Reviews The Rockstone

City CentreDrinks, Burger, American, British££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
484 Reviews
The Rockstone Southampton image 1
The Rockstone Southampton image 2
The Rockstone Southampton image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

484 The Rockstone Reviews

Read reviews about The Rockstone here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Rockstone. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Rockstone.

Wonderful
5.5/6
484 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Trevor H.2 days ago · 1 review

Had a great night thanks to a warm welcome , good food and a vey nice pint! We will be back.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Amy L.4 days ago · 1 review

We had a lovely meal. Surprised by the size of the burgers as it was out first time there. It is worth the money but not a cheap meal out. I would highly recommend.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Wibberley R.9 days ago · 2 reviews

Great food, always busy. Awesome section of beers/cider/spirits. Highly recommend, make sure you book.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Kerry L.14 days ago · 1 review

Lovely pub,chilled good food,friendly staff .will def come again and recommend

"Okay"
3/6
Tony L.2 years ago · 1 review

Big fan of burgers and grills generally, went to The Rockstone for lunch with some friends. Friendly staff, nice environment, and an awesome selection of drinks. The menu was decent, and there are Vegetarian/Vegan options available also. Ordered 'the Classic' burger along with an additional portion of sweet potato fries. Firstly, it is worth noting that the burgers are 10oz. To many people under 50 in the UK this measurement is, for need of stressing the point to the entire industry outside of the USA, fucking useless. This was highlighted by the fact I saw a guy who was worried about the size of the burger an ordered a 'double' burger. To put this into perspective for those still unsure of the size of 10oz, that is MORE than a half pounder, (1oz is 28.3g, so 10oz is 283g), so hilarity ensued on the arrival of his 1.25lb burger. Once my burger arrived, with a fairly decent portion of fries and a side salad I was able to tuck in. You are given the option of having your burger cooked medium rare here, which is 'normally' a good sign of quality ground beef (would assume chuck/premium steak mix). The burger is served in a brioche bun which is nice, and has a decent selection of garnishes, though overall the flavour was pretty sub-standard. While beef can hold a strong peppering, it felt like that it was entirely relying on the seasoning to carry the flavour so much so that it was actually borderline 'spicy' hot from the amount of pepper it carried, behind the seasoning the meat itself tasted like cheap mince, no real bite to it and was a little too crumbly, which is a total thumbs down. My second glance over to the guy with the double burger I again noted that he ended up only eating half a single patty and it wasn't because he was not hungry. The fries weren't anything to shout about but were nicely seasoned, not the tastiest, not the worst. The sweet potato fries were mediocre however, crispy but rather bland. (Hint: for tasty sweet potato fries, season with paprika, cumin, and a light pinch of cinnamon + salt to taste) Overall it wasn't too bad as I did eat the whole lot and the meal itself is nicely presented, though there is no dodging the fact that aside from a nicely designed menu, there was nothing outstanding about the food at all which is disappointing considering the price. As someone who actively cooks, I can not recommend eating here, especially when a standard greaser (of which there are many within 1-5minutes walk) will likely sell a tastier burger meal at 1/3 the price. Certainly worth stopping in for a drink however.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jeff W.2 years ago · 1 review

Read about the Rockstone on a blog about the search for the best burger. The Rockstone was at the top of the list and it did not disappoint. 100% beef, perfectly cooked, with a choice of toppings. The Rockstone also had a great selection of other options for those that don't like beef - grilled chicken sandwiches, plenty of veggie options, a sirloin steak or the "I'll just have the Salad" salad. Everything (including the vegetarian options) looked tempting, but we came for the burger. Small university pub/bar. Service was great from the bartender. Will definitely return again and again.

"Good"
4/6
Clarisa C.4 months ago · 1 review

Easy booking through Quandoo website for a group of 9 of us 2 weeks before at 7.45pm on a Friday evening. Did not realise this pub had no parking till I called them 2 days before, as it was not stated on their website. Thankfully, there is a car park opposite (24 hr pay and display) which was handy. My friends had arrived before us, therefore they were seated first (near the entrance) and when we arrived, the waitress took our orders for food soon after. I tried to order the sirloin steak, but it had run out! In the end, I ordered the squid/calamari which was very tasty and a good amount for £7, and my mains was the chicken breast, which came with fries, onion rings and slaw. The chicken was a bit tough, but everything else was lovely and a large portion size. A glass of white wine spritzer costed me £6 though, which I thought was quite expensive! As for the bill, I had to get up to ask for the bill, as after the first request, the bill still did not arrive after 15 mins (one of my friends had to catch the last bus home), and so I went up and asked for it again. The bill was given to me in the end (!), and then I had to go up a 3rd time to ask them to bring a card machine over. All in all, it was good for its location and availability of parking, alright service for drinks and food, average for the bill, and expensive for the drinks. It was still a good night had by all, as they had a good selection of food for vegetarians.

"Excellent"
6/6
Geoff H.6 months ago · 1 review

At the Rockstone you come for the burgers and stay because the staff are fantastic!! They have a great standard menu, their rotating special's menu always provides something new and exciting to entice you, but it is the staff behind the bar that make you feel warmed and welcome and are willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have the meal and drink that you really want, even if it's not an easy one. 10/10 would recommend to a friend, and will be back again before long. Also, this new online booking system is an absolute breeze!! Best booking system I've seen for restaurants in a long time

"Great"
5/6
Charlotte B.2 years ago · 1 review

Service was very professional and friendly. There was a lot of customer hustle and bustle next to our table as it was very busy that day, I suspect this is mainly due to it being the rum festival and a Saturday evening. The food was generally very nice. However I probably wouldn't go for the Charlie and the Chorizo factory burger again purely because the Belgian waffle bun that it came in was far too sweet to be part of the main course, I would have preferred a brioche bun although this is down to personal preference, I appreciate that they were putting a fresh twist on a classic burger option. All in all a fun and enjoyable evening with good service and food. Would visit again.

"Great"
5/6
Ken W.2 years ago · 1 review

The bar staff are efficient and friendly, with a quick service supplied, whether for food or drink. The atmosphere is friendly with people determined to have a pleasant experience. The food is great tasting with enough variation available to suit most tastes. Only let down is the furnishings. Namely the carpet. You should not be sticking to the floor as you walk through, and it should not still be on the base of your shoes after you have left the establishment. In many places it is looking very tired. It is beyond being due for a change, but ignore that and you will have a good night, and if you can take advantage of the offers then an even better one is waiting for you.