Reviews Pie and Ale

Northern QuarterBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
156 Reviews
Pie and Ale Manchester image 1
Pie and Ale Manchester image 2
Pie and Ale Manchester image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

156 Pie and Ale Reviews

Read reviews about Pie and Ale here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Pie and Ale. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Pie and Ale.

Excellent
5.3/6
156 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Mark H.25 days ago · 2 reviews

Really good range of pies - 4 of us all had a different one and all were very good. Good selection of ale and friendly staff

"Excellent"
6/6
Adam D.a month ago · 1 review

The pie was amazing as always 😬 Will be going again

"Excellent"
6/6
Tom B.a month ago · 3 reviews

Does exactly what it says on the tin. The pies they serve are amazing and there is a great choice of beer. Allow a little time to get your pie but it's worth the wait. Amazing!

"Excellent"
6/6
Elizabeth C.2 months ago · 1 review

Great food, wonderful friendly service and a great atmosphere. We went with friends to celebrate a birthday and watch the rugby - it was the perfect place to do both! Will definitely go back.

"Great"
5/6
Zoë C.2 years ago · 1 review

We've been to Pie and Ale a few times now and always been impressed. The food is wonderful, there's plenty of option and it we all enjoyed what we had. Although this trip we did have a rather long wait for the food even though they weren't too busy which is why I've not given full marks. The main reason we chose Pie and Ale is because they always serve a vegan option so as well as the rest of the group enjoying themselves I loved that it was easy for me to find something to eat too. None of us were happy they charge extra to swap mash fir wedges though, as the pies are already charged a decent amount. The atmosphere is really friendly and laid back and the staff all seem happy and will do whatever they can to help you. Would highly recommend!

"Great"
5/6
Bev C.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our first visit to Pie and Ale and we took our daughter and partner there for an early evening meal. The food was really good and I would recommend the steak pie with red cabbage pie topping. The portion sizes were really generous so there was no room for any pudding. There was a good choice of ale and the wine was very reasonably priced. The staff were really friendly and attentive. We will definitely go back and would recommend this restaurant to our friends.

"Good"
4/6
Phil P.2 years ago · 1 review

Went to Pie and Ale with a large party, and there was mixed reaction to the food. Some people really enjoyed the meals, but others including myself felt that there wasn't enough content. The pies had little meat in them, and it was only the sauce that provided any flavour. I thought that the portions were also on the small side, particularly given that we want plenty of food to soak up the beer, as that's what the combination of pie and ale is all about, isn't it?

"Great"
5/6
Jonathon B.2 years ago · 7 reviews

This was my second visit. I had a couple of friends over and thought I'd introduce them to Pie and Ale,they weren't disappointed and really appreciated the selection of beers on offer. Our server was very knowledgeable about the different ales and help us make delicious selections.

"Good"
4/6
Kate P.2 years ago · 1 review

The staff were friendly and helpful, but the meal came out cold the 1st time after we had waited 30 mins then another 20 mins later for it to be rectified... it was still not as hot as it should have been. The pie (I had venison and Stilton my husband had steak and yippee pie ale) was really good but the mash and gravy lukewarm. I was looking forward to this evening out so I felt a bit disappointed. Staff were apologetic and quite rushed off their feet. They were very busy with an NFL game so I will try again, hopefully they won’t be as busy and the meal won’t be cold.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sophie T.7 months ago · 12 reviews

We visited Pie & Ale as a mixed age group of women (from 26 to 65) and all left delighted with our experience. The food was fantastic, the drinks were very nice and the atmosphere was great. There was really something to everyone, and great to see 3 vegan options on the menu! Very attentive staff who were only to happy to cater to our every need. We will definitely return!