Reviews 31 Castlegate Restaurant

City CentreBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
298 Reviews
31 Castlegate Restaurant York image 1
31 Castlegate Restaurant York image 2
31 Castlegate Restaurant York image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

298 31 Castlegate Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about 31 Castlegate Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at 31 Castlegate Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about 31 Castlegate Restaurant.

Excellent
5.3/6
298 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Amanda W.20 days ago · 4 reviews

Love this restaurant, food is always lovely . We had the set menu fantastic value Highly recommend it !

"Excellent"
6/6
Ann F.25 days ago · 1 review

Lovely setting, friendly, excellent service and really good food beautifully presented. I wish I lived locally so I could be a regular.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sandra J.a month ago · 1 review

Execellent restaurant and would definately recommend. We Will be back

"Excellent"
6/6
Kelly M.a month ago · 1 review

This is the second time we have been here and we love this place, the food was amazing the steak was nice and juicy, the staff were very friendly and helpful, can’t wait to come back to York and eat there again

"Excellent"
6/6
Sharon D.2 years ago · 1 review

My husband and I had wonderful evening at 31 Castlegate celebrating our wedding anniversary. We received a warm welcome and all the staff were consistently friendly and professional. The food was divine. We both had 3 courses each, and all were beautiful both in taste and presentation. The restaurant serves locally sourced produce that is in season at that time, so you know it's going to be fresh. Most importantly, we were not rushed and could enjoy our anniversary meal in comfort with adequate pauses between courses. We will definitely return the next time we find ourselves in York. Great job guys, well done.

"Excellent"
6/6
Debbie O.2 years ago · 1 review

My husband saw people going in and out of a small free standing building visible from our hotel. He realised it was a restaurant so we googled it. After reading the reviews and the menu we made a reservation for 31 Castlegate. We found a Georgian townhouse converted into a restaurant with a lovely atmosphere, delicious food and attentive staff. I highly recommend 31 Castlegate.

"Excellent"
6/6
Anna K.2 years ago · 1 review

Four of us went for lunch; very helpful, friendly staff who provided excellent service. We ordered a three-course meal from the lunch menu and all of us were very happy with the food, portion size (just right!) and service. 31 Castlegate features an elegant, spacious interior and was the perfect choice for a graduation celebration. The best: the amazing food comes at a very good price; a 3-course meal under £20/head. We will be going back very soon, definitely highly recommended!

"Excellent"
6/6
Tony G.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our first visit, it having been recommended by the staff at Nineteen which unfortunately has had to close due to the end of lease. It definitely came up to expectations and without a doubt we will be back. The staff are friendly and welcoming and we had a great meal well presented at a reasonable price. It is good to see that there are still independent restaurants in York that can stand up to the tidal wave of national chains which is at present engulfing the city centre. Regarding the detailed gradings below. This was a lunchtime visit when the restaurant was not busy and provided a quiet haven to relax and eat. We were not looking for an "entertaining" atmosphere and where food is cooked to order I would be worried if waiting times were short. Over all the grading descriptions are obviously geared to lively night time venues and are less than applicable to somewhere for lunch

"Good"
4/6
Shelley L.2 years ago · 1 review

This was my third or fourth time dining at 31 Castlegate. It is always a lovely dining experience and the set menu is filled with excellent choices. My husband had the confit duck as a main and I had the sea bass fillet. Both were quite good although the duck was seasoned better than my fish which, on this evening, was a bit bland. The same was true of my starter: the mushroom tart needed salt! Service was excellent and we will return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rachel H.2 years ago · 1 review

After looking on trip advisor for somewhere to eat whilst staying in York. I found 31 Castlegate, reviews looked really good so I thought I would make a reservation. Restaurant is cosy and perfect for a relaxing night and the food was of a very high standard! Staff were also lovely! Fully recommend.