Reviews Cossachok

City CentreRussian, International££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
352 Reviews
Cossachok Glasgow image 1
Cossachok Glasgow image 2
Cossachok Glasgow image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

352 Cossachok Reviews

Read reviews about Cossachok here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Cossachok. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Cossachok.

Wonderful
5.5/6
352 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Deborah A.6 hours ago · 1 review

Great decor and wonderful staff and food. Tasty infused vodka.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Lorna B.2 days ago · 1 review

Delicious food! Massive portion sizes and great value for money

New"Excellent"
6/6
Lesley T.10 days ago · 1 review

Lovely lunch, lovely staff. Will certainly be back. Thank you

New"Excellent"
6/6
Christopher L.12 days ago · 5 reviews

Excellent service. Great food,relaxed atmosphere, great choice of drinks/cocktails and friendly staff.

"Good"
4/6
Christine D.2 years ago · 1 review

Bought this as a Groupon deal - starter, main with a shot of vodka. Although hubby and I enjoyed the meal, I can't help shake the feeling that it was more about the novelty of the experience of us getting out. The staff were all pleasant and unobtrusive. There was very little waiting time for our food. The food itself wasn't amazing but something a little different. We both enjoyed the borscht soup starter, which came with rye bread and sour cream. It was quite salty (and I like salty), so any larger portion than what we were served might have been too much for my throat. It was delicious. Hubby ordered the fried ravioli, which had little beef / pork pillows inside. It was a good size serving, drenched in a creamy, cheesy sauce. Definitely stodgy comfort food. I ordered the lamb kebabs, which were moist, delicious and beautifully seasoned. the roast potatoes and salad that accompanied it were bland and underwhelming and not what I would expect a restaurant to serve but they were alright. The ambience is warm and peaceful but it felt a bit cheapened and "pub-like" because of the two giant screens playing a Russian comedy film with the sound off. It would have been a nicer use of this tech to have the sound up a little and playing traditional music or footage of the region. The décor is interesting but they could do with a little more of it spread around the room. I loved the matryoshkas in the window, but once you're seated, you can't see them. Perhaps they could be dotted around the place? My main gripe niggled me throughout the meal and ever since. Basically, the small print on the voucher says "menu is seasonal and subject to change". Fair enough, you think, expecting that to refer to available produce. Nope. it's probably the get-out clause for the A4 sized restricted menu for voucher users. We didn't expect that. While the choice of starters was good, the mains were very limited. I suppose we enjoyed the food, but we wouldn't have minded paying a surcharge for a fuller range. We saw people having lovely skewers of meat taken to their table and we wished we had the choice. Also the drinks menu boasts an impressive range of flavoured vodkas, all the same reasonable price. However, us voucher peasants were only allowed a choice of cranberry (or maybe it was nail polish remover) and plain vodka. That was disappointing as I drooled over the idea of salted caramel vodka and pear vodka. Being on a strict budget, we only ordered a couple of soft drinks in addition to our "allowance" to allow us to leave a fair sized tip. All-in-all, we paid £19 and got £19 worth. No way was it a £37 "deal" as we thought from Groupon. We enjoyed it but not sure we subscribe to the hype about the place. I can't help feeling that's simply a novelty value. By all means, go along (without a voucher), especially if they have live music as their websites state they have from time to time. I expect that makes it an even better dining experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
Patrice G.a year ago · 1 review

My friends and I spent an enjoyable afternoon with Cafe Cossachok yesterday. The food was delicious, the service was perfect and the cost was very reasonable. We had been warned before hand that there had been an issue with their liquor license and I appreciated the warning. We were then able to bring our own wine. There are 3 of us, living in different parts of Scotland who meet occasionally and spend lots of time talking. Many times we begin to feel that we have overstayed our welcome in a restaurant, but that was certainly not the case with Cafe Cossack. All of us are looking forward to returning and also bringing our partners and other friends. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

"Okay"
3/6
Graeme S.3 months ago · 1 review

We had pre-booked Cossachok for dinner to celebrate my partners birthday. We left extremely disappointed at the level of service , poor communication between waiting staff . When we checked in, the waiter informed me that there was no booking under my name for our booked time and I had o show my Quandoo reservation. We order; a starter each of Borscht, with mains of Babushka Blintzes and Moscow Blintzes and we said that we would decide on a dessert later. We were served our mains We informed the waiter that we had each ordered Borscht and said that we would prefer to have our starter before our mains . He apologized and said that the waitress had mixed up the order.We then requested one Kutuzov Cake . I asked if they could present it with a candle as it was my partners birthday. A waitress arrived with the cake - no candle. We ate the 'Breathtaking multi-layered honey cake,,(menu description) which was average . A waiter arrived and quietly apologized for no candle. Again the waitress got the blame. At no point were we asked if we enjoyed our food, we were never offered water and there was no compensation offered for the spoiled birthday meal.

"Excellent"
6/6
Marybell M.2 years ago · 1 review

I visited the cafe Cossachok with a friend on Monday 14th August. We had spent a couple of hours searching out the Billy Connolly murals in the Rain! The Cafe Cossachok was a wonderful discovery, and we spent the rest of the evening sampling a range of delicious food, cocktails and wine at the most reasonable of prices! The portions are enormous, and we struggled to plough our way through smoked salmon blinis and spiced rack of lamb which was cooked to pink perfection. The waitress was charming and knowledgeable, and I'll certainly be back - Glasgow is my favourite city anyway.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynne W.2 years ago · 1 review

My colleague and I had lunch at Cafe Cossachok on a Tuesday. The restaurant is colorfully decorated with iconic Russian fabric and artifacts. We were seated promptly and ordered the potato pancakes and the lamb goulash from the lunch menu. Service was fast and pleasant. The food was delicious, the potato pancakes were delicately fried and crispy, served with sour cream. The lamb goulash was tender and flavorful, served with potatoes. All in all, a very pleasant experience with delicious food, good service, and a lovely atmosphere.

"Excellent"
6/6
Marie R.2 years ago · 1 review

Our first visit to Cafe Cossachok and we were not disappointed. Welcoming and friendly staff and reasonably priced. Excellent selection of dishes with plenty of vegetarian options. The borscht was delicious and our choice of main courses and desserts were full of flavour and well presented. We finished off with a shot of flavoured vodka and a Russian coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal & will definitely be back.