Reviews The Monro

RopewalksBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.0/6
497 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Baltic Social

The Baltic Triangle
4.6/6266
The Baltic Social

The Bastion Bar & Restaurant

City Centre
5.2/6239
The Bastion Bar & Restaurant

497 The Monro Reviews

Read reviews about The Monro here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Monro. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Monro.

Excellent
5.0/6
497 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Christina K.a year ago · 5 reviews

We’ve been to The Munro on many occasions now and each time the food has been amazing. This time I was part of group of 15 and the staff were very attentive, even with the size of the group.

"Excellent"
6/6
Catherine A.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was delicious, it's a lovely place, really nice decor. The staff were very efficient and pleasant. My whole party thoroughly enjoyed the night.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tom B.2 years ago · 1 review

I booked here for Sunday lunch with the family, it was excellent! The roast beef was the best I've had in ages! All the family were impressed, smiles on every face!

"Excellent"
6/6
Graham R.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Everything about this gastro bar is excellent; food, service ,venue , well done to all concerned in it's delivery I will be returning very soon!!!

"Great"
5/6
Caroline S.2 years ago · 3 reviews

Lovely friendly service and atmosphere. We went for the Monday wine club which is two courses plus a bottle of wine per person at £20 per head. We were also offered a pudding at no extra charge but we were stuffed! Really good value, no 'sniffiness' about taking home any wine you might not have managed and good quality ingredients. 'Textured beetroot with whipped goats cheese' was delightful, different tastes with each bite and gin cured salmon re-ignited my taste for cured fish (which I had gone off) lovely soft slices,and plenty of them, were set off by a fantastic 'blood orange ketchup'. Haven't been to The Monro for a while but booked in for their Gin Lovers' Garden party whilst there. My only disappointment was that the dish I particularly fancied for my main had sold out.

"Great"
5/6
Debi J.2 years ago · 1 review

Really good meal, beautiful starter, and the gentleman who welcomed us and the lovely girl who waited on were top notch! The wine was good value. The only slight thing which could have improved the meal was if the rump steak had been cooked a bit less. We asked for medium rare but it was nearer to well done. Not a big problem at all as it was still fine, just a constructive comment. The chips (which I never usually have) were the best I've tasted, and so was the pepper sauce. Well done The Monro!

"Excellent"
6/6
Patsy R.2 years ago · 1 review

Met with a friend from out of town for lunch today, so decided to book for the Monro. As always the staff were so polite and attentive, the food delicious. We had a sharing platter to start which had ham hock terrine, scotch eggs (monro style), delicious dip and home made piccilli and an array of cheeses and breads. We had the Monro burger with hand cut chips and salad and a butternut risotto. Both were beautiful. We decided although we were full it would be rude not to have a dessert lol. Eton mess was our choice, all we could say is nom, nom, nom lol. I would have no resitation recommending the Monro to any diners, my friend was very impressed. Thanks again the Monro.

"Great"
5/6
John M.2 years ago · 1 review

We visited the Monro with friends on a Saturday night in May 2016. The place was very busy but the atmosphere was welcoming and service at the bar was quick and friendly. At our booking time we moved into the restaurant and were greeted by the friendly serving staff. we found the menu and food to be good restaurant standard and the wine list is good but perhaps a little overpriced. We ordered, between us, 3 starters, 4 mains, 2 deserts, 1 bottle of wine, and 2 G&Ts and the very reasonable final bill was about £150. It is rare to find a treat like this in a city centre location and the relaxed dining was more reminiscent of a country pub. All our party enjoyed the experience and we look forward to re-visiting. Be sure to book especially at weekends. Central Station is only about 10 minutes easy walk.

"Good"
4/6
Simon H.2 years ago · 1 review

The Monro's website has a good section on dietary needs, catering for customers with Coeliac Disease, which was why we chose it. When we asked for the Gluten free menu, it was basically the same items from the Sunday lunch menu but without the Gluten products. So, a roast beef and Yorkshire pudding meal was served without the Yorkshire pudding. It looked a bit sparse ! I would have expected there to be Gluten free meal options, rather than the same courses minus certain items. Quality of the food cannot be faulted

"Great"
5/6
Alan B.2 years ago · 1 review

The Monro is an excellent gastro pub. We went for Sunday lunch. Doesn't try to do too much so 6 starters and 6 mains - 3 of which were variations on a roast. Good veggie options as well - at least two of the starters and I think two mains(?). Friendly but not intrusive staff. Nice wine by glass - we had a sauvignon blanc and a pinot grigio.