107 The Bowling Green Reviews

Read reviews about The Bowling Green here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Bowling Green. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Bowling Green.

Excellent
5.4/6
107 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Loraine S.17 days ago · 8 reviews

The food is very good value for money, we have been everywhere locally and haven't found a better roast, the service is also very good...

"Excellent"
6/6
David F.17 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and extremely great service. Had friends from Manchester visiting who loved it and we will definitely call again. Thank you & will be recommending

"Excellent"
6/6
Alicia M.a month ago · 1 review

Fab meal, good atmosphere, great quality food, good value for money, staff friendly, restaurant clean, good atmosphere. Would highly recommend and we will definitely return.

"Excellent"
6/6
David B.a month ago · 3 reviews

We went for the Thursday Steak night, very tender steak. Great wine. Well kept ale. Best of all, as ever, is the first class service.

"Great"
5/6
Robin A.7 months ago · 1 review

The Bowling Green has a limited menu but food is well cooked and delicious. On occasions there are "specials" in addition to the menu. The restaurant was refurbished and expanded fairly recently and the new facility is well appointed with a pleasant ambience. The staff, many of whom are young, are very pleasant and efficient. Toilets were not forgotten in the reburbishment and they are of a much higher standard than the norm.

"Good"
4/6
Andrew G.7 months ago · 1 review

Very nice with excellent staff, they were very accommodating and friendly. Food very nice however two things let them down for me, they promote home cooked food but when I asked if the mash potato was real potato I was told “no it’s not, it’s from a packet”. Mash potato is so easy and simple to make why would a nice pub/restaurant let it self down by using Smash! The second thing was the English mustard, good quality mustard can really compliment steak however Heinz sweet, mild sickly American type mustard can ruin it. Apart from these issues the Bowling green is lovely and well worth a visit.

"Great"
5/6
John S.10 months ago · 5 reviews

Nice restaurant off the side of The Bowling Green pub, we sat in the new dining area which was very nice. There is a good selection of food and it is always well cooked.

"Great"
5/6
Heather B.7 months ago · 1 review

Overall we had a very good meal and the portions were reasonable sized for the price we paid although the kids fish was on the little side. I had vegetable lasagna with salad - the salad was fresh not like some places where you get limp lettuce and dried up tomato. I asked to change the garlic bread for chips which was not a problem.

"Excellent"
6/6
Carole B.a year ago · 1 review

Yet again a good experience at The Bowling Green. Great food, excellent service from friendly staff & lovely atmosphere. Just what you want from your local.

"Excellent"
6/6
John S.10 months ago · 5 reviews

Another great meal at The Bowling Green, good choice of food and great service. Always a nice atmosphere and good selection of drinks. Would recommend.