Reviews Checkpoint

Old TownCaf飣££
Excellent
4.9/6
132 Reviews
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 1
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 2
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

132 Checkpoint Reviews

Read reviews about Checkpoint here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Checkpoint. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Checkpoint.

Excellent
4.9/6
132 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Good value
Food:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Cathryn P.22 days ago · 2 reviews

Lovely food and good service. had lunch here with my partner and had no complaints whatsoever. The service was really attentive and the food was really tasty.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen A.a month ago · 1 review

LOVED Checkpoint and would definitely recommend to people. Great atmosphere, delicious and varied menu and good service. Plus v reasonable in terms of price. Definitely book ahead as it was full when we arrived!

"Excellent"
6/6
Vanisha M.a month ago · 1 review

Great service and choice of menu. Food was delicious and well presented (highly recommend the veggie full breakfast!). Lovely start to the day in Edinburgh!

"Excellent"
6/6
ANNA M.a month ago · 5 reviews

We went for an early lunch before a festival show at Bristo Square. Menu options were good for either breakfast or lunch. We had pork/lamb wrap with sweet potato fries and a delicious salad with pickled strawberries, fennel and feta. Food and service were fab as was the bloody mary. would definitely return.

"Great"
5/6
Nathalia M.a year ago · 1 review

Had a great experience at Checkpoint. Went on a Sunday evening for a relaxed girls night out at around 6:30, the place was quiet and we got a table by the main window. Service was quick and the girl serving us was extremely patient and nice. We had the house white wine which was OK (not expecting much for the price) and shared the mussels with chips with my friend. Our portion was big enough for two and one of my friend's starter was more like a main (laksa noodles I think), so ask before you order :) A great experience overall, would recommend it.

"Okay"
3/6
Nick L.a year ago · 1 review

Checkpoint is currently struggling with new kitchen staff. We were warned the food would take a long time to arrive and the restaurant was far from full. The waiting staff were not wrong. The sea bass and cod dishes were good and the flat iron steaks OK but the chips need some serious work. Supposedly three times cooked, they were huge - more like quarter potatoes than chips - and completely failed to achieve the light fluffiness inside and crispiness outside that normally comes with such a pampered foodstuff. The main course bowl of chickpea and squash was also huge and so heavily spiced it ended up being bland and an insurmountable trial to eat. The staff were pleasant and did provide an on the house drink when one of the mains didn't appear until five minutes after everyone else's. It could be a really nice place to eat and probably was, but at the moment it's very hard to rate highly.

"Great"
5/6
Patricia C.9 months ago · 1 review

Checkpoint is a really good choice for food in Edinburgh. We go there often with my colleagues because one of us is gluten intolerant and they have a good choice of gluten free dishes. Only thing is that, maybe, it can be a wee bit dark. I get the whole point of candle-lit dinners but I also appreciate seeing my food.

"Great"
5/6
Catriona C.6 months ago · 6 reviews

We went at lunch time on a Sunday and had food from their brunch menu. The food was great, really enjoyed it and the location is ideal. However, the only downside was the time it took to get the staffs attention. It took 30 minutes before the waitress had even taken our order, she seemed nice and polite enough, but it just made the lunch so much longer than needed, especially at a weekend lunch time when it's busy, I would have thought that they would have wanted to turn the tables over more quickly. After asking for the bill it took 15-20 minutes before we received it and that was only because I had to ask someone else.

"Excellent"
6/6
Teresa I.a year ago · 12 reviews

The restaurant was really busy (during the Festivals which is to be expected) even when we arrived just before noon but the wait staff were really friendly and kept us informed about the delay in ordering and checked on us many times. Food did not take too long in the end and was delicious as usual. Really friendly and attentive staff thanks so much and good luck during the rest of August! :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew D.a year ago · 1 review

This was my first time at Checkpoint and it was so good I went back twice in one day. Great service and excellent food. Highly recommended for either brunch or dinner or even just a coffee.