Reviews Côte Newcastle

Princess SquareFrench, European££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
634 Reviews
Côte Newcastle Newcastle image 1
Côte Newcastle Newcastle image 2
Côte Newcastle Newcastle image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

634 Côte Newcastle Reviews

Read reviews about Côte Newcastle here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Côte Newcastle. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Côte Newcastle.

Wonderful
5.5/6
634 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Carl M.37 minutes ago · 1 review

Service, quality and ambience excellent. We have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions and continue to return because of the consistently high standards.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Bruce E.11 hours ago · 1 review

An excellent experience as always. We had great food and very nice wine. Friendly and efficient service. Thank you for a lovely evening. See you again soon.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Alan D.a day ago · 12 reviews

Cote Newcastle never fails to impress. Staff hospitality is of the highest quality and the cuisine top notch. Guide Dog Katie loves the attention and the attention from a special member of staff. Thank you all, we’ll be back soon.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Yvonne M.2 days ago · 1 review

First visit and very impressed. Food was elegant and tasty with the emphasis on flavour. All in a relaxed setting with good service. Merci beaucoup!

"Excellent"
6/6
Tim G.a year ago · 4 reviews

This branch of Côte opened in late 2017. The standard is the same as other branches of Côte (their main presence is in the south of England). The decor is "generic bistro" — restrained, pleasing, and mercifully free of retro ads for Orangina or prints of Robert Doisneau photos. The service is attentive, efficient and friendly without being over-familiar. Customers are not addressed as "you guys" here. The menu consists of French bistro classics and is perfectly executed. Whoever the chef is, he (or she) clearly understands his Escoffier without imagining that he is Escoffier redivivus. The à la carte menus is reasonably priced, while the prix fixe (before 7pm) is a bargain. The wine list, too, is pretty much all French (as one would expect) but offers a choice of decent bottles around the £20 mark — something which is unusual in other "mid-range" eateries. Several wines (about half a dozen of each, red and white, I think) are also offered by the glass. One member of our party avoids gluten *and* dairy, and a gluten-free menu meant he had plenty of choice. Even swapping ice-cream for sorbet was no problem. It isn't a problem, of course, yet that's the sort of request that in other places might result in to-and-fro with the kitchen. At the end of the day, it's a chain. It's never going to win any Michelin stars. But on the other hand, you're unlikely to come away feeling you've been fleeced, and you will always leave having dined well.

"Great"
5/6
Rachel C.10 months ago · 2 reviews

Compared to our last (& first) visit (when each course was too salty - we received a 50pd voucher from the restaurant manager as compensation, which we used for this occasion), the food was excellent - not too salty, tasty & nicely presented. The only one complaint was that we were surprised to be told that the sparkling rose we had ordered at the start, had to be put in a fridge to cool it down before the waiter could bring it to us! Why wasn't this already in a fridge? Surely all sparkling wine,, rose & white would be stored in a fridge before customers order any? The waiter did, however, bring us each a complimentary Kir Royale. Although having the sparkling rose to start with would have been preferred, then I would have switched to a red wine for my main course (the other 2 guests had ordered a bottle of white wine to share with the main course). So in the end I had the Kir Royale & the sparkling rose, rather than sparkling rose then red wine, which would have been my choice. Hopefully, if we were to choose to dine here again, the service of drinks would be better prepared. Otherwise this occasion was a better experience than our last one.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynn W.19 days ago · 1 review

This was my sister's second visit to Côte and it was at her recommendation that we decided to take advantage of the Mothers Day lunch offer and bring our Mother along for a treat. The menu offered enough variety to satisfy all three of us and the portions were just right for a light lunch. The food arrived promptly after ordering and everything was beautifully presented and delicious. There was a lovely atmosphere with music not too intrusive and a buzz of relaxed conversation and, even though it was very busy, the seating was arranged in such a way as to give a feeling of space and privacy. The staff were friendly as we arrived and everything seemed to run like clockwork. A quick look around the room suggested everyone else was having a similarly lovely experience. I would certainly go there again and will not hesitate to recommend it to friends for a quality, without being stuffy, dining experience. Thank you Côte!

"Excellent"
6/6
Elaine R.a year ago · 3 reviews

If you like to be able to talk while you eat, the staff to be attentive but not obtrusive and more importantly the food to be well presented and taste delicious then I recommend you eat at Cote Brasserie. My sister and I chose to eat from the Prestige set menu and weren’t disappointed. For starters we chose baked cheese and calamari then both had rib eye and tomato salad for main completing the meal with ice cream and warm chocolate sauce and my sister creme caramel. Each course was well presented and tasted amazing. The staff allowed enough time between courses and everything was delivered and cleared with the minimum of fuss. Staff didn’t hover but always seemed to be on hand when needed and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend others to book and we will be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Elaine R.a year ago · 3 reviews

A brilliant experience from the moment we were greeted and seated to the moment we left. The staff were courteous and attentive without being obtrusive and the food was amazing. We opted for the prestige set menu which at £19 for 3 courses was excellent value and provided a wide choice of options. I opted for the naked goats cheese followed by the rib eye with tomato salad and completed by the ice-cream with warm chocolate sauce . My sister also had the steak but started with the calamari and ended with the creme caramel. Each course was well cooked and well presented and more importantly tasted as good as it looked. We will definitely be back.

"Great"
5/6
Steven R.2 months ago · 1 review

An interesting and diverse menu, including a good value prix fixe (although we chose from the a la carte, as one of the February specials was swordfish steak). Very good food quality and presentation, discreet and friendly service, comfortable ambience, well matched wine list, including by the glass. It wouldn't do any harm to offer 125ml glasses in addition to the 175ml and 250ml volumes. Our only negative is the inclusion in the bill of an optional 12.5% gratuity. Regrettably this is a very common tactic by restaurants these days and you need to be quite a robust personality to challenge it. The bill did not mention this sum being shared amongst the workforce, so one suspects this is simply a profit booster that requires no effort by management. It takes the shine off an otherwise very pleasant dining experience.