Reviews Checkpoint

Excellent
5.0/6
168 Reviews
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 1
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 2
Checkpoint Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

168 Checkpoint Reviews

Read reviews about Checkpoint here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Checkpoint. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Checkpoint.

Excellent
5.0/6
168 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Sara C.2 days ago · 1 review

The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and smiley! We reall enjoyed our visit,if one tiny complaint it was a bit dark for us ....but we are in o

"Excellent"
6/6
Ian S.17 days ago · 6 reviews

I love this place. Regularly have brunch/coffee meetings there and would always recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tammi C.a month ago · 1 review

Lots of lovely healthy hot and cold, delicious breakfast and lunch choices- and a lovely bucks fizz to top it all- will definitely go again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Alison C.a month ago · 4 reviews

Great service and excellent food to share with friends. Not had any dessert. Mains and starters lovely!

"Great"
5/6
Nathalia M.a year ago · 1 review

Had a great experience at Checkpoint. Went on a Sunday evening for a relaxed girls night out at around 6:30, the place was quiet and we got a table by the main window. Service was quick and the girl serving us was extremely patient and nice. We had the house white wine which was OK (not expecting much for the price) and shared the mussels with chips with my friend. Our portion was big enough for two and one of my friend's starter was more like a main (laksa noodles I think), so ask before you order :) A great experience overall, would recommend it.

"Okay"
3/6
Nick L.a year ago · 1 review

Checkpoint is currently struggling with new kitchen staff. We were warned the food would take a long time to arrive and the restaurant was far from full. The waiting staff were not wrong. The sea bass and cod dishes were good and the flat iron steaks OK but the chips need some serious work. Supposedly three times cooked, they were huge - more like quarter potatoes than chips - and completely failed to achieve the light fluffiness inside and crispiness outside that normally comes with such a pampered foodstuff. The main course bowl of chickpea and squash was also huge and so heavily spiced it ended up being bland and an insurmountable trial to eat. The staff were pleasant and did provide an on the house drink when one of the mains didn't appear until five minutes after everyone else's. It could be a really nice place to eat and probably was, but at the moment it's very hard to rate highly.

"Great"
5/6
Patricia C.a year ago · 1 review

Checkpoint is a really good choice for food in Edinburgh. We go there often with my colleagues because one of us is gluten intolerant and they have a good choice of gluten free dishes. Only thing is that, maybe, it can be a wee bit dark. I get the whole point of candle-lit dinners but I also appreciate seeing my food.

"Great"
5/6
Catriona C.a year ago · 6 reviews

We went at lunch time on a Sunday and had food from their brunch menu. The food was great, really enjoyed it and the location is ideal. However, the only downside was the time it took to get the staffs attention. It took 30 minutes before the waitress had even taken our order, she seemed nice and polite enough, but it just made the lunch so much longer than needed, especially at a weekend lunch time when it's busy, I would have thought that they would have wanted to turn the tables over more quickly. After asking for the bill it took 15-20 minutes before we received it and that was only because I had to ask someone else.

"Okay"
3/6
Dana M.3 months ago · 1 review

This is a place with a lovely atmosphere. However for 2 of the 4 people it was a disappointment. Firstly, although the staff are nice, the service is really slow. We had read this in previous reviews so thought, that’s cool we’ll fill the gap with bread & olives, sadly these came along with the main meals which defeated the purpose. So I ordered the Buddah Bowl, this was fine but I was surprised it was a salad bowl as it didn’t say on the menu & was listed in a different section from the salads, I presumed the veggies would be warm. My daughter wanted the chicken miso which was unavailable so opted for the hake & loved it. My husband & son both went for burgers but couldn’t eat them as the flavour was not good, and they aren’t that fussy! The chips made up for it though, they are amazing! So basically my daughter & I would perhaps go back but the boys wouldn’t.

"Excellent"
6/6
Eilidh S.2 months ago · 2 reviews

Went to Checkpoint for lunch on a Wednesday afternoon. Food was delicious and a great selection of options! Service was timely and polite. Only criticism is that the music was just a wee bit too loud. I'll definitely be back