Reviews Le Vacherin

ChiswickFrench££££
Excellent
5.0/6
159 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Côte Covent Garden - St Martin's Lane

Covent Garden
5.1/63530
Côte Covent Garden - St Martin's Lane

Côte Covent Garden - Tavistock Street

Covent Garden
5.2/63158
Côte Covent Garden - Tavistock Street

159 Le Vacherin Reviews

Read reviews about Le Vacherin here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Le Vacherin. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Le Vacherin.

Excellent
5.0/6
159 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Fiona B.2 years ago · 1 review

Le Vacherin was recommended by my mother so we took her and my father in law there for Christmas lunch. The atmosphere was lovely, the food was delicious and the staff were friendly and attentive. Having pre-ordered the meals, the service was relaxed - no long delays and no rushing.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rannesh J.2 years ago · 1 review

Good food and service. But waiter suggested 200£ bottle of wine when i asked for a glass of red. I thought that was rude in front of business guest i had taken.

"Excellent"
6/6
James B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Delightful, intimate, cosy and inexpensive restaurant in one of Chiswick' quieter streets. This restaurant never fails to please serving fabulous French food and offering a wonderful selection of cheeses. Extensive wine list with a selection to suit all. Excellent, attentive staff. Local transport (94 Bus) if required, heading back to London.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alastair L.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent service and food. A little punchy on price but you get what you pay for. The chateaubriand was well worth the wait and the chocolate mousse was to die for.

"Great"
5/6
Mark G.2 years ago · 1 review

We have been before and we use as one of our supper spots where we can get a quick Black Cab there from Shepherd's Bush and back allowing us a bottle of one of their great wines from a good priced list. We try to eat early so to be in and out as there is only the two of us. Tonight was the usual, greeted, choice of table, along the banquette which allows the Wife to people watch the room, why I am I also facing the mirror. Small & precise menu with a few table carved classic dishes, some old favourites and a few specials, this is the a la carte by the way which we prefer for the bigger choice. Oysters for Madame which she loves and proved great. Snails for me as you do not get them everywhere, brilliant warm bread with anchoide, but I did ask for extra butter ! Lamb Crepinette for Madame, which won her over due to the salsify garnish. I lucked out as the Lemon Sole I fancied. It had run out and been replaced with Dover Sole at the same price although i would have paid more!. Meuniere with tartare sauce and pommes frites. side of haricot beans and more bread! Filleted it myself first as a bit of bone phobia. All very good, ate the lot! Wine a Malbec, served us the wrong one, wanted the one from Cahors but got a distant Organic Cousin from Argentina, but I didn't notice till half way through, it was good so kept stum! Dessert, Tarte Fine with Figs and vanilla ice cream, for Madame, ok pastry great but a bit big, Creme brûlée for me, favourite, 6 out of 10, only becauseIi have had it at some mega places, quick coffee for Madame, Hailo called while asked for bill, job done , taxi outside by the time the attentive staff had put our coats on! Left an extra £10.00 cash on top of service charge because felt looked after and no complaints whatsoever about the food I think good value £140.00. Left by 9pm already staring to fill. Some have the set 3 course with a glass of Proseco but a lot having the Chateuabriand at the table which looked great. Even a young lady dining on her own. Real age mix of what appeared to be local Clientele. Granny and Grandad obviously been conned into babysitting brought a little one in a pram, on a Friday Night, no problem for them to be accommodated! Overall, again, did the job will be back again and again. Well established local, going a long time and sticks to a formula that works, try it you love it!

"Okay"
3/6
Fran L.2 years ago · 1 review

Le Vacherin is near where I live and a convenient place for my son to get to on Mothers' Day. Also, a late decision to have lunch together meant I was booking late in the week before the day. I have eaten there twice before. The special lunch was more expensive than usual but not as good as I have had there before, perhaps because it was so busy. The glass of champagne (for mothers only, included in the price of the set meal) was lovely but there was no wine by the glass on the wine list and as my son was driving and I don't drink much, even the cheapest bottle of wine was an unnecessary addition to the cost. I had paid £50 deposit and still had over £86 to pay. The maitre got angry with the staff and we witnessed a row in the kitchen area; again, perhaps it was because they had booked more guests than they could easily cater for. There are only two lavatories, inadequate for a large number of people, many of them children. I would have preferred to pay more for better food and facilities: Hedone in Chiswick High Road, Marcus at The Berkeley Hotel perhaps.

"Great"
5/6
Angela H.2 years ago · 1 review

I chose Le Vacherin as family visiting from the US wanted a good French meal and some good French wine and that is what we got. The food was very good (except I heard afterwards that the steak on the fixed price menu was tough), the staff were attentive and responsive. My only slight criticism was that the kitchen was very slow, we were a group of six but I noticed that other tables also seemed to be waiting for food for a long time. However, we all had an enjoyable evening and I will certainly be returning and would recommend it to anyone who wants good French food.

"Great"
5/6
Susan T.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was excellent and the service was very good on the whole if not slightly unfriendly from one of the male waiters. When we booked my husband mentioned that one of the party was gluten free but no gluten free options were offered including no gluten free bread. Sea bream delicious and the Hereford rump steak was cooked to perfection and really tender and tasty. All of our starters were very good - poached pears and blue cheese salad was excellent. This is about the sixth time my family, family members, have dined at Le Vacherin and I would highly recommend it.

"Bad"
2/6
Trevor L.2 years ago · 1 review

What a disappointment. Where to begin...made a booking on Friday 4/3/16 for Mother's Day luncheon on Sunday 6/3/16 and received confirmation email. On the morning of the 6th I received two phone calls from the restaurant - no messages left. I returned the call only to have the manager state there was no booking in my name - intriguing given they had phoned me twice that morning! After heated words he finally acceded to my booking, albeit 30 minutes later than the original time. Upon arriving, the staff were inattentive and throughout the afternoon gave a brilliant impression of people wishing they were somewhere else. There was a Mother's Day set menu, not a problem for adults, but given the occasion - and there were numerous tables with young children - it was ridiculous that no consideration made for children, either in menu items, size of meal, or cost. The food when served was fine, nothing particularly noteworthy. Dining out, particularly for special occasions, should be a holistic experience that encompasses not just food but the whole experience from initial booking until final payment. Le Vacherin failed dismally to create a vibrant culinary experience.

"Great"
5/6
(deleted) X.2 years ago · 1 review

You would be hard pressed to find a better value Sunday lunch at a French restaurant. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food surprisingly good. I chose the place because the vegetarian option on the menu looked like a real dish, rather than an after thought. It turned out to be exquisite. On the first page of the wine list, was a very reasonably priced curated selection of wines. I chose the cheapest and was confounded by the excellent quality. I loved the ice bucket on the stand next to our table as much as I liked the faded awning outside. The restaurant is set incongruously in a strange part of town and was full (I suspect) of regulars; even the obstreperous screaming child on the other table didn't faze me, which is the best compliment I can give to the chef of this charming little restaurant.