Reviews The Crystal Palace Market

Crystal PalaceBritish, Seafood, European££££
Excellent
5.0/6
541 Reviews
The Crystal Palace Market London image 1
The Crystal Palace Market London image 2
The Crystal Palace Market London image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

541 The Crystal Palace Market Reviews

Read reviews about The Crystal Palace Market here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Crystal Palace Market. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Crystal Palace Market.

Excellent
5.0/6
541 Reviews
Service:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Cathy F.a day ago · 1 review

Wonderful food and atmosphere - highly recommend CPM for a night out with friends or family.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Andy B.5 days ago · 1 review

All good and a very enjoyable evening. Should really include one side with each main for the price, salad doesn't really cut it. Can't complain too much as everything was cooked to order, tasted good and the service was great.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sean M.7 days ago · 1 review

Wonderful food and wine, excellent service, and reasonable prices for the very high quality of both.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Danny J.7 days ago · 1 review

Great food, great atmosphere very enjoyable dinner. Came out at around £45 per head and we had plenty of drinks and sides !

"Okay"
3/6
David M.2 years ago · 1 review

The restaurant's website is exactly my philosophy on food: get it good quality, as local as possible and present it as freshly as you can with a bit of a twist. I booked a table online and asked for a quiet table as it was my wife's birthday and we wanted to be able to chat. The good stuff: the fresh fish is all on display so you can chose exactly what you want to. This is great if you are out with children so that they can get involved. I liked the open plan restaurant and kitchen so it has an informal feel. It is not smart decor, more urban contemporary with rough edges. I chose Hampshire trout which was lovely. My wife had seared tuna which was also very good. The salsa verde was very good and freshly made. When I asked for the bill, they clearly noticed it was my wife's birthday and brought a complimentary glass of fizz: that's kind. Less good were the following things. We had a table right in the middle of the restaurant so got knocked by passing people and waiters. They seem to have crammed quite a few tables in. Fine for Wagamama, but less so for good dining. The decor does not dampen sound so the hoped-for conversation was not as easy as we had hoped. £5 for a portion of fries seems pretty steep by anyone's standard. My salmon ceviche had plenty of raw onion in it which is far too strong a flavour to go with delicate salmon. The waiter was about 17-18 years old and had too many tables to deal with so service was pretty poor. All the more annoying then to find a 12.5% 'optional' service charge was listed (which I would not have paid) but when the card machine was presented it had the service charge included. I did not want to quibble the bill in front of my wife as it was a birthday treat, but this is pretty poor. In summary, they do some things well but fall short on others. The bill for two cocktails, starters and mains with two glasses of wine, came to over £100 which I would say is too much for the overall quality of service and food. Good, but no cigar.

"Great"
5/6
Max D.4 months ago · 2 reviews

Team night out straight from work and we're frequent visitors to this restaurant. Looked after by Jo, who considering we were straight on the cocktails, was very playful with us and took it in her stride. It was a horrid chilly night and when the door opened the cold came in quickly, so at one point we were all coats and scarfs, but the manager was straight on the case when noted. Food as ever was very very good (although still missing the mushy peas option with the fish and chips). We did have a vegan in the gang and there is very little option in terms of veggie/vegan and this would be a suggestion to have a cheese free pesto on hand to make gnocchi or pasta. Crystal Palace is exceptionally millenial and full of foody fad types (including us), so they perhaps just need to have a proper non 'mushroom' option. Drinks were fun and fab and we will of course return.

"Great"
5/6
Maira G.a year ago · 1 review

I visited Crystal Palace Market for a lunch with my parents. As a starter we ordered the bbq chicken wings which for £8 was definitely not worth it. I can’t speak for the rest of the starters but it wasn’t a great start. The main dishes however were quite tasty. My parents ordered the sirloin and sea bass which they both said were full of flavour. I ordered the tiger prawns which I’d give about 6/10. For sides we ordered skin on fries which were as good as chips can be. In terms of service it was great, the waiters were really attentive and polite. The atmosphere was good too, not too noisy or quiet. In conclusion I found Crystal Palace Market nice but most likely would not return.

"Great"
5/6
Renia M.a year ago · 1 review

The food was great, but the service needs improvement. We asked for a bottle of wine to be served with our starters; we received two glasses well before our starter. We asked for well chilled vodka ( requested prior to our visit); this cam at room temperature, also before requested, so was sent back. There seems to be inadequate communication with the waiting and bar staff. I can only praise the willingness and speed of correction, along with sincere apologies. The quality of food is great, cocktails very tasty and the liqueur coffees just right ( not too sweet and not too much cream - and not that fake aerosol stuff either!). The only thing foodwise that could be better is to serve chunky fries.

"Bad"
2/6
Cheryl H.2 years ago · 1 review

I had a good brunch here a few months ago and decided to book an early dinner for friends. The restaurant itself if stylish and cosy with the fresh food on display, everything ethically Sourced. We were one of the first in the restaurant and had drinks before the kitchen opened, although on arrival the staff seemed a little irritated that we were there early (we spent £25 on drinks before we'd even ordered so can't see why that would be such a problem?). The waiter was slow to take our order despite us being there early, a good 20mins after service had begun so by 45mins of being there already we were ready to order. Salmon carpaccio was lovely and fresh and full of flavour with a lovely dressing. My burger was very disappointing, very small, burnt burger, hard dry bun. Everyone has a side salad with their steaks which was overpowered by a whole grain mustard dressing. I had asked to swap fries for sweet potatoes, instead I ended up with both and was charged extra for the side of sweet potatoes. Again everything was slow service wise, the staff didn't seem to know who was look after which area, the maitre D had an unessersary attitude. We gave up trying to get someone's attention to order more drinks. Asking for the bill again an ordeal and waited half an hour, we were then told we had to give up our table but we had been waiting for our bill!! This restaurant has so much potential and has lots of things right but there seems to be some issues behind the scenes which is a shame. It was very expensive too which is hard to justify when there are plenty of other good places to go to in CP. I won't be in any hurry to return.

"Great"
5/6
Helena P.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent service, the carpaccio of salmon was wonderful, the goats cheese croquettes were great. My husband really enjoyed his seabass and our desserts were very tasty. I didn't give a full 6 rating because they had run out of Monkfish (and I had already decided that was what I wanted before we went!) and my grilled squid was fairly bland. It's a huge portion (I know you shouldn't complain amount too much food) but having so much meant that half way through it was rubbery and a bit tasteless (which can easily happen with squid). The grilled vege side was fairly bland too - just needed a bit of seasoning or something. But other than that, a really nice place to eat.