Reviews The Fig Tree - Penarth

PenarthBritish, Seafood, Steak, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
150 Reviews
The Fig Tree - Penarth Cardiff image 1
The Fig Tree - Penarth Cardiff image 2
The Fig Tree - Penarth Cardiff image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

150 The Fig Tree - Penarth Reviews

Read reviews about The Fig Tree - Penarth here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Fig Tree - Penarth. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Fig Tree - Penarth.

Excellent
5.3/6
150 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Elizabeth B.8 days ago · 1 review

great Sunday lunch, interesting wine list, attentive service, great location

New"Excellent"
6/6
Adrian L.9 days ago · 1 review

Great food, great location, great service. Bwyd, lleoliad, gwasanaeth - gwych!

"Excellent"
6/6
Janice D.14 days ago · 1 review

Excellent food in an attractive setting and very attentive staff

"Excellent"
6/6
Rachael W.a month ago · 1 review

We had a really lovely meal and the service was excellent

"Great"
5/6
Deborah L.2 years ago · 1 review

The Fig Tree is a favourite. We visited again for an early evening spring dinner with overseas visitors. The location opposite Penarth pier is fantastic. We had a warm welcome and, as usual, an interesting menu with locally sourced ingredients. My only problem is that I ate too much! As so often happens, we were left sitting quite a long time waiting for our bill when we were really ready to go.

"Great"
5/6
Lee C.a year ago · 1 review

A family-run restaurant, the Fig Tree is a quirky, friendly restaurant with excellent food, a good wine list and great views over the Bristol Channel from its location high up on Penarth Esplanade. I had the braised lamb shoulder and it was very good. The seating is tiered inside, so people at the rear of the restaurant can see over those in the front and still have a view of the sea and on warmer days the outside seating is popular and covered against the occasional shower of rain. Booking is usually necessary. The restaurant has wifi but why on ear they would anyone want to be sending emails while in such a delightful place.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter L.5 months ago · 1 review

So nice to arrive to find a large table set for two waiting for us. Small touch bet the tone for a lovely meal. Staff were attentive but relaxed. Food was exceptional, (scallops, lamb and poached pear) in presentation, taste, freshness and tamping hot. The atmosphere in the restaurant was so pleasant- from romantic to a family with a toddler (exceptionally well behaved and I am sure appreciating the homely atmosphere). The only comment we could think of - bigger napkins, everything else just right. Will return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pat D.8 months ago · 8 reviews

Beautiful restaurant on the promenade at Penarth. Delicious food served by delightful staff. This restaurant never disappoints us and always book it whenever we are staying in Cardiff. I had lovely Gower Mussels to start followed by pan fried Hake served with summer vegetables. My husband had the Pork Belly and my daughter and partner had shoulder of Welsh Lamb, all meals enjoyed by all. Highly recommend this little gem.

"Good"
4/6
Wendy G.9 months ago · 1 review

The food was really good, but the service was poor. There were long waits at all the stages: for our initial drinks, for the menu, to give our order, for our food to arrive. We then waited at least 10 minutes for our plates to be cleared. The thought of waiting any longer by having deserts was too much and even so we waited for the bill and yet again to pay. We were told that there was a new chef and that they were understaffed that evening, but even so.... I did leave a tip, because I always feel for the waiting staff.

"Great"
5/6
Donald P.2 years ago · 1 review

My wife and I dined inside the restaurant, which was surprisingly busy for a Wednesday with a large birthday party in full swing. The food was faultless with a good house wine and the service attentive. No little biscuit or mint with the coffee though the coffee was excellent. Every table in this restaurant has a view of the sea, the promenade and the pier, all of which is a splendid sight. All in all a superb experience which I can thoroughly recommend.