Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
London
Southbank
The Thames
The Thames Reviews

The Thames

Indian, Asian

Dishes priced around£10

Photo of restaurant The Thames in Southbank, London

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Thames (182)

Read what people think about The Thames. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Thames before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Thames and book a table with confidence!

5.0/6

182 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
664
575
428
38
23
14
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Very good"
5/6
Laura H.5 months ago · 1 review

Food was great and service was friendly and prompt. I would go again.

"Good"
4/6
adam j.2 years ago · 52 reviews

Wasn’t to bad good place would recommend for kids good place . Try it

"Excellent"
6/6
Steven R.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic food and great service 👍 The selection is awesome and everything is very fresh.

"Very good"
5/6
Stuart J.2 years ago · 111 reviews

The Thames is a nice place to have dinner. food was very good as also the service.

"Good"
4/6
Priyanka B.2 years ago · 1 review

loved the place and food. will definitely recommend friends and family

"Very good"
5/6
Daryl O.2 years ago · 166 reviews

Our visit to The Thames was very good.Also the food and service was very good.

"Very good"
5/6
Malcom R.2 years ago · 130 reviews

We did have a good time at The Thames, also the food and service were very good

"Very good"
5/6
Marion G.4 years ago · 1 review

The staff were good. The food was lovely and reasonably priced.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen K.4 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food & great service. They had lovely food that you don’t see anywhere else, my curry was the best I have ever eaten & the lamb was so tender. If I had any complaint it would be about the closeness of the tables on one side of our table was a group of four men whose swearing was unbelievable & loud & on the other side the man hit me 3 ties when he kept moving.

"Very good"
5/6
Oliver M.4 years ago · 1 review

Very tasty food, reasonably priced. A bit rushed , the waiter was trying to clear the whole table whilst I was still eating.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter B.4 years ago · 1 review

Food very unusual but much more interesting than your average curry house, service polite but matter of fact, we were a party of 5 and there was another party of 20 opposite in a full restaurant yet the food was servers promptly. Reasonable price and very convenient location. Will definitely be returning😋

"Excellent"
6/6
Rajesh N.4 years ago · 11 reviews

I needed a venue that could cater for 11 people, 10 of whom follow a halaal diet (me being the omnivore). It needed to be near London Waterloo Station, and it needed to offer South Asian food. The Thames ticked all the boxes. The welcome was warm, service was swift and came with a smile, the food was very well received, and the whole evening was spent in smiles and laughter. When the bill came, it was far less than I had budgeted for, which merely added to the delight. My thanks to all at The Thames for offering us a wonderful time.

"Very good"
5/6
JAMES M.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Good food, service and atmosphere. Will be returning for another meal soon!

"Very good"
5/6
Vikki C.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Good food, nice atmosphere, good value for money for central London

"Excellent"
6/6
Philip H.4 years ago · 1 review

Food was delicious. Glad that I booked a table as it was very busy. Staff were generally helpful & friendly. One member of staff did unfortunately spill some drinks over 2 of our party but was then very apologetic and did all they could to amend by reducing the bill and offering a free round of drinks. Will happily go again.

"Not good "
2/6
David P.4 years ago · 1 review

Food average and expensive for what it was. Service was poor with a 'Couldn't care less' attitude. Felt like staff were waiting to lock up and go home.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jeremy D.4 years ago · 7 reviews

Everything was superb! Food, service the lot outstanding. Thank you Thames, we will be back!!

"Awful"
1/6
Zia R.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Not impressed. Not genuine Indian food. Also pricey and not fresh

"Average"
3/6
John W.4 years ago · 1 review

Food ok (just about), service poor. Lives off Waterloo proximity

"Excellent"
6/6
Christa F.4 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food, lovely surroundings. Not overpriced. Well worth a visit.

"Very good"
5/6
Tim A.4 years ago · 1 review

Nice food in a comfortable setting at a good price

"Very good"
5/6
Maxine E.4 years ago · 1 review

Very good good! My lamb shank was very tasty and extremely tender. All fresh and very tasty food.

"Excellent"
6/6
steve b.4 years ago · 2 reviews

Great food. Had one of their recommendations & was one of best meals I’ve had

"Good"
4/6
David D.4 years ago · 1 review

Service a bit on the slow side But good food

"Very good"
5/6
Matthew S.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Solid curry house right next to Waterloo, handy for a work night

"Very good"
5/6
Les M.5 years ago · 4 reviews

Easy to book, large choice of meals, good cheerful service and coveniently placed.

"Very good"
5/6
Wayne F.5 years ago · 1 review

Great meal and good service. Ticks the boxes for a meal out.

"Average"
3/6
Ed N.5 years ago · 1 review

Lots of passing trade for them , would not return

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris S.5 years ago · 1 review

Great food and a convenient location near to Waterloo station

"Very good"
5/6
Sarah W.5 years ago · 1 review

Great service! Delicious food. Very convenient walk from Waterloo station.

"Average"
3/6
Stephen R.5 years ago · 2 reviews

It was ok, but have had better. Staff not very polite.

"Very good"
5/6
Steve B.5 years ago · 1 review

Lovely end to the day, thank you very much appreciated

"Excellent"
6/6
JAMES M.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Very nice food at reasonable price. 5 hygiene rating. I'll be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynn L.5 years ago · 1 review

Great food and service, would highly recommend, looking forward to a return visit.

"Very good"
5/6
Camille B.5 years ago · 1 review

Bon repas ! Plats typiquement indien. Service sympathique ! Je recommande

"Very good"
5/6
DAVID L.5 years ago · 2 reviews

A pleasant little indian restaurant tucked away by Waterloo train station, Good food and value for money, the staff need to smile now and then, but will visit again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Stanley W.5 years ago · 1 review

Great service and food. We would come again. Convenient location

"Awful"
1/6
Luxmmi V.5 years ago · 1 review

Food bland, service slow, chicken poor!!!!! Would not bang 1/10

"Very good"
5/6
Quandoo Diner5 years ago · 0 reviews

Great view with fantastic food. At a great spot in London

"Very good"
5/6
Fiona S.5 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food, We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Unfortunately the staff were abrupt and too quick to clear the table, actually taking the table cloth away prior to presenting the dessert menu which was enough to put us off ordering anything further. A little more friendliness wouldn't go amiss. Not Sure if we would go back despite the excellent food.