Reviews Canteen & Cocktails - Norton

NortonDrinks, Steak, American, BBQ££££
Excellent
5.2/6
360 Reviews
Canteen & Cocktails - Norton Stockton-on-Tees image 1
Canteen & Cocktails - Norton Stockton-on-Tees image 2
Canteen & Cocktails - Norton Stockton-on-Tees image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

360 Canteen & Cocktails - Norton Reviews

Read reviews about Canteen & Cocktails - Norton here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Canteen & Cocktails - Norton. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Canteen & Cocktails - Norton.

Excellent
5.2/6
360 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Sophie C.2 days ago · 7 reviews

Great time for a family birthday big table with lots of food choice

New"Excellent"
6/6
Abbie D.6 days ago · 1 review

amazing, the staff are so helpful and lovely to talk to! wish i took the name of one of them as she was so helpful on the tequila front hah!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Howard M.12 days ago · 1 review

Really good atmosphere.Great food ,excellent Professional staff really enjoyed the afternoon.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Rebecca H.12 days ago · 2 reviews

Amazing from start to finish. Having dropped off some decorations the staff took care of inflating balloons and setting up in a perfect area for us. The staff could not of been more helpful and made a gathering of bridesmaids very happy. We actually followed this visit by going to another local Norton bar and did not receive any where near the customer service. Canteen is definitely somewhere to head for first class service and quality for food and drink.

"Okay"
3/6
Yvonne L.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was great, however not exactly budget cost. The food came out within 10/15 minutes and was nice and hot. I had the "smoker" beef brisket. Ive had it before and it was just as good this time. It came out on a wooden platter this time and this serving option was clearly too big for the sliver of table we had between us, i worried the platter would end up on my lap at least once. I also ordered fries (you have to order fries/salad etc as a side or extra otherwise its just meat on a plate) which whilst the chips tasted really good were tiny and extremely thin. I could not use my fork to eat them as they broke when i tried. All in all the service was good, even though they were extremely busy and had a large party covering over three tables celebrating too. The open plan makes an intimate or romantic meal a "no go" for here but we were ok in the corner. Though we later shared our table with other diners, so it was a social rather than intimate dinning experience. The staff came over frequently to check we were happy and our drinks continual and the service and chat was great.... Until it came to paying.. The waitress, as polite and extremely pleasant as she was, couldnt get a signal with the pay machine.. After a painful 12 minutes of constantly replacing my card in the machine, me adding my pin, then me waiting for it back she eventually wandered off, with my card(!), for a further 15 minutes out of sight. She finally returned to say she had had to completely restart the pay machine.. I have never had my card taken and worse still, be out of sight, post pin entry, with no conversation to offer my card back first! I was not happy and the communication re this, it was bad. I did feel for the staff though as the technology they are expected to use is clearly not up to the volume of service or standard of business they portray. Shame as i really enjoyed my meat and the drinks. If i do go again at some point later this year ill be taking cash and going during the day. Last time i was a lunch visitor and had a much better experience.

"Bad"
2/6
Kevin W.2 years ago · 1 review

Firstly this was a very busy Saturday night in the lead up to Christmas so this was also my mistake and I accept within reason some of the error in going out this night for a meal. I booked the reservation with this site for 8pm on a Saturday night. It was easy to do, quick and confirmed within minutes. I've been to the bar/restaurant before however midweek with friends and it was brilliant. On this night however it was not. I was also speaking to a friend and they had a similar experience but it was a few months ago. Anyway, the greeting was fine. We were shown to our table and that was the first problem. It was directly in front of the doorway blowing in the fresh December air but also people surrounded it either standing drinking or sitting drinking (without eating). I don't mean standing at the bar, I mean directly around the table(s) - we weren't the only ones suffering this. I asked to move but no other seating was available which is fair enough. We bared through it and the food was exceptional as it was the time before. I had the beef brisket burger and the mrs had a form of chicken burger. For info sides such as chips/fries are extra - it didn't bother me but might to some. Awesome and would highly recommend. The service was prompt for the night and we had table service for drinks. Any other night it would of been great ratings but given our and my friends experience, I'd be reluctant to go on a weekend again. I'd stick to TGI Fridays.

"Okay"
3/6
Stacey M.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was very nice but service let it down alot. I have emailed a complaint aswell since our reservation on the 29th July but no reply to date. We had finished our meal and we're enjoying another drink when a waitress dropped a dish of sauce behind us. This went all over my husbands white shirt and down my leg. The staff just cleaned the floor and ignored us so I had to get tissues out of my bag and my husband had to go the the bathroom and try and clean it off his shirt!! A simple apology and the offer of something to clean ourselves with would of been helpful instead of just looking at us and they walking with embarrassment. I was going to complain why we were there but didn't want you spoil our night and to be honest one member of staff who was always walking around looking at the tables etc didnt even crack a smile the whole time we were there so I doubt I would of got much help from her anyway.

"Okay"
3/6
Robbie D.5 months ago · 1 review

First time eating here for Sunday lunch, very poor service. We waited over 15 minutes for our order of food or drinks to be taken despite having the menus closed and to one side all while the restaurant was quite empty and staff walked past us. Once food arrived, it tasted great although they where a little tight on the servings, half a cup of gravy between two people isn’t enough and the amount of food was short compared to the photos advertising it on the menus etc. No member of staff came over to ask how our food was or if we needed anything during our meal, only when we hadn’t finished and they came to clear up. We didn’t bother staying for desert and once we had the bill waited over 10 minutes for a member of staff to come over and process the payment. In the end we got up and went to the bar on the way out.

"Great"
5/6
Lynsey W.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Sunday lunch was absolutely delicious! Desserts were OK but not as good by comparison, plus we requested an alternative ice cream to go with one but were given the standard. Food was brought out quickly and staff were attentive and friendly and gave lots of attention to our little boy. One area that maybe needs a little more care from staff - the highchairs attach directly to the table and the waiting staff then put our very hot food down directly in front of our toddler who could easily have pulled it onto himself.

"Excellent"
6/6
Abbi H.2 months ago · 1 review

We came here last night for a meal and drinks and had such a lovely time; I unfortunately can’t drink due to a health issue and our waitress was amazing making me different mocktails she really looked after us! I didn’t catch her name but she was little, dark haired with glasses; she was so lovely and deserves recognition for her caring nature! The food was also lovely and we had a really nice time! Thanks so much!