Reviews Bird in Hand

CowplainBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
458 Reviews
Bird in Hand Waterlooville image 1
Bird in Hand Waterlooville image 2
Bird in Hand Waterlooville image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

458 Bird in Hand Reviews

Read reviews about Bird in Hand here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Bird in Hand. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Bird in Hand.

Excellent
5.3/6
458 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Val L.7 days ago · 3 reviews

Excellent food excellent service. Always a warm and friendly atmosphere

New"Excellent"
6/6
Stephen S.9 days ago · 2 reviews

We had dinner here and the food was very good. The restaurant was about half full, which for 7pm mid week I thought was very good.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Barry W.13 days ago · 1 review

Good meal and friendly atmosphere. A good experience for the family

"Excellent"
6/6
James W.17 days ago · 1 review

Love Bird in the Hand - since looking to move into the area and stopping in for a quick lunch we have been back time and time again now we are 'locals'.

"Excellent"
6/6
Stewart W.5 months ago · 1 review

First time there since the refurbishment. We were a party of 4 for Sunday lunch NOT as a carvery! All aspects of our meal and the overall experience were excellent. The greeting at the door, the reserved table, the quick service of the basics (water, drinks) - all very professional and courteous, but also friendly. The menu offers great variety so all our tastes were catered for. One question about ingredients on one dish was resolved very quickly. Our starters all came at the same time: we all found the portion size good but not over-generous; they were all delicious. We all had different mains and everyone enjoyed the food and the service. All the dishes were nicely presented. Only a couple of us had room for dessert and we both chose the citrus bread-and-butter pudding. The dish itself was very pleasant - but it's not a rich, fruit-and-custard-laden bread pudding in the old fashioned sense. So just a slight disappointment on that score. The other couple insisted on treating us, so I didn't see the final bill. However some quick mental arithmetic suggests that all the dishes are reasonably and competitively priced, for the type of establishment and the high quality of service we enjoyed. On the overall ambience, we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived for an early booking, but the place soon filled up with a big variety of guests including some small children. Yet we never felt that there was too much noise - surprising given the hardwood floor. So all in all a very good experience, which we will repeat before too long!

"Excellent"
6/6
Doreen W.2 months ago · 1 review

Took my son for lunch he had fish and chips absolutely delicious as usual I thought as it was lunch time I would have cerlariac soup and smoked salmon, cream cheese and pea sprout sandwiches I am afraid I wasn’t impressed, the soup wasn’t very tasty and the bread was dry I found it a bit sickly too salmon and not enough cream cheese, having said this we have been to The Bird in Hand many times and this is the only time I have been disappointed. It won’t stop me from going again as it is my favourite place to eat both evening and lunch time. Waitress was very attentive and helpful and polite.

"Great"
5/6
Ian C.2 years ago · 1 review

Really loved eating at TBIH last week. However I do have some observations & criticisms. I have to say the Moroccan Lamb pie was one of the best pies I've ever had it was absolutely delicious but there wasn't enough mash or gravy and I'd rather pay a slightly higher price for a meal to include vegetables. I didn't like the fact we had some vegetables & fries that added £6 to my meal. However, I was really disappointed with my starter - pigeon. It wasn't cheap for 2 small slices of pigeon breast, that I'd also expected to be hot. So when they arrived cold it wasn't a great experience. Overall didn't rate this starter. I absolutely loved the selection of different gins available and the way they were presented - first class. The service was nothing short of excellent and there seemed like plenty of staff on hand to assist at a moments notice. I would want to go all the time but the cost overall is what would keep me back so it was and will be a well earned treat to eat at TBIH. Loved it. (Please add vegetables to main meals it'll mean I will visit more frequently)

"Excellent"
6/6
Joan J.8 months ago · 1 review

I had never been to the Bird In Hand. The experience was lovely. I went with my sister no had been before. She had already spoken to me about the food and how amazing it was. My review is lovely decor very inviting and comfortable. Calming atmosphere. The service was very good. Service with a smile and they really care about your needs. Food was just spot on no wastage and even made room for pudding. All very tasty. Portions just correct more a la carte. Not typical pub meal so if you are expecting large portions don't go. Reasonably priced I thought and food was very hot and just how it should be not cold like regular pub meals but like I said no ordinary pub. Would go back and would recommend even as a treat for someone special or family affair. No complaints. Did not get a chance to try the cocktails either as driving. Will try next time. 🙂

"Excellent"
6/6
ANDREW B.a year ago · 1 review

We can honestly say that 'The Bird In Hand' was one of the best dining experiences we've had! We went there for a Sunday roast and were bowled over by the size...it was huge! It made other roasts we had pretty insignificant and we can't wait to go back! It was fantastic value for money and superbly delicious! The dessert I chose was 'cheesecake of the day' and that too shone amongst others I've had. All the staff were attentive to our needs and despite being a full house, we were served our meal in what seemed like minutes of arriving. The complimentary homemade bread and chilli and tomato butter on arrival added a very pleasant touch. This is one of the very few places we've tried that got everything spot on and the staff were a joy...friendly and courteous at all times! A DELIGHTFUL AND MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE!

"Okay"
3/6
Thomas H.a year ago · 1 review

Food was good, atmosphere very good. But the service was very poor, as we were seated in a corner of the bar and ignored almost entirely by the staff; everytime we wanted to order or ask for something, we had to go up to the bar and ask, nobody came over, even though we could see our waiter chatting and serving people behind the bar. Equally, paying £18 for a meal, I was very dissapointed by the size of the meal. This would not have been a problem if the food was good, but it was no better than and actually worse than other places, in similiar locations, who charge far less for more of a portion. Very dissapointed considering I have been a loyal and returning customer of the Bird in Hand for a number of years.