Reviews The Lockhart

MaryleboneEuropean££££
Excellent
4.7/6
56 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Abbeville

Clapham
4.9/6487
The Abbeville

The Stonhouse

Clapham
5.0/6505
The Stonhouse

56 The Lockhart Reviews

Read reviews about The Lockhart here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Lockhart. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Lockhart.

Excellent
4.7/6
56 Reviews
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Harshil D.2 years ago · 1 review

Group of 3 - All of us ordered and loved the chicken and the service was pleasant! Would definitely want to re-visit in future. ;D

"Excellent"
6/6
ALVARO M.2 years ago · 1 review

My visit to the Lockhart was a great experience, the food as well as the service were great, this is not the first time for me in this restaurant but in this occasion I invited some friends and everybody was really pleased with the restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
JOHN B.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Superb "American" cuisine. Not a huge list of dishes but every one we had was brilliantly cooked and presented. Amazing attentive and knowledgeble staff. Wonderful Cocktails. Whats not to like? Just one gripe. The "Service Charge" that appears on the bill does NOT go to the staff. So I asked for it to be removed and paid the tip in change ( lots of it), which was done without any hassle. That is the only reason why I would not recommend this wonderful place to my friends as, like me, they don't believe in the "Service Charge" scam either.

"Excellent"
6/6
Carla G.2 years ago · 1 review

This was a food experience I have never had before. Every forkful was sensational joy. We also enjoyed the ripple effect and watching other diners having the same enjoyment

"Bad"
2/6
Peter C.2 years ago · 1 review

Had high hopes for the place as I've been wanting to find good southern food in London for a long time. Service was friendly although there was some odd bits (my empty cocktail glass was taken though nobody came to ask if I wanted another drink, the dessert menu was set down and then I was asked if I'd like dessert all in the span of time when my friend was away from the table and hadn't had a chance to look at the dessert menu). Really friendly service but not great service. The food was a bit disappointing. The corn bread came in a cast iron dish already smothered with melted butter. Seems like that'd be great but it left the corn bread soggy and overly buttered. The best part of the corn bread - the crispy bits on the edges, might have been there before it got to the table but definitely wasn't there when it got to us. The timing was also strange - the corn bread came just on its own after the charcuterie plate was taken but before the mains as if it was its own dish rather than a side. Perhaps that's how it was intended but having corn bread (minus the stick of melted butter already soaked in) would have been nice when the mains we ordered arrived - the braised short rib and the seafood gumbo, both dishes which a little bit of cornbread on the side would have been nice with. That said, I tasted the short ribs and they were good. My main of the seafood gumbo lacked the body I'd expect from a gumbo and was more of a seafood broth. However, the main issue was that the seafood was slightly off. The 2 shrimp had a fishy taste to them and while I went ahead and ate them anyway, I paid for that mistake later when I got home in the form of being sick for half the night. So friendly but not great service and a good pecan Manhattan gets it a 2. Otherwise, I can't really give it a recommendation as I got sick from the food which is never a good thing.

"Excellent"
6/6
Bimal M.2 years ago · 1 review

The Lockhart is a quirky and delightful restaurant serving American Southern style food. Lovely environment the service was a little slow - but the food in particular grits and the home baked bread are definitely star items on the menu. Some great cocktails too. All in all a perfect business dinner with some clients.

"Excellent"
6/6
nicole r.2 years ago · 1 review

AMAZING SOUTHERN FOOD! If u want true (american) southern food this is the best. The food is fantastic and really tasts like home. They have southern classics and not just fried chicken which was great. They will also make sweet tea, its not on the menu so you do have to ask but I just about died when I heard they would make it and went to heaven when I tasted it!! The service is also great wonderful and nice staff members. I am already in love with this place and will definitely be going back and taking my friends there whenever possible. 11 stars out of 10!!!

"Good"
4/6
Syed A.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The place is actually amazing and the fried chicken and waffle totally lived up to expectations. Service was also excellent and the place was very baby friendly with staff going out of their way to be helpful. 2 reasons why they didn't get 6/6: 1) shrimp and grits was not available. My wife is a pescatarian and I sold going to Lockhart to her based on the fact that the shrimp and grits is supposed to be very good. The ONLY thing on the menu suitable for her was the french toast which was bland. 2) Poor selection / non-existent substitution options for people who do not consume pig products - significantly limiting options. That said, if you don't eat pig, don't go there. They don't pretend to be anything else so its fair.

"Okay"
3/6
Jennie M.2 years ago · 1 review

The customer service was excellent, although when the Kockart git a bit enott. I saw a few hands go up for the bill and it took the waiters a bit if time to attend. Apart from that, the food was okay. The beef rib and fried chicken were excellent, as well as the the range of wines. In terms of the cikkard green, and pickles. They were a bit disappointing. Either too siur for collard greens or too sweet for the pickles. On one occasion, we did have to report that the chicken was underdone in one of our portions, and due to the service given. This was happily remedied. Thank you J

"Good"
4/6
Amrik S.2 years ago · 1 review

We looked forward to this for weeks... Table was booked for 12 noon. We got there at 11.45.. expecting to have a drink.. but we're turned away and asked to come back at 12 due to 'a problem'... Anyway... we came back and ordered.. Food was really good... so no complaints there whatsoever!!!... I just wish the initial welcome was a little warmer... Service was good... as we ordered a mish mash off the menu... that was appreciated...