Reviews Red Onion

City CentreGourmet, Scottish££££
Excellent
5.4/6
987 Reviews
Red Onion Glasgow image 1
Red Onion Glasgow image 2
Red Onion Glasgow image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

987 Red Onion Reviews

Read reviews about Red Onion here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Red Onion. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Red Onion.

Excellent
5.4/6
987 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Anne C.4 days ago · 5 reviews

The ‘girls’ and I eat here regularly - every couple of months when we get together. The food never disappoints and the service is excellent. The staff are professional and we never feel rushed. Most of all, it’s exceptionally good value for money.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Dallas H.6 days ago · 1 review

My sister is coeliac and therefore can't tolerate gluten, Red Onion have a separate gluten free menu so there was no worry about her getting sick. The food was amazing we both enjoyed our meals, the Duck was so tender as was the steak, the staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back and have already recommended the restaurant to people.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Heather A.8 days ago · 3 reviews

As ever, a visit to Red Onion does not disappoint. The pre-theatre menu is excellent value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed the perfectly cooked steak frites.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Maureen H.9 days ago · 1 review

Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Food great also caters for vegetarians and vegans. Varied menu at reasonable prices. Attentive staff and space between each course just right.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen B.a year ago · 1 review

We visited Red Onion, wanting a nice meal a quiet table - no intrusive background music - so we could hear each other talk, as we were having an informal meeting of our work team. It ticked all those boxes, even though it was quite busy, being a Thursday evening. One of the party is Vegan, and she was very pleased with the choices on that menu. Another received good advice on how to order the steak and it was cooked just the way she wanted it. The fishcake was very filling with lots of fish and not over-potatoey. My wild mushroom risotto was very tasty and just the right amount. The puddings were great. We went for the fruit crumble, banana fritters and I can vouch for the ice-cream with salted caramel sauce which was more than moreish. The bottle of Prosecco was favourably priced compared to other restaurants and bars. Waitress was helpful without being overly-attentive (meaning not constantly checking if we were enjoying the food, etc, which can be irritating) Altogether a very pleasant evening in terms of food, ambience and the two-course pre-theatre menu is great value for money. We'll be back !

"Excellent"
6/6
Roberta M.a year ago · 1 review

We really enjoyed our meal at the Red Onion. Great choice on the menu. All three courses were all we could have asked for. I normally only ever have two courses, but decided to have three, as did my two friends, and we were glad that we did. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. Great value for money and each of us would be happy to recommend the Red Onion to friends and family and would visit again. Cannot really think of anything negative to say about the food or service. The only criticism would be that the tired toilets let it down. Definately not the same standard as the food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen S.a year ago · 1 review

This was my second visit to Red Onion and it didn't disappoint. Nice ambience and excellent food. We booked Red Onion as we were taking another couple out to dinner and my husband and myself had both been to Red Onion before on separate occassions and we both thoroughly enjoyed the food so we thought this wood be a good choice, and we were right. Our friends really liked the venue and enjoyed the food, will definitely be back.

"Great"
5/6
Karen S.a year ago · 1 review

The fact that the Red Onion actually has a separate vegan menu with choice is amazing. A chef that can take the time to make good vegan food in a nice environment in Glasgow is a novelty. We are older Vegans and like to eat out in a nice places, the combination is often hard to find in Glasgow. You can get good vegan food but its usually pub grub and this is okay but sometimes you just want an up market feel to your night out. I am a Chef and Nutritional therapist and very picky about what I eat, so enjoying a meal out can be a challenge. So well done Red Onion on offering a better service.

"Great"
5/6
Stuart P.a year ago · 1 review

The Red Onion never disappoints, the quality of the food is outstanding and choosing from the fixed price menu makes it a very affordable option for a late lunch or a pre-theatre meal. We have been occasional customers at the Red Onion for several years now and the meal and service are always first class. Quite often chef/owner John Quigley comes round the tables to chat to the diners, a lovely, personal touch. I would recommend the Red Onion to anyone looking for unpretentious, good food and friendly hospitality.

"Excellent"
6/6
Bruce M.a year ago · 1 review

This was my fifth visit to The Red Onion - previously, once as a work lunchtime outing and three times with my partner and other couples. As always, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. On this occasion we took my partner's parents as part of a Christmas outing to the theatre and they were extremely impressed with the venue and loved their menu choices. It is very refreshing to enjoy good food in such nice surroundings while being looked after by attentive and efficient staff and to be charged a reasonable tariff. We all agreed that dinner for four (2x3 courses and 2x2 courses), including a bottle of wine and soft drinks for under a hundred pounds in a quality, city centre restaurant was impeccable value - and we got parked at the door. Looking forward to our next visit soon.