Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Bolton
Horwich
Sokrates Taverna - Horwich
Sokrates Taverna - Horwich Reviews

Sokrates Taverna - Horwich

Greek, Mediterranean, European

Dishes priced around£15

Photo of restaurant Sokrates Taverna - Horwich in Horwich, Bolton

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Sokrates Taverna - Horwich (430)

Read what people think about Sokrates Taverna - Horwich. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Sokrates Taverna - Horwich before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Sokrates Taverna - Horwich and book a table with confidence!

5.7/6

430 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
6332
571
419
33
23
12
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
New"Excellent"
6/6
Paula A.14 hours ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and service on our 3rd visit to this lovely restaurant. We will certainly be returning

New"Excellent"
6/6
Natalie C.3 days ago · 1 review

Absolutely OUTSTANDING! Been going to this restaurant for 20 years !

New"Excellent"
6/6
Ben W.3 days ago · 1 review

Superb meal, as always. Such tasty food, wonderful staff and a cosy location.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Jacqueline H.5 days ago · 2 reviews

we had the meze and the food was incredible, so fresh and tasty and definitely enough of it !! one of our party had something different and wished he'd have chosen the mere too. It was a very quite night, it was during the week, with only one other table in which spoiled it a little bit as we didn't get to experience the great atmosphere that I have been told about. I will definitely go back but would go at weekend

New"Excellent"
6/6
Alison L.6 days ago · 1 review

We received a warm welcome from all the staff at the restaurant on arrival. We chose the Meze and it was Delicious and great value. The atmosphere was calm and it felt like we had been transported back to a Cypriot Taverna. I cannot find anything I didn’t like about this place, Staff attentive, knowledgeable, fun and friendly, Food Amazing. Thank you to the Sokrates team. I’m already planning my next visit.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Philip P.7 days ago · 1 review

Sokrates is one of the best restaurants I've been to. The food is cooked with love and thought. The flavours and ingredients are outstanding. The staff are superb, and if you get the meze, listen to them when they say don't fill up on bread!! Really great night and 100% will return.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Ian P.7 days ago · 1 review

We’ve been going her for at least 15 years and the quality of food and outstanding service has never changed. Long may it continue.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Margaret R.8 days ago · 1 review

Not been here for a while but Sokrates maintains its high level of food and service. Excellent!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Rachael Anne B.10 days ago · 1 review

I took my partner for his first visit, I rang ahead as he is Autistic and wanted to check there were no large parties/noise - we were offered a quieter table which was much appreciated. The food was fantastic, the service amazing - and my partner loved it. Thanks for a great visit/food/service! See you again 😍

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sandra S.10 days ago · 2 reviews

Excellent restaurant great food and staff highly recommended by us.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Hannah K.14 days ago · 1 review

Amazing good and lovely service. The food is generous, tasty and great value.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Shirley S.14 days ago · 1 review

Lovely meze, nice atmosphere and good value. Will return soon.

"Very good"
5/6
Victoria C.16 days ago · 1 review

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Sokrates. The staff were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. We did not need to wait to order drinks and the Greek white wine was very good. The food was served soon after it was ordered, and it was delicious. There was a very good selection of food for meat eaters but when we dine at Sokrates again - and we will definitely return - we will order in advance our vegetarian dishes as suggested by the waiter, because there was not much choice on the standard menu. We highly recommend the baklava with pistachio ice cream! 😋

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrea C.18 days ago · 1 review

This is always my favourite place to eat. I'm taken back by the price increase since last time. 50% is a lot. Still fab food, great flavours. A certain customer spoilt the ambience a little but it can't be amazing all the time. Not the restaurants fault.

"Very good"
5/6
John K.21 days ago · 1 review

Delicious Meze. Friendly atmosphere and attentive service. What's not to like😀?

"Excellent"
6/6
Joy K.a month ago · 1 review

Just such a wonderful meal and experience. Always wonderful food and service.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tim S.a month ago · 2 reviews

As always fabulous , fresh and tasty . Will be back soon

"Very good"
5/6
Deborah H.a month ago · 1 review

The food is fabulous here. Never disappoints. The service is also great just the right amount of attentiveness and always helpful and friendly.

"Very good"
5/6
Ian P.2 months ago · 1 review

Our first visit - and a most worthwhile experience. Nothing at all to fault as it is what I call an ‘honest’ restaurant. Very good food, unpretentious, warm and welcoming. Certainly value for money. 😊 We shall be back later in the year.

"Excellent"
6/6
Cloe P.2 months ago · 1 review

Very friendly service throughout our evening. The food is amazing and we’ll definitely be returning!

"Excellent"
6/6
Abi W.2 months ago · 1 review

Amazing food and lovely staff. Will definitely be going again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Christina S.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Food and service was amazing. The staff are so friendly and accommodating

"Excellent"
6/6
donna h.3 months ago · 1 review

Just simply my favourite restaurant. Lovely food, lovely staff x

"Excellent"
6/6
nicola c.3 months ago · 1 review

Amazing food, brilliant staff, definitely will return. Thank you a

"Excellent"
6/6
Alison D.3 months ago · 1 review

Delicious authentic food, excellent service, staff lovely and helpful explained all about the food, will definitely be returning.

"Very good"
5/6
Heather B.3 months ago · 1 review

Lovely staff as always food Delicious just a little rushed through the Meze but it was new years eve and very busy so can't complain really. Definitely won't stop us going back

"Excellent"
6/6
Irene M.3 months ago · 1 review

Love Sokrates! Everything was excellent and there is such a very warm and welcoming atmosphere 💯👏

"Excellent"
6/6
Stuart W.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Good friendly service. Food was amazing. One of the best Greeks I’ve had in England if not the best

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrea S.3 months ago · 1 review

A firm family favourite. As always the meze was delicious and plentiful. Service great 👌x

"Excellent"
6/6
Hiranthi s.4 months ago · 1 review

excellent experience cosy atmosphere overall very good. food and service was excellent

"Excellent"
6/6
Ian H.4 months ago · 1 review

Great atmosphere. Superb food and beer. Thank You for a top evening. 👍🏻🎅

"Excellent"
6/6
Ian A.4 months ago · 1 review

We were a party of six celebrating my wife's birthday. We all had the meze option, so enjoyed many different foods and tastes. We had a great time.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andy T.4 months ago · 2 reviews

Went to give meal as golden wedding present to friends. Just perfect for the purpose

"Very good"
5/6
Denise T.5 months ago · 1 review

Staff were very friendly & helpfull & the food was amazing

"Excellent"
6/6
Robyn M.6 months ago · 1 review

Great quality, fresh food. Good atmosphere. Nice house white wine.

"Very good"
5/6
Dave J.6 months ago · 1 review

Wow!!! Simply amazing very tasty delicious food. The service was faultless very accommodating and assisted choosing an alternative to beef. We had the meze A MUST try. Going back soon Book early very popular due to high quality EVERYTHING Thankyou sokrates.

"Very good"
5/6
Heather D.6 months ago · 1 review

Great food, friendly service, good atmosphere, I would highly recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rachel B.7 months ago · 1 review

The food at Sokrates is absolutely delicious, we were blown away. The service is also fantastic, the staff were all extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Excellent meal and experience all round.

"Excellent"
6/6
Angela S.7 months ago · 1 review

Great food - best moussaka we have ever had, Good value and we like the atmosphere. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our meal so much we booked a table for the following evening as we left. Will definitely return the next time we visit Horwich. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Robert P.7 months ago · 1 review

Amazing as always! Warm, friendly, great food, great atmosphere. Highly recommended