant Solihull image 2
Janaki Restaurant Solihull image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

47 Janaki Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about Janaki Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Janaki Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Janaki Restaurant.

Excellent
5.2/6
47 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Matthew L.2 days ago · 1 review

Amazing food and great service in a very good location, very highly reccomended

"Excellent"
6/6
Martin G.15 days ago · 1 review

Really good food, waitress was a bit clumsy and hard to understand, order was wrong but quickly corrected. Would recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Phil J.21 days ago · 6 reviews

Wow the food was absolutely fantastic, great service. Would thoroughly recommend!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Paul E.a month ago · 1 review

The food is simply fantastic. From the decor to all the staff 10/10. It's a must try place.

"Good"
4/6
Phillip T.a month ago · 1 review

Beautifully cooked and presented food but unfortunately the restaurant was empty (8pm on a weeknight) when we visited so it lacked the warm atmosphere we had hoped for and all felt a bit "flat". The Member of staff on duty was friendly and attentive but refused to honour the special offer that is advertised on their own website which was disappointing. Quality of food and ingredients is clearly good but old fashioned ideas like charging extra for a tiny chutney tray to go with already expensive poppadoms and starters seems petty. Would we visit again? Maybe due to the excellent quality of main course but only on a weekend or if there was a group of us to create our own atmosphere.

"Terrible"
1/6
Neil M.8 months ago · 1 review

After reading some rave reviews online (namely Facebook) we booked a table quite last minute. On our arrival the restaurant was busy with two large groups and several smaller tables. Our table was not ready straight away which was not a problem and we were seated within 5 minutes. We were promptly offered poppadoms which arrived within minutes and then the drinks order was taken. The chutney tray consists of a very runny mango sauce, an ok onion chutney and a mint yoghurt which was very bitter and tasted as if the yoghurt had turned. The drinks arrived in a timely manner but I was rather shocked by the price of a pint of diet coke (£4.50!). Our drinks were  served with plastic straws which did not not reach the bottom of the glass. This is something that could be done away with as not only will it help the environment but also save you money.  It then took about 20 minutes for our order to be taken. I asked for a lemon rice which was not on the menu but I was told that it was not possible and I could only order off the menu. I have never had this response from any other Indian restaurant even if it is not on the menu. My starter was a plate of fried potatoes with a sprinkle of seasoning on top. Not what I was expecting. My partner had the chicken and mushroom starter which was very underwhelming.  We then waited another 30 minutes for our mains. My chicken Karahi was bland and the chicken was very tough to the point that I left most of it. The boiled rice was as expected. The description of the rogan josh said it was served with peppers and sounded very much like a jalfrezi. However, when it arrived it was a rather undescript curry with no peppers and neither a rogan josh nor jalfrezi. The chicken in the rogan josh was also tough however my partner was hungry so just ate it.  I am genuinely upset that we did not enjoy our experience and will probably not be returning in the near future. We had read such great reviews and there had been a lot of advertising on Facebook. I completely understand that it was a busy Saturday night and that the restaurant was full on our arrival but there were only 2 waiting staff serving the downstairs area.  With regards to the tough chicken, it may be that we just had one or two bad dishes out of all thise severed  but a comment was made by the table next to us that the lamb was also tough so maybe it is something that need to be looked into.  Overall I could not recommend this restaurant based on our experience from last night.

"Great"
5/6
Fiona R.a year ago · 2 reviews

It’s been years since we’ve been to Janaki’s but as it’s so local we thought we would try it again. I’m so glad we did. The food was excellent, prawns perfectly cooked, succulent and juicy, and nice and spicy. We were even given a tour of the kitchen and shown all the fresh ingredients. Kitchen was very clean and neat considering it was mid service. Will definitely return.

"Great"
5/6
Peter H.2 years ago · 1 review

Firstly, Dickens Heath is a lovely setting for top restaurants and Janaki is one of those. Very spacious interior within a well decorated environment. The food was piping hot and absolutely delicious, especially the shish kebab starter which is perfect for sharing. The service was of high quality. Definitely will visit again.

"Excellent"
6/6
ROBERT O.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely food with great service, food all fresh. Looking forward to going back. If like me you are unsure of what to have, the advice I was given was 1st class and spot on . Thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sue D.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Janaki is an excellent restaurant- great ambience the food is amazing with a good variety of dishes - the service is excellent and the price is fair. Would definitely recommend as a good night out.