Reviews OLD The Malt Shovel in Brearton

BreartonBritish, European££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
188 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Ilkley Cow

Ilkley
5.3/6588
The Ilkley Cow

Cut and Chase

City Centre
5.2/6283
Cut and Chase

188 OLD The Malt Shovel in Brearton Reviews

Read reviews about OLD The Malt Shovel in Brearton here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at OLD The Malt Shovel in Brearton. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about OLD The Malt Shovel in Brearton.

Wonderful
5.5/6
188 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Vicky S.2 years ago · 1 review

Very enjoyable meal, with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Lovely homemade soup with plenty of flavour. Roast beef and vension cooked perfectly! Would not hesitate to recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tracey D.2 years ago · 1 review

Best meal ever!! The chef here is amazing. Other meals have come close but this is definitely the best. I am not someone who eats a lot - but I polished the whole lot off!! The staff and restaurant/bar itself is lovely. A special find.

"Excellent"
6/6
David F.2 years ago · 1 review

Attentive staff, delicious food and a clean traditional pub atmosphere. The hand pull ale was of top quality and the steak I had was absolutely beautiful. My partner also really enjoyed her steak and ale pie. Queenie scallops off the specials board were melt in the mouth. Prices were very reasonable also. Full marks to the friendly staff and the chef. Will definitely be returning. :-)

"Excellent"
6/6
John C.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Smiling welcome, excellent service from Sylwia. Log fire burning on what was a chilly day. Loved my whitebait then game pie. My wife enjoyed pea and mint soup then Cumberland sausage. All can be recommended.

"Great"
5/6
Sue J.2 years ago · 1 review

I came to the Malt Shovel today for lunch with my husband, son, daughter-in-law and grand daughter of 6months .I was delighted by the pleasant staff and the ambience of the lovely old pub. We were a bit late to sit down as we were delayed by traffic and the fact that Martha was sleeping but the staff were completely understanding and we had a very good table where there was room for Martha's push chair. I enjoyed my crayfish sandwich and salad. As a Coeliac, it was great to see so many gluten free options on the menu and if I come in the evening I shall definitely try one of the hearty main courses such as the belly pork which my husband and son thoroughly enjoyed. My daughter in law was less happy because she is a vegetarian and not a lover of nuts or goats cheese so she chose the rarebit but found the mustard flavouring rather overwhelming and found the breadcake on which it was served went rather soggy. This was the only thing that prevents me from awarding 6 for the over-all experience

"Excellent"
6/6
David P.2 years ago · 1 review

We had not been to the Malt Shovel for some time but decided an hour before to try again for lunch on our Wedding Anniversary. Reserving a table was very easy and efficient. The pub/restaurant is charming, full of character and nicely laid out without table crowding. The menu is varied and reasonably priced. We both chose Sea Bass which was excellent. The service was pleasant, friendly and attentive. We will certainly return and remarked yesterday evening that it is a good place to take visiting friends. We also remarked that it is the best restaurant meal we have experienced for quite a while.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rosalie L.2 years ago · 1 review

We were welcomed into a delightful old pub, with modernisation done very sympathetically to the age of the building. There was a roaring fire on a wet and windy night giving us great comfort. The service was excellent and the food outstanding. We could tell the quality of the ingredidents was good as the dishes were absolutely delicious and the presentation was modern, but not overdone. The plates looked inviting to eat, which is how it should be. For information we ate: doubled cooked soufflé, black pudding scotch egg, slow cooked belly pork (with crackling), venison and then chocolate pots for pudding. Yummmm.

"Excellent"
6/6
Slava D.2 years ago · 1 review

Warm and welcoming. Children were treated respectfully. Lovely attmosphere. Tables were placed creatively, meaning that it catered for intimate dining as well as larger parties, and both worked well together. The food was superb and there was a varied selection of both starters and main course. The portions were generous - verging on over-generous , and were beautifully cooked. The youngest members of our party declared the sticky toffee pudding to be the best they had ever tasted - and they had tasted many! All in all a lovely experience and one that will most certainly be repeated.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynne & Andy R.2 years ago · 1 review

This was out first visit to The Malt Shovel, we were staying at a B&B in Knaresborough & had picked up the details from their website. We were shattered after a very long journey, but were soon revived by a very warm welcome, excellent wine and a fabulous meal! We both agreed it was the best food we'd had on our week long holiday, it was all beautifully presented, well-cooked and delicious. We will return if we are in the area again and would highly recommend a visit based on our experience.

"Great"
5/6
Ellen G.2 years ago · 2 reviews

We have been to the Malt Shovel before and never had a bad meal. I had crayfish salad, yummy, my husband fish cakes. We both had liver for our mains, slightly overcooked for us as we eat it very pink, but not enough to complain. Puddings were really good, rice pudding for my husband bread & butter for me. All very yummy. Felt sorry for the young man serving he was alone for most of the time and the phone kept going, despite this he smiled and was very good at looking after everyone. Whatever they are paying him it isn't enough!