Reviews Bourbon & Black

DidsburyBritish, European££££
Excellent
4.7/6
118 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Chime

Hartford
5.2/6861
Chime

George's Dining Room and Bar

Worsley
5.2/61024
George's Dining Room and Bar

118 Bourbon & Black Reviews

Read reviews about Bourbon & Black here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Bourbon & Black. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Bourbon & Black.

Excellent
4.7/6
118 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Anthony M.2 years ago · 1 review

brilliant food and service, at a great price! the menu was appealable to all people and the atmosphere and interior made the restaurant feel really quirky. AMAZING cocktails

"Excellent"
6/6
Dave G.2 years ago · 1 review

Great food & service. The staff were polite & courteous. I had the Deluxe burger and my partner had the pulled pork on mac and cheese​.

"Excellent"
6/6
Simon C.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic food, service and value. Great starters (Prawns & Meatballs and Ribs to die for. We used a taste card which makes it even greater value.

"Excellent"
6/6
Keshia M.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was amazing, staff were brilliantly! We has the steak which was perfectly done - need to order sides but these are not expensive so woo tasty! Would recommend a visit!

"Great"
5/6
Paul R.2 years ago · 1 review

The food and drinks were great, we'll defiantly be going back! However, we thought going out for a bite to eat on a Monday would be a smooth affair! we waited 15 minutes to order drinks which took a further 10 minutes to arrive (were worth the wait, the Apple Moonshine was just a delight) Food took nearly an hour to hit the table we only ordered mains, a Burger and the Ribs. The fresh cut chips were stone cold, but were quickly changed. Quality of the food was great, Ribs were tasty Burger was fantastic, we both had food envy of the tables around us which is drawing us back to try more of the menu! We were told when we came to pay the bill which had a surprise 50% discount offer on the food that they were extremely short staffed and the place did seem to have all the covers arrive around the same time. just seemed poor planning on their part not to spread the covers out to allow for the staff crisis. We'll be going back soon in the hopes we'll have a faster service, the atmosphere and lubrication from the cocktails made for a lovely chilled out evening which was really nice actually, just a pity we were both really hungry otherwise it'd have been a 6!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris J.2 years ago · 1 review

Came here looking for Steak on a night when the nearby 'Cau' was booked up. Best decision ever! Great service from knowledgeable staff and an ample menu with some nice touches to make it stand out from the countless other 'burger and grill' joints in Manchester: The house sauce is delicious, although the steak is so good it doesn't need it, and the 'grilled salad' redefines eating your greens! Finished off with Cocktails from their truly creative menu. Again, really impressed (Popcorn Old-Fashioned! Who'd think of that?!). I'm not sure Cau will be getting a look-in now, wouldn't be able to do much better and looks like they pack the tables in a bit.

"Good"
4/6
Dawn P.2 years ago · 2 reviews

I have eaten at the restaurant a few times since it opened and below is list of my experiences: Food: Simple but well cooked, steaks are good. Whole Seabass is really good although on the last visit they had very little fish on the menu except a cod fillet which I was told was delicious by someone in our party of 4. Ribs starters were a decent portion and very tender. Setting: Comfortable booths upstairs although a little chilly. Downstairs, relaxed with both high and low tables. The decor of exposed brick and rustic feel is comfortable but definitely could do with a little more heating in winter. Chilled music generally plays at a good volume. Service: Staff are welcoming but waiting to order or getting the bill at the end of the meal can be a little lengthy at times. They had missed a few bits off the order and informed us. The wait was short for them to arrive. Dessert were very limited so we decided against ordering.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alex R.2 years ago · 1 review

Great service, great food and great atmosphere! The food arrived promptly and the servers were attentive. No mistakes were made and they even let me order multiple sides/starters in a tapas style instead of my main. The upstairs is beautiful and I'd definitely request sitting up there again. I'd recommend Bourbon & Black to anyone.

"Excellent"
6/6
Elle B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The Didsbury Bourbon & Black has a relaxed atmosphere. The food was excellent, ingredients were fresh and delivered to our table promptly. The staff are friendly and are willing to talk through the menu with you. The cocktails were two for £10 and very nice they were too!

"Good"
4/6
James W.2 years ago · 1 review

We were seated within 1-2 minutes of entering as there were people waiting in front of us. The waitress was very helpful and enthusiastic and our food came out relatively quickly. The Merlot wine was lovely and the atmosphere upstairs was very chilled. If we had time we would have liked to have stayed downstairs and check out the bar area and try some of the whiskies. For the money wasn't sure the food was worth the same prices but I would like to give it another try and see. The food was good but I didn't feel like it wowed me hence the 4/6 mark. We went on a Saturday evening around 8pm and made a reservation, the restaurant looked busy.