Reviews The Smoke Pit - Northampton

City CentreAmerican££££
Excellent
5.3/6
1,358 Reviews
The Smoke Pit - Northampton Northampton image 1
The Smoke Pit - Northampton Northampton image 2
The Smoke Pit - Northampton Northampton image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

1,358 The Smoke Pit - Northampton Reviews

Read reviews about The Smoke Pit - Northampton here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Smoke Pit - Northampton. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Smoke Pit - Northampton.

Excellent
5.3/6
1,358 Reviews
Food:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Average
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Charlie G.5 days ago · 1 review

Quick & good service, happy staff, food excellent although room felt quite cool on arrival so kept coat on for first 10 minutes of meal.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Carl O.8 days ago · 1 review

Amazing restaurant, despite being super busy the staff and meal was amazing! One of the best places in town thank you so much 😊 Oz

New"Excellent"
6/6
Dean R.9 days ago · 1 review

If you love meat cooked to perfection then this is a must not miss!!!! Another great night out and look forward to my next visit in near future.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Paul M.14 days ago · 2 reviews

Excellent!! great staff and the food is out of this world

"Excellent"
6/6
Anna M.a year ago · 1 review

Well worth a visit to The Smoke Pit, Northampton if you are a meat fan. I can recommend the pulled pork which comes in a bbq sauce and melts in the mouth. I added beer batter onion rings, sweet potato fries and a dessert and was not disappointed. Service was friendly and prompt, although some tables are quite close together. Nice relaxing feel, it really is about the great food. Portions are generous, but never fear as staff are happy to package any leftovers for you to take home. I will definitely be visiting again to try some else on the menu. Hope you enjoy the food as much as we did.

"Great"
5/6
Mike H.a year ago · 1 review

Having been recommended by my granddaughter, I was unsure that The Smoke Pit would be to our taste, but we were soon put at ease by the knowledgable waitress. We had pulled pork and brisket. The lightly pickled vegetable and the different types of fries were excellent. Portions of meat were huge and beat us all. Our only gripe would be that the sauces on both pulled meats were over powerful so that it was difficult to taste what meat it was. Good local beers, but a bit lacking on choice of wine. Sweets were again on the large size but great to eat and nicely presented. The place was nearly full on a Thursday night and the large open room was getting very noisy when we left about nine.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sue C.a year ago · 1 review

First visit for us, food, service and atmosphere was amazing. Staff very accommodating even asking my husband to sample the sauce after ordering to see if he wanted it any hotter. Sufficient time in between courses and food was cooked to perfection. Couldn't manage a sweet as portions ample although doggie bags were available for customers unable to finish but didn't want to see it go to waste. Drinks menu fantastic just a pity we had to drive home otherwise we'd have sampled a few more cocktails. Definitely will be going back and will make a night of it and stay over. Well done The Smoke Pit🐂🐖🐓

"Bad"
2/6
Gareth S.a year ago · 1 review

Table for 2 people, only 6 customers total including us. Waiter took our order quite quickly, only 2 meals to order (pork belly ribs for £13 & a hanger steak for £18), no starter or dessert. Waiter didn't ask how the steak was to be cooked which I found pretty odd. Food took nearly 45 minutes to come out because the hanger steak was taking a long time to do. When it came out it was tiny and cooked medium rare and already cut into smaller pieces. The pork belly ribs were just gristle and fat, very little meat. For the price of each I would have expected a better quality or rib and a bigger cut of steak. Both me and my friend ordered the sweet potato fries which were soggy and had bits of normal potato fries mixed in. The coleslaw tasted like the mayonnaise had gone off. The tobacco onions were were virtually tasteless. I finished my tiny steak but my friend couldn't finish her pork belly as the fat and gristle put her off. I tried hers and it wasn't very nice. We informed the waiter and he knocked £4 off the bill, he also informed us that their batch of pork bellies were a bit fattier than usual which made me wonder why they were still serving them. We were also given a 10% discount card for the next visit but that will never be used as I will never go back. This is only the 2nd time I visited The Smoke Pit and both times have been bad. It's over priced, badly prepared, poorly presented food is not worth giving a third chance. The only reason I'm giving it a 2 instead of a 1 is that the steak was nice even though it was a minuscule portion.

"Great"
5/6
Jo Q.a year ago · 1 review

My partner and I both had Wagyu steak - heard so much about it, just had to try - it was amazing - the last mouthful was just as tender and gorgeous as the first, this is either the 1st or 2nd best steak we have ever had and we are true meat eaters who love steak! loved the sides, bone marrow mash was so tasty, onion "rings" were a very pleasant surprise. The chicken wings were a little too spicy for me to enjoy fully - might have been best to mention on menu. Cocktails were delish (bar the tomato and beef one)! No room for deserts. Staff were very efficient and friendly without being ever-present. If you asked for anything you were served by that person, we weren't referred to just one server. Seating was a little hard though plenty of cushions are supplied, the table we sat at initially seemed a little too wide (we like to hold hands when not eating) however given the food the width is needed. I will definitely be visiting here again, maybe even to try their 32oz! I would have given this the full score, only the chicken wings marked this experience down - and that seems petty, shame there are no half marks. I would definitely recommend going to the Smoke Pit, and indeed have already recommended family and friends.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gavin M.a year ago · 1 review

A very good menu ( lots of choices), we had two Platters, which came in at £40. This is maybe about what you might pay for a sit down Indian meal for two. We couldn't get near finishing it and were blown away by just how lovely everything looked and tasted. Without asking at the end, we were offered to have what was left, put into a bag so we could take it home - we accepted this with childish glee. The service was very attentive without being intrusive ( I am obsessed by poor service and really enjoy service that is well done, this was well done - I have had to deal with the General Public during some of my work-life).The drinks were not over priced ( £7.50 for a pint of Coors Light and a nice bottle of Pale Ale) and there was a good selection whatever your poison is. The room is well set out and well spaced out ( not crammed next to tables either side. A very good experience that I hope to repeat on another occasion..... try it, I doubt you will be disappointed.