Reviews 1884 Dock Street Kitchen

Hull MarinaBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.4/6
1,333 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 4 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Counting House - Grimsby

Centre
5.3/6106
The Counting House - Grimsby

Nineteen Restaurant & Bar

Burstwick
5.4/633
Nineteen Restaurant & Bar

1,333 1884 Dock Street Kitchen Reviews

Read reviews about 1884 Dock Street Kitchen here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at 1884 Dock Street Kitchen. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about 1884 Dock Street Kitchen.

Excellent
5.4/6
1,333 Reviews
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Richard B.7 months ago · 6 reviews

Nice venue for a special meal, would go back when I’m in the area again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Donna S.10 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service. Lovely presentation of food. Expensive but worth it. Worked out that three courses for two people £90 Staff accommodating and friendly 😁

"Excellent"
6/6
Danea C.10 months ago · 1 review

Great food and service. The only criticism was that my scallop starter only had two, rather than four, scallops. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful. The food was great value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Katie E.10 months ago · 1 review

We have eaten there many times now, but this was the nicest food and service we have ever had. Be back at the end of July.

"Good"
4/6
Deborah P.a year ago · 1 review

The food and wines were lovely, as we have come to expect from 1884 Dock Street Kitchen and the service was good. We all chose from the Chef's Selection and all our party really enjoyed their dishes. However, it was very diffcult to have much conversation as there was live music in the form of a singer, guitar and very loud amplifier for nearly an hour during our visit. Although we were seated behind the singer and the amplifier, it was still very difficult to converse, which rather spoilt the occasion. We were thankful not to be in front of the amplifier where the volume was even greater. When we visit 1884 Dock Street Kitchen we are looking for beautifully presented and imaginatively cooked food and to be able to enjoy the company of those we go with. We do not need, and do not wish to have, live musical entertainment, no matter how good the performer may be. In future will will not book to go on any evening when live music is planned.

"Excellent"
6/6
Karen U.2 years ago · 1 review

The ambiance is both welcoming, bustling but also intimate. The staff make you feel they are just there for you and every visit is special. Our Sunday lunch was a lovely affair, we had just taken my son and his fiance to The Deep and were relaxed and happy. The meal was absolutely wonderful - varied, Yorkshire, interesting and beautifully cooked and served. We all had different meals and they were all great. For a change I had cheese for dessert - what a selection, it was hard to choose but delicious when I did. I have eaten at 1884 Dock Street Kitchen quite a few times and have never been disappointed. My favourite was the chocolate and violet mousse I had last time. Well worth a visit, one of the best restaurants and I had visited quite a few!

"Excellent"
6/6
ADAM M.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Simply, I have eaten at most restaurants in Hull over the past years and no one beats 1884 Dock Street Kitchen. The food is outstanding, full of complimentary flavours and a pleasure for my taste buds. All the fish dishes myself and my partner have tried are nothing short of true perfection and presentation is always visually amazing. The restaurant is light, airy, beautifully designed, the atmosphere is always really welcoming and the staff are true professionals. This restaurant is genuine Michelin star quality and we are looking forward to seeing the new menu in March 2016. 10 out of 10 in every way and we are very very happy customers.

"Excellent"
6/6
Elliot W.2 years ago · 7 reviews

Service was excellent. We arrived early and asked if we wanted to take a seat in the bar area or go straight through to the table, we prompted for a predrink before the meal. The wine menu arrived along with the a la carte and market menu. The wine menu was extensive and separated into white, red and rose wine by region. We opted for a bottle of 2013 Chateauneuf du pape which tasted incredible. As alwasy, a pre-meal amuse bouche of watercress and potato soup came along with homemade ale bread. For starter my partner ordered orange and dill cured salmon, and i had Goat's chesse. Both plates were immaculately presented and tasted divine. After polishing off the first bottle of red wine, we prompted for a second in the form of a Quinto de Castro Duoro from Portugal which was rich in flavour yet not too strong to overwhelm the food. For main course i chose the spring vegetable, which contained rosti, charred leeks, and other season vegetables, my partnetr ordered the sea trout, both of which again tasted very nice and were presented very well. A cofee and a liquer coffee finished off what was a very enjoyable meal. Would definitely return. Total price £185.00

"Excellent"
6/6
Emma T.2 years ago · 1 review

1884 was always a place we have wanted to visit but for one reason or another we kept putting it off. Our table was ordered for 6 so we arrived 10 minutes early and found the place still shut and closed. We worried we had got the wrong place but no, literally two minutes to 6 the lights came on and the barriers opened to expose 1884. We was placed at a booth which was nice, we gave our orders and was brought and complimentary appetiser. For starters I had the Mozzarella and my husband had the pigeon. Mains where the Hake with Lemon Mash for myself and my husband had Chicken with minted peas. Dessert we opted for the Lemon & black pepper Meringue and my husband had the White chocolate dessert. Over all we both agreed our experience was wonderful. Staff was attentive but not too in your face. After our meal staff left me and my husband to just chat while we had our after dinner coffee's. We didn't feel like we was being rushed out to make way for another cover. It's not very often my husband suggests we go somewhere twice but he already mentioned coming back.

"Excellent"
6/6
David E.2 years ago · 1 review

Have to say we were very impressed with 1884 Dock Street Kitchen . From entering, the staff were very welcoming and friendly . The service was excellent and the food , well all we can say is compliments to the chef. Well cooked ,tasted delicious and well presented. Also , from the restaurant to the bar and the toilets was spotlessly clean .Background music was great too as you could still hear yourself talking without it being too loud , and the old film of Laurel and Hardy was nice to see too. Very well done and would highly recommend.