Reviews The Admiral Hornblower

OakhamBritish, European, Drinks££££
Excellent
5.1/6
145 Reviews
The Admiral Hornblower Oakham image 1
The Admiral Hornblower Oakham image 2
The Admiral Hornblower Oakham image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

145 The Admiral Hornblower Reviews

Read reviews about The Admiral Hornblower here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Admiral Hornblower. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Admiral Hornblower.

Excellent
5.1/6
145 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Service:Great
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Jo P.6 days ago · 1 review

Lovely environment and atmosphere. We did wait quite a while for our food but it was definitely worth it.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Darren O.11 days ago · 3 reviews

Very nice pleasant experience. Food and service was great. Thank you.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Ann S.13 days ago · 2 reviews

Always a good place to visit - genial staff and a friendly greeting to regulars

"Excellent"
6/6
Darren H.a month ago · 1 review

Great food. Good service. Lovely surroundings. Thank you. Well done.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tina S.a year ago · 1 review

We had a really lovely evening at The Admiral Hornblower. The meal was lovely and the staff were very attentive and made the evening special for us. Our table was right by the log fire and we spent a nice. relaxing evening enjoying our meal. The menu was varied with plenty of choice. We also stayed at the Hornblower and had two very nice breakfasts with local produce. The staff were so friendly and helpful, they all appeared to enjoy their work and all had great customer service attitude. Thank you.

"Good"
4/6
Justin M.2 years ago · 1 review

The starters were excellent, main course feedback form our party of 6 was mixed. (3 of our party had the duck - which was somewhat disappointing for all 3). The fish courses were excellent though. Our waiter at the start of the evening advised us of the specials - but got confused between prawns & langoustines - his colleague corrected that though before we ordered. One of my friends asked for 'Monkey 47' gin, to be told "we don't have it, it's not a very good gin". Despite being friendly & keen to build rapport; if the waiter doesn't know about a product simply ask a colleague - don't give the wrong information to 'save face'. (It turned out the bar did stock Monkey 47 after all, but by that time my friend had ordered a glass of wine). Venue was good (the lack of soft furnishings did affect the acoustics - but only for me), wine selection was menu appropriate, service got better after a ropey start.

"Excellent"
6/6
Susan A.2 months ago · 1 review

The Admiral Hornblower is a beautiful Pub, it has a lovely feeling as soon as you walk in the door. The food is lovely, hearty well cooked meals that are value for money with obvious fresh ingredients. The room we stayed in was very unusual, lots of space with a huge bathroom. Will visit again.

"Great"
5/6
Natalie B.5 months ago · 1 review

I've been to the Hornblower numerous times for Sunday lunch, but this was the best I've had yet. Friendly service, nice atmosphere, tasty food, sensible portions sizes. Despite my first choice of roast chicken being sold out, I was offered a suitable chicken alternative immediately which came with all the roast trimmings and was very tasty. My kids really enjoyed their meals and had empty plates! The service was the best it's ever been to date: I only had to ask for something a second time once - which is an improvement on previous visits!! Just let us down slightly at the end by taking too long to offer us the bill & I had to find someone to ask. But it's all getting better and I'd recommend!

"Excellent"
6/6
Rob T.6 months ago · 1 review

The Admiral Hornblower is a great pub, in the heart of Oakham, with a stylish restaurant area. The food was delicious and the service excellent. We were served by a young waiter assistant by a waitress on her first shift, but both were excellent and provided a first class experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jane W.a year ago · 1 review

The restaurant has various seating areas, and I was pleased that we were sat in a cozy room with a log fire, this meant the few diners that had ventured our mid week in January enjoyed an excellent ambience. The food was good quality and the service a very high standard. I was treating my husband for his birthday so we were also staying the night, cant fault anything. We will definitely return and I will recommend to frinds.