Reviews Maxies Bistro

Old TownDrinks, Seafood, British, Scottish££££
Very Good
4.4/6
77 Reviews
Maxies Bistro Edinburgh image 1
Maxies Bistro Edinburgh image 2
Maxies Bistro Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

77 Maxies Bistro Reviews

Read reviews about Maxies Bistro here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Maxies Bistro. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Maxies Bistro.

Very Good
4.4/6
77 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Great
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Heidi S.2 months ago · 1 review

What a great place, very comfortable and staff very attentive and friendly. Food was delicious.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julia T.3 months ago · 1 review

Love the cellar venue, friendly staff and good food (seafood linguine!). Relaxed and atmospheric. Reasonably priced. Very happy to recommend. We're local and try to go at least once a year.

"Excellent"
6/6
Elizabeth H.4 months ago · 1 review

I had dinner here when I visited back in 2004 and was excited to bring my family when we came back this year. The service was excellent, food was great, atmosphere priceless, and the overall experience was fantastic. I’ll definitely come back the next time I’m in Edinburgh!

"Excellent"
6/6
Albert B.5 months ago · 1 review

Really nice place to go for a meal in the city centre. The staff were very attentive and although the bistro was very busy they took time to explain to the customers items on the menu. The food was excellent

"Good"
4/6
Michelle C.2 years ago · 1 review

This bar and bistro definitely has its own character. The décor is an eclectic mix of wine-related quotes and wine racks with a white board displaying the daily specials for customer. I love the exposed brick wall and creature heads by the white board as well as the comfy velveteen padded benches. The food was lovely although I found the breaded mushrooms to be a bit too crunchy. When I tried to spear one with my fork, it bounced off my plate. The plate could be bigger to stop the mushrooms bouncing off too! Otherwise, the seafood in my linguine was great although I was a bit perplexed at the amount of vegetable (and by that I mean basil leaves, snap peas and peppers) in the linguine. I prefer my seafood linguine without greens, but otherwise the food was okay (the other half did like his fish and chips though) and we couldn't fault service.

"Great"
5/6
Mara B.2 years ago · 1 review

Very nice restaurant, nice food and drinks, kind and friendly staff helping with the choise of the dishes. Quite a wide range of menu items and appropriate prices. Very, very nice location, on Victoria Terrace. Great disappointment for the lack of communication between Quandoo, the site which manages with reservations, and the restaurant that hadn't received any communication about my booking and that had'n reserved any table for me and my husband. Great promptness of the restaurant manager to find us a quick accomodation but I wonder what could she do if we'd arrived at a busiest time, in a busiest day?....

"Great"
5/6
Maurizio T.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent lamb chops with haggis needs and tatties! Excellent portuguese wine!Nice atmosphere and friendly service! Cranachan good but not to the level of main and wine, in my opinion. Overall - Very positive experience for me at Maxies Bistro! Never let me down.

"Excellent"
6/6
Catherine T.6 months ago · 1 review

Took my French relatives to visit and they were really surprised that the food they chose was really good. Lamb chops with haggis and salmon in café de Paris sauce. They wolfed it down. I was pleased with the bill. Excellent quality and good value for money. Also very old and tartan so they loved that as well.

"Okay"
3/6
Selena C.2 years ago · 1 review

I read really good reviews about this place so thought we'd try it. I was slightly disappointed, firstly it was much smaller than I expected and the night we were there , it was really quiet and the place felt quite cold. My partner ordered a coffee which was lukewarm at best so had to get another one. We had 2 courses, steak for our main course and a dessert. The steak, for the price, was ok but we've had better steaks elsewhere for the same price. The desserts were generous though in their portion sizes.

"Okay"
3/6
Susan N.7 months ago · 11 reviews

I had booked online a week prior to my reservation. On arrival they seemed totally unaware of the booking. Luckily they had an empty table. The wine we selected and one of the main courses were not available. The bread with the salmon had been lying out for ages and was very stale. The battered fish had hardly any batter on it and must be one of the smallest pieces of fish I have seen served as a main course. Will not be back. Staff seemed completely uninterested.