Reviews Shahbaaz Curry Cottage

BradfordIndian££££
Excellent
5.2/6
45 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Great Kathmandu Tandoori

Chorlton-cum-Hardy
5.3/6198
The Great Kathmandu Tandoori

Shajan

Clayton-le-Dale
5.5/6213
Shajan

45 Shahbaaz Curry Cottage Reviews

Read reviews about Shahbaaz Curry Cottage here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Shahbaaz Curry Cottage. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Shahbaaz Curry Cottage.

Excellent
5.2/6
45 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
D D.10 months ago · 1 review

The staff are very friendly. The food is the best around. Every time we go we are never disappointed. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Debs x

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynne N.a year ago · 1 review

We went for my birthday meal. The food was fantastic. The service was excellent. Four of us enjoyed a great night.Really good value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Stuart J.a year ago · 1 review

Great food and very reasonable. Service was excellent. We didn’t have to wait long, and we were made to feel very welcome. Top night !

"Excellent"
6/6
Sue C.a year ago · 5 reviews

Food is consistently good. There was 6 of us and even though ut was a Saturday night the service was very efficient all the food was brought out hot and it was all really tasty.

"Excellent"
6/6
Paul G.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Its definitely an old School experience at the Shahbaaz Curry Cottage with a strange mix of old & new décor, but who cares, I am reviewing the food & it was excellent. It is always a good start when the Poppadum's are fresh & crispy & the "bits" are tasty. I always gravitate to a spicier/hotter dish & opted for the Kashmiri Chilli (Lamb) & it was excellent. The Lamb melted in your mouth & the sauce had a dry consistency, not the often usual "one-pot mush" & it was hot!!! Not necessarily the place to take your better half for a romantic meal for 2, but 10/10 for the quality of the food, which was well presented & slightly different to all to often disappointing fayre of other local Curry Houses.

"Okay"
3/6
Darren W.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The welcome was not very welcoming. Very official, not much by way of friendliness. No smiles. No banter. No enthusiasm. It felt like the staff didn't want to be there. We were virtually thrown the midweek, laminated set menu and there were only two standard menus on the table. These had to be passed around to allow us to make an informed decision. The table was also very cramped. We were still reading the menu when a stern faced waiter came to take our order. We were nowhere near ready. When we were ready, we put the menus down and waited ... and waited. The waiter (now I know why they're called that) seemed disinterested and had to be called over. Four of our group ordered from the set menu, whereas I ordered from the standard menu. The food came relatively promptly. Unfortunately, three out of the five of us did not enjoy the starter. One was my daughter, and she can be a pain. If she gets an idea in her head that a place is not going to be up to scratch then no amount of effort will change her mind. I took her tainted view with a pinch of salt, until I tried her starter (chicken pakora). Now I'm renowned for eating any old muck, but even my unsophisticated palate could tell it was dry and rubbery. My in laws weren't keen on their starters either, but acknowledged that it was "sort of ok". The mains were nice. I went for a chicken tikka pathia. It was described as sweet and sour ... and hot. It was indeed all of those things. My wife and daughter went for the dupiaza and the bhuna and shared them between each other. My daughter hardly ate ... although I don't give much sway to that. Her mind was made up before we got there, but reinforced after the starter. Overall, the mains were good, but not fantastic. In conclusion, the food didn't make up for the frosty welcome. The ambience was virtually non-existent. It all felt very amateur, which is a shame. This restaurant has been here for years, but in my opinion does not live up to its reputation. Would I go back? Maybe ... but not in a hurry.

"Excellent"
6/6
greg h.2 years ago · 1 review

The restaurant is clean and airy and the parking at the rear is very handy. The service was fast and unobtrusive. The food was one of the best meals of this type that I have eaten and I have eaten many many a curry meal. My wife thought is was "brill". This was our first visit here, it will not be our last. Just all round good.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lee G.2 years ago · 1 review

Food as always was spot on and waiting time was very low indeed. In the past the customer service wasn't the best but now they seem to have brand new, eager and positive staff. My best experience so far yet and reaffirmed that the Shahbaaz is my all time fav Indian restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Denise N.2 years ago · 1 review

We eat here a lot and always have great quality food served by attentive friendly staff. The menu caters for all tastes and we would recommend any of the specials. Great place to eat and reasonably priced

"Excellent"
6/6
janet c.2 years ago · 1 review

I have been visiting this resturant for many years now and have never been disappointed. The food is awlays tasty and good well, the staff are always friendly and wanting to make your experoence with them great.