Reviews The Unicorn's Head

LangarBritish, European££££
Excellent
4.9/6
229 Reviews
The Unicorn's Head Langar image 1
The Unicorn's Head Langar image 2
The Unicorn's Head Langar image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

229 The Unicorn's Head Reviews

Read reviews about The Unicorn's Head here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Unicorn's Head. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Unicorn's Head.

Excellent
4.9/6
229 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Caroline W.7 days ago · 1 review

Absolute fantastic quality and service. Chris is a genuine and friendly member of the team who helped us enjoy our meal with his bubbly personality

"Excellent"
6/6
Jan G.22 days ago · 1 review

We have been there several times now and always have had a good time. My only grumble is that the menu is very limiting if you are not a carnivore. For example, it would be nice to have a vegetarian option on the skewers menu or a fish version. The same could be said of the starters menu as well.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rob F.22 days ago · 1 review

Portion a little mean for the price. A tad noisy to have a conversation but music very good.

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda S.25 days ago · 1 review

Went for friends birthday. Great food, great service. Highly recommend it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gillian B.9 months ago · 1 review

We had a beautiful lunch at The Unicorn's Head. The quality of the fresh ingredients was excellent and locally sourced. The Beef and Stout Pie with amazing homemade chips and mushy peas were excellent with lovely home-cooked flavours and light pastry. The Spaghetti Carbonara contained home baked ham and a selection of mushrooms and was creamy and delicious. The sticky toffee pudding was light and very tasty with flavours of treacle. This was my first time going to the Unicorn's Head but it certainly won't be my last. I couldn't fault the staff either who were attentive without being over-fussy and their professionalism is a rare thing to find in a lot of restaurants and pubs. Great value at £11.95 for two courses at lunch time.

"Okay"
3/6
Rosie W.a month ago · 1 review

I am not normally one to write a review however I feel on this occasion I will. Initially service was good as we were given a table to accommodate us. However,, we were left with our starter plates so I had to move that to another area out the way in order for the mains to be placed. After finishing our mains we then sat with our main plates for a good 45 mins. No one came over to ask if we wanted any dessert, coffees or more drinks which was lucky as we were talking and had gone to the bar ourselves to order more. I then had to go to a member of staff and ask for the bill in which the staff member finished her social conversation with another lady before addressing me and then responded “oh yes sorry”. The music also started to be turned up so we could hardly hear what the other side of the table were saying. All in all the food was okay but service does make you return and I think due to that we will not be returning. .

"Excellent"
6/6
Jackie J.a month ago · 1 review

Pre booked a round table for 6 and we got a round table! Usually when we request one elsewhere we don’t get one. Ordered pizzas and they were delicious, possibly the best pizzas we have had ever, couldn’t not fault them at all. Only downside is 2 arrived approx 10 mins after the others so 4 of us had to start eating before the others. But nevertheless they were worth the wait! Restaurant busy so maybe that was why we had to wait. All in all, delicious! Well done and compliments to the chef.

"Excellent"
6/6
Keith A.6 months ago · 1 review

Great warm welcome. Lovely attentive staff (they asked if we wanted to move tables as waitress could feel a draft). Food was a great carvery, the owner served us and told us a bit of the history of reopening after renovation. Absolutely stuffed but didn't want to leave any as so good. Kitchen open to see into and obviously run like clockwork. Place was lovely and the only minor criticism was the background music was too loud. If they could just turn that down a bit it would be absolutely excellent.

"Great"
5/6
Ann L.2 months ago · 1 review

It was the first time my 2 friends had been to the Unicorn and they liked it very much. Just let down by a couple of things. When we ordered the sea bass which one of my friends had wanted, it was sold out and we had a long wait for our meals. Nevertheless, we shall come back. I usually go for lunch with 2 other friends and it was the first time I had been in the evening. The ambience was very good and our waitress was very apologetic about the sea bass.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tony I.a year ago · 1 review

Sunday Carvery 29th October. Despite being 2 Chefs down therefore only being allowed starters from the main menu the Carvery was very plentiful, there was a good selection of Meats and a generous selection of veg and lots of it,all the food was hot and Beth with her waiting staff kept an organised and steady flow of customers through the Carvery , service was very good and welcoming. Well done to the Unicorns Head