Reviews The Hinds Head

Charnock RichardBritish, European££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
381 Reviews
The Hinds Head Chorley image 1
The Hinds Head Chorley image 2
The Hinds Head Chorley image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

381 The Hinds Head Reviews

Read reviews about The Hinds Head here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Hinds Head. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Hinds Head.

Wonderful
5.5/6
381 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Great value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Karen C.9 days ago · 1 review

Gorgeous food and great staff. Lovely inside too and great views out the back of the pub

New"Excellent"
6/6
Tracey B.12 days ago · 1 review

Great restaurant. Food excellent. Advise to book before as it gets busy.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Paul D.13 days ago · 10 reviews

Back within the week - with friends this time - we enjoyed a great meal - served with a smile - plenty of food - at reasonable prices - great visit :-)

New"Excellent"
6/6
Paul D.13 days ago · 10 reviews

As usual - we enjoyed a great meal - served with a smile - plenty of food - at reasonable prices - great visit :-)

"Excellent"
6/6
Pete G.4 months ago · 2 reviews

Had another fantastic afternoon at the Hinds Head. My sister was up from the south coast and whenever they visit Chorley and we go out....its poor....they must think there are no nice places in Chorley and we don't know how to cater as a town. Anyway, the Hinds Head bucked the trend (as we knew it would) and it was lovely. All the staff (apart from one...who we were not impressed with and was downright rude) were lovely...young, fresh, helpful, friendly and efficient. Service was great apart from the lass highlighted above who thought that saying 'if we get rid of them on that table then that will free up some space' as the restaurant became busy. I would not mind if we had overstayed our welcome and 'hogged' the table. If she was going to say such a thing it should have been behind the scenes and not within earshot of customers. That said....it was another super visit and of course we will be back. I only highlight the issue over the member of staff so they can sort it....I would say that she does not fit with the 'can do' positive culture of the Hinds Head. Thanks again to Kev and the team.

"Great"
5/6
Sue S.a month ago · 1 review

Went for an evening meal with a friend. I had steak and veg pie with chips and veg, followed by chocolate cheesecake, which was actually described as chocolate velvet truffle on the menu, so I had to ask what it was. My friend had roast duck breast in honey and spice with fondant potatoes. It came with green beans which my friend doesn't like, so she asked for carrots which was no problem. For dessert she had sticky toffee pudding with custard. Everything was absolutely delicious except for my friend's dessert. She said the sponge itself was lovely, but she'd asked for extra toffee sauce which didn't materialize and what was there didn't taste of toffee. The plate was also decorated with chocolate sauce which you don't really want with sticky toffee pudding. It really spoiled it for her but when she mentioned it we were told it would be knocked off the bill. I have to praise the staff, they were very pleasant, attentive and efficient. All in all, a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
DIANE M.2 years ago · 3 reviews

This is a very special place and the food is absolutely amazing - the food would not be out of place in some of the best restaurants in London! The owners are so enthusiastic and welcoming as are all the staff. They have a wide range of gins and other drinks offerings that are scrumptious. The restaurant is really lovely with all personal touches that make it so nice spend time in. We viewed but did not stay in the guest rooms which have recently been created and they are fab with John Lewis furniture. The beer garden at the back is stunning too and overlooks beautiful countryside. Well done Kev and Adam you are doing a fantastic job!

"Excellent"
6/6
Rebecca M.7 months ago · 1 review

We went for Sunday tea, and was glad we had booked when we arrived, every table was full, which was a good sign! I wasn’t disappointed at all by the food and service. I had pie of the day which was peppered beef, the beef melted on your mouth, delicious! My husband had the Sunday roast (and chose beef) this was a bargain at £9 and again he wasn’t disappointed, he ordered a side of chips in case it was to small, but it was enough and the struggles with the chips having to leave some, which was a shame as they where really good home cooked chips! Would definitely go again 😁

"Great"
5/6
Steve U.2 years ago · 3 reviews

My wife and I called in on the 19th March for Sunday lunch and were not disappointed as the food was excellent. The waiting on staff were very attentive but you only need asking once if the meal you are eating is ok -- everyone of them must have come up and asked the same question!! -- just needs fine tuning. We visited again on Friday 24th March in a party of 4. Food again was excellent my only complaint they had run out of gammon which is what I had gone for after seeing it on the menu -- but I was not disappointed with the pork loin which I chose in its place. We will certainly be back again in the near future.

"Excellent"
6/6
Melanie O.2 years ago · 1 review

We had a great meal out at the Hinds Head for our sons 20th birthday. We were accompanied by our two other children aged 10 and 14 and there was something on the menu to suit everyone. Particularly enjoyed the home made fish and chips, batter was really crispy and the chips cooked to perfection - no oven chips here! The ambience in the restaurant was lovely too, I have been during the daytime but at night it is a different experience with soft lighting, candles and fairy lights. Staff are really friendly and efficient. Overall a great experience, we will definately return!