Reviews The Butcher & Tonic

City CentreBritish, Steak, European££££
Excellent
5.0/6
109 Reviews
The Butcher & Tonic Lancaster image 1
The Butcher & Tonic Lancaster image 2
The Butcher & Tonic Lancaster image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

109 The Butcher & Tonic Reviews

Read reviews about The Butcher & Tonic here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Butcher & Tonic. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Butcher & Tonic.

Excellent
5.0/6
109 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Julie W.a day ago · 1 review

Steak night excellent value for money Will definitely be returning

"Excellent"
6/6
Elaine A.a month ago · 1 review

Excellent food,the steak was cooked to perfection the staff were friendly and very attentive,couldn’t ask for more

"Excellent"
6/6
Joy A.a month ago · 1 review

Lovely restaurant, staff knowledgeable about their Gin and beer. Food wonderful.

"Excellent"
6/6
Clare P.a month ago · 1 review

Lovely up , great food, excellent service. Car park nearby.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joanne D.a year ago · 1 review

The food was delicious, everyone in our party was very happy. We all had 3 courses and you couldn't fault any of them. The serving staff were friendly,considerate and helpful. The fantastic range of gins served by a extremely knowledgeable bar tender were also very enjoyable, it was lovely to be given advice and ideas on what to try based on our individual taste preferences. I had Scallops, followed by Cornfed Chicken and finished with the Treacle tart. It was all presented beautifully and exceeded my expectations. Friends chose the 9oz fillet steaks and said they were delicious and cooked exactly as they had requested. We thoroughly recommend The Butcher and Tonic.

"Bad"
2/6
Elizabeth K.2 months ago · 1 review

Booked here based on reviews but reality did not meet expectation. DRINKS: Had a Gin cocktail which was infused...this meant herbs frozen in an ice cube which even after 20 mins did not melt in drink, tried to squeeze a lemon wedge but all 3 frozen too. Friend had a Guinness from can which is fine but when arrived the whole glass was covered in bubbles and it tasted off - possible some dirt or rinse aid left in glass I would think. I drink Guinness more than anything else, Draught or Original and even warm from a can does not look like that. FOOD: Meal of Leek starter my friend said so small looked like Asparagus and was very under done despite one side blackened, I like al dente but this was more raw. Gave up after one and spent 10 mins pulling raw leek out of my teeth. Friend had pate which looked okay. Main meal I went with Chicken Kebabs and salad as mentioned on review, good chunks of chicken but bland and again veg was under cooked. Only rescue of some flavour was to cover in the sauce which was nice, had a bit of heat to it so glad I can tolerate it. Friend had the Chicken Supreme, said chicken good but the veg was like a frozen bag of rice with peas and sweetcorn heated. Lack of atmosphere too, big open blank space which felt a little like a dining hall at a school. To be fair we were early and so only a few diners in, for me it is more of a daytime place. When asked about meal by the person at the bar when we went to pay I was honest and they did offer to remove the leeks and Guinness but to be honest we just wanted to leave at this point. Sadly not the fun catch up with wine flowing over food as planned.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jennifer G.2 years ago · 1 review

We we're greeted by bar staff in a friendly manner and offered drinks and then asked did we want to go upto our table or stay downstairs. We our meal which came to our table in extra quick time, maybe this was because the restaurant was not full. We did notice that they had more than enough waiting on staff. The meal was lovely and the desert aswell. The upstairs tables and chairs could have a bit more character about them to match the building. The floor maybe something to make it less noisy. Meat cooked to perfection and.vegtables not overcooked. Can't wait to go back.

"Great"
5/6
Sharon R.9 months ago · 1 review

We went for Steak night (Thursday), the host was unsure on our arrival about the nights offers and had to keep going to ask which was a bit off putting. She was unsure if the offer was still on and did not no the wines which where included within the offer. (this was due to lack of staff training, she was lovely and made every effort to find out the information for us). We had amazing food and could not fault this, it was cooked to perfection the steak was tender and cooked to our request. Deserts was well presented full of flavour. Thank you for a lovely night and great food will defiantly recommend and will be returning.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gayle G.9 months ago · 1 review

First time visit to The Butcher & Tonic. We weren't disappointed. Very clean, easy listening music in the background,and,most important of all....fabulous food!! From starter to dessert,every dish was cooked to perfection,and,very high quality! We would definitely recommend people to visit this restaurant. We will definitely be returning there!!

"Bad"
2/6
Sarah S.2 years ago · 1 review

Having visited here a few times when it was 'church street chop house' we were quite disappointed with the service. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. When we arrived we were asked what we would like to drink, when we said we would like the wine list, the bar tender's response seemed that of surprise and disappointment at the same time - maybe everyone who comes here now always has a g&t. The wine list was limited but we chose a bottle of red. When the waitress brought it to our table she just put the bottle down unopened with two glasses and walked off! What happened to asking if you would like to taste it and pouring each glass? We ordered just mains as we didn't fancy anything on the starters, it was a shame there were no appetitizers, bread and olives etc. I asked for my chicken kebab with salad and a side order of fries. What I got was a kebab and a plate full of fries and a very small side salad. Presentation of the food wasn't the best. It looked like something I could throw together at home. My husband enjoyed his steak, which at £25 is a good job. We didn't order desert as they seemed very small when we saw other tables being served. Our main problem was getting hold of any service.. think everyone was too involved in the quiz downstairs. In the end we had to go down stairs to pay the bill at the bar! Think this place is now so focussed on its Gin that it has forgotten about its food offering. Shame as we used to live it here.