Reviews The Fat Bear London

City of LondonAmerican££££
Excellent
5.3/6
155 Reviews
The Fat Bear London London image 1
The Fat Bear London London image 2
The Fat Bear London London image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

155 The Fat Bear London Reviews

Read reviews about The Fat Bear London here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Fat Bear London. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Fat Bear London.

Excellent
5.3/6
155 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Tony K.6 months ago · 1 review

One of our regular favourites in the City: genuine South Carolina cuisine, with high quality cooking, carefully chosen wines and friendly service. The gumbo in particular is the best I've had anywhere.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lucy G.6 months ago · 1 review

A lovely date spot tucked away. Wasn't sure what to expect but it was a lovely evening. Lovely option for set menu to try everything. Overall a great environment, service and food would definitely recommend!

"Excellent"
6/6
Siobhan W.6 months ago · 1 review

If you like delicious flavoured food, hot sauce and the best Oreo cheesecake you’ve ever tasted....I’d recommend you go here! Been twice now & absolutely love it!

"Excellent"
6/6
Aanya M.7 months ago · 7 reviews

Fantastic meal again at the fat bear and great service. The vegan gumbo was delicious and finished off with the cornflake ice cream from ice cream union - excellent.

"Excellent"
6/6
Matthew J.a year ago · 1 review

The Fat Bear is a funky, fabulous find. Situated a stone's throw from St Paul's Cathedral above a pub, the small dining room feels intimate without being cramped. The staff are friendly, and willing to help - my dining partner has dairy allergies, and our server was more than happy to go talk to the chef to get recommendations on what would suit her. Drinks are good - a fantastic selection of spirits and cocktails. We didn't look at the wine list, but if beer is what floats your boat, then they have a choice of Brew Dog Kingpin Lager or Punk IPA - both excellent beverages. The server brought iced water to the table without being asked as well, which was a pleasant surprise. Food though is what this place is all about. They specialise in American soul food, and the menu left me drooling and struggling to choose. In the end, I selected the gumbo, which was superb - very tasty, full of generous amounts of sausage, chicken and prawn, with a nice, gentle spice level (no need for copious amounts of milk or iced water to soothe the burn!) with a side of cornbread. The cornbread is baked to order, so takes around 15 minutes, but was delicious and worth the wait. I also plumped for the fried pickles, which was a portion big enough for at least two, but still nicely moist in the centre (i.e. not deep-fried to oblivion). My dining partner went for the brisket, which was also a generous portion, and very tasty, just falling apart. The bill overall was very reasonable - just over £30 each including a gin and tonic each, so quite reasonable for Central London. All in all, an excellent dining experience, and one I hope to repeat in the future - I have my eye firmly on the jambalaya next time!

"Great"
5/6
Stuart D.a year ago · 1 review

Catches you off guard as you enter via the side of a busy City pub, decor was classic and smart, the food was simple - but restaurants can be quite excellent when focusing on the simple things and doing it well, and that is exactly what happens at The Fat Bear. The buffalo wings were faultless, the best I’ve had. The chicken sandwich boasted the biggest piece of fried chicken I had ever seen, despite its size it was tender throughout, accompanied with perfectly cooked fries. As my guest added, when your main course was excellent, you felt compelled to taste one of the puddings, and the Oreo cheesecake was an absolute dream. Excellent restaurant in an area full of not so great restaurants.

"Great"
5/6
Ryan B.7 months ago · 1 review

Really enjoyable meal. Authentic US grub freshly made and served. The family menu for 3+ groups is fantastic value, you certainly won't go home feeling hungry. The cocktails also have that authentic feel and the list draws you in to want to try a few of them. I would say they looked a bit small when they arrived but they tasted great and packed a punch. My only complaints would be the room and the table/chairs. If you hadn't booked and were passing by and looked in, you'd probably keep walking. The table and chairs are too small (especially given the great spread of food you get) and not particularly comfortable. Overall great evening and definitely return again soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nicola R.a year ago · 1 review

What a fantastic find! The ambience and atmosphere is so enjoyable, you feel like you are in the deep south of USA in someone's living room! It was our first visit and hopefully the first of many, we live in the north west of UK but on our next visit we have said we will definitely be visiting The Fat Bear. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had Gumbo, corndogs, seafood jambalaya and chicken & waffles - Wow!! Make sure you go here on your next visit!! Thank you so much for making our visit so enjoyable!

"Great"
5/6
Meera R.7 months ago · 1 review

We had a really great time at Fat Bear last night. I didn’t like my cocktail so the waitress took it back and made another with what I liked which is great service. The food was really good too! Some of us had the set menu which was really generous for the price. Oreo cheesecake to die for (if you have room for dessert). Chicken wings and tenders were good. Fried chicken and waffles were recommended as well as the fried chicken sandwich. All in all a great experience and we will be back! Really impressed with the service too; attentive and accommodating without being too in your face.

"Great"
5/6
Kush R.2 years ago · 2 reviews

I really liked the decor and location, something a bit different. I dropped a mark because I thought the gumbo was a tad bland , with a bit of extra kick it would have been much better. Wings and chicken tenders were very good but with such high competition in London , I wouldn't say they were outstanding. Courgette fries were really delicious, as was the Oreo cheesecake desert. Plenty of other dishes I saw people around me having that looked really great and the drink selection was good. Overall a solid place , worth a visit.