Reviews Checkpoint

Excellent
4.9/6
148 Reviews
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 1
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 2
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

148 Checkpoint Reviews

Read reviews about Checkpoint here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Checkpoint. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Checkpoint.

Excellent
4.9/6
148 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Naomi L.14 days ago · 2 reviews

Very good food and really great atmosphere for New Year’s Eve. Great way to start the celebrations. Staff all very friendly and happy to help.

"Excellent"
6/6
Daley C.16 days ago · 1 review

Really relaxed vibe, nice unpretentious interior, good music selection, friendly attentive staff and the food was lovely. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Edinburgh or living locally

"Excellent"
6/6
Alison C.a month ago · 3 reviews

Great service, fab food and really reasonably priced. We had burgers, chicken miso bowl, Buddha bowl and all were full of flavour and well presented.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gabriele B.a month ago · 1 review

Very good service :) The atmosphere and very immpressive menu of food and drinks made my birthday Sunday brunch very special. My friends enjoyed it too

"Great"
5/6
Nathalia M.a year ago · 1 review

Had a great experience at Checkpoint. Went on a Sunday evening for a relaxed girls night out at around 6:30, the place was quiet and we got a table by the main window. Service was quick and the girl serving us was extremely patient and nice. We had the house white wine which was OK (not expecting much for the price) and shared the mussels with chips with my friend. Our portion was big enough for two and one of my friend's starter was more like a main (laksa noodles I think), so ask before you order :) A great experience overall, would recommend it.

"Okay"
3/6
Nick L.a year ago · 1 review

Checkpoint is currently struggling with new kitchen staff. We were warned the food would take a long time to arrive and the restaurant was far from full. The waiting staff were not wrong. The sea bass and cod dishes were good and the flat iron steaks OK but the chips need some serious work. Supposedly three times cooked, they were huge - more like quarter potatoes than chips - and completely failed to achieve the light fluffiness inside and crispiness outside that normally comes with such a pampered foodstuff. The main course bowl of chickpea and squash was also huge and so heavily spiced it ended up being bland and an insurmountable trial to eat. The staff were pleasant and did provide an on the house drink when one of the mains didn't appear until five minutes after everyone else's. It could be a really nice place to eat and probably was, but at the moment it's very hard to rate highly.

"Great"
5/6
Patricia C.a year ago · 1 review

Checkpoint is a really good choice for food in Edinburgh. We go there often with my colleagues because one of us is gluten intolerant and they have a good choice of gluten free dishes. Only thing is that, maybe, it can be a wee bit dark. I get the whole point of candle-lit dinners but I also appreciate seeing my food.

"Great"
5/6
Catriona C.10 months ago · 6 reviews

We went at lunch time on a Sunday and had food from their brunch menu. The food was great, really enjoyed it and the location is ideal. However, the only downside was the time it took to get the staffs attention. It took 30 minutes before the waitress had even taken our order, she seemed nice and polite enough, but it just made the lunch so much longer than needed, especially at a weekend lunch time when it's busy, I would have thought that they would have wanted to turn the tables over more quickly. After asking for the bill it took 15-20 minutes before we received it and that was only because I had to ask someone else.

New"Okay"
3/6
Dana M.13 days ago · 1 review

This is a place with a lovely atmosphere. However for 2 of the 4 people it was a disappointment. Firstly, although the staff are nice, the service is really slow. We had read this in previous reviews so thought, that’s cool we’ll fill the gap with bread & olives, sadly these came along with the main meals which defeated the purpose. So I ordered the Buddah Bowl, this was fine but I was surprised it was a salad bowl as it didn’t say on the menu & was listed in a different section from the salads, I presumed the veggies would be warm. My daughter wanted the chicken miso which was unavailable so opted for the hake & loved it. My husband & son both went for burgers but couldn’t eat them as the flavour was not good, and they aren’t that fussy! The chips made up for it though, they are amazing! So basically my daughter & I would perhaps go back but the boys wouldn’t.

"Excellent"
6/6
Teresa I.a year ago · 12 reviews

The restaurant was really busy (during the Festivals which is to be expected) even when we arrived just before noon but the wait staff were really friendly and kept us informed about the delay in ordering and checked on us many times. Food did not take too long in the end and was delicious as usual. Really friendly and attentive staff thanks so much and good luck during the rest of August! :)