Reviews The Old Siam - York

City CentreThai, Asian££££
Excellent
5.2/6
235 Reviews
The Old Siam - York York image 1
The Old Siam - York York image 2
The Old Siam - York York image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

235 The Old Siam - York Reviews

Read reviews about The Old Siam - York here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Old Siam - York. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Old Siam - York.

Excellent
5.2/6
235 Reviews
Value for money:Great value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Philip R.2 days ago · 1 review

The best thai food around. Come ever time we come to york

New"Excellent"
6/6
Richard P.6 days ago · 1 review

Great food, smiley service and a lovely ambiance. Will definitely go again.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Martin V.10 days ago · 2 reviews

This restaurant is always reliable and provides a great and authentic experience.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Martin V.10 days ago · 2 reviews

Great food and service. Convenient location. Easy to book and reliable.

"Great"
5/6
richard c.2 years ago · 1 review

Service was excellent and the flavours were more subtle and well blended than most Thai restaurants. The only area I would like to see is the desserts. Thai restaurants are not known for 'puddings'. This I appreciate, it is not their thing but it is the point where one often encounters the same mass produced desserts found in other similar restaurant. It makes the evening very short and the restaurant loses out on the chance to sell dessert plus coffee and another £7 plus per head. We went on to another restaurant for coffee and pudding. It is a shame because the rest of the meal was so good. Thanks Siam for a great 60th birthday meal. Well done

"Excellent"
6/6
Ricardo P.a year ago · 2 reviews

Great atmosphere from the start, the staff were polite attentive and made us feel at home and relaxed. The food was great, flavoursome and plentiful. We had the B banquet for two £23.50 each and a bottle of monsoon valley that was ideal for easy enjoyable drinking. And before anyone comments on how in Thailand you could get the same meal for a fraction of the price Don't bother we know we could, but we are eating in York. Definitley recommend it.

"Good"
4/6
Kevin T.a year ago · 6 reviews

We hadn't been here for several years as other thai or asian places had opened up in York but was nice to revisit and see the standard hadn't slipped at this stalwart restaurant. Food was fresh and tasty and reasonably priced. Our highlight was the soft shell crab starter. The choice of beverage is limited but its the food that is the focus here quite rightly. Our server got a bit confused and offered us pudding menus before we received our mains. This may have inconvenienced other diners but we were in no rush and took it all in good humour even when it took 15 mins to get the bill. We will definitely return.

"Great"
5/6
Jenny R.2 years ago · 1 review

Staff were lovely, decor was fantastic and the restaurant was in a quieter part which was great as there were lots of stag and hen parties. The food was delicious, generous portions and had good flavour but could have done with a bit more heat as in chilli. However, my partner and I do enjoy hot food a lot so it might be our pallets. Good selection of drinks. Lovely to see a mix of people from couples to families with children.

"Good"
4/6
Gary W.7 months ago · 1 review

Really enjoyed the food, but drinks and meal were overpriced in our opinion. There was also a discrepancy with the bill as we were charged more for our drinks than stated on the menu. We were told that the menu on our table was out of date by 2 years! To be fair we were eventually only charged as per the out of date menu, but it all seemed a bit amateurish. Also didn’t like the option to pay tips via the card machine which always seems like such a blatant attempt to avoid reward those who actually deserve the money.

"Good"
4/6
Paula S.a year ago · 1 review

I had a table for 5 people booked, when we are the restaurant was empty apart for a table of two.We stood around for a few minutes then were told our table was a small table for for with a chair on the end..not enough room for five very squashed.I asked for extra space as I had booked ?and the place was empty..more standing around .eventually an extra table was added so we could sit down.The food and drinks were ordered and arrived promptly, both were very good .Overall a good experience I would return and would recommend.