Reviews The Chequers Inn

Town centreBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.2/6
256 Reviews
The Chequers Inn Woolsthorpe image 1
The Chequers Inn Woolsthorpe image 2
The Chequers Inn Woolsthorpe image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

256 The Chequers Inn Reviews

Read reviews about The Chequers Inn here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Chequers Inn. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Chequers Inn.

Excellent
5.2/6
256 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Mara B.4 days ago · 1 review

Staff were lovely, food was great, setting was just what we hoped for. We will definitely return and recommend. Thank you for a lovely evening.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Emma W.4 days ago · 2 reviews

We come to the Chequers fairly regularly for work lunches because we know we can guarantee a great meal. The staff are attentive, menu choices great (with some lovely vegetarian options), the food is always delicious, in a lovely dining environment - thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
Keith K.21 days ago · 1 review

An excellent Sunday lunch with a really nice bottle of wine. Very busy and a good atmosphere. We will be back in the near future.

"Excellent"
6/6
Amanda B.21 days ago · 3 reviews

We enjoyed great food and service in a lovely pub restaurant. We had a really enjoyable evening and look forward to coming back again soon

"Excellent"
6/6
Yvonne M.a year ago · 1 review

The Chequers Inn is one of Belviors gems. A wonderful ambience with a roaring fire - which is in the bar area. We ate in the Bake House which is lovely. The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive during our stay. We were there on a Sunday so opted forthe Roast Sirloin, which was served with all the trimming. Delicious! I would recommend this.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kyan F.a year ago · 1 review

Our first time at The Chequers Inn and it did not disappoint. As we arrived we saw that there was a wedding on too and yet once we were seated at our table we had no idea it was on. The meal was superb, it was well timed between courses and the service was excellent.

"Okay"
3/6
Charlotte B.a year ago · 1 review

I usually love the chequers, but the visit this weekend left me feeling disappointed. We arrived and our table wasn't ready (not really a problem) but when it was ready nobody told us, so I had to go to the bar half an hour later and ask if our table was ready, to which I was told 'yeh, it's been ready a while'. After this service was pretty slow and the waitresses didn't know why the daily specials were. The food was ok, but far from the best food I've had at the chequers previously. We asked for the bill several times but ended up giving up as it didn't arrive and went to the bar to pay. Sadly, shortly after leaving the restaurant I became quite ill, with the symptoms suggesting some sort of food poisoning. I didn't notice a problem with the food whilst eating, but something clearly wasbt right. I hope that I just caught the chequers on a bad day, as I previously really enjoyed coming here, but I would like to see drastic improvements in the service before I return next and to hope that nobody else became sick after eating here. If this does not improve I won't be returning again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Natalie M.a year ago · 4 reviews

Fantastic service in a wonderful setting. We're so pleased to have chosen this restaurant to celebrate Fathers Day! Will definitely be back again soon. The food was beautiful. Very tasty and wonderfully presented. The restaurant staff were brilliant with our two young children (5 and 2) allowing them to share a portion (as it was so hot that day they weren't very interested in food!) and splitting it for us so even their food was beautifully presented. Was very excited to spy the restaurants private dining room and will certainly consider this for future events. All in all a very pleasing visit 😊

"Great"
5/6
Patrick M.7 months ago · 2 reviews

The ambiance in the bar and dining room was perfect, and thee bar service was first class. We were very pleased to be able to get a good meal on Sunday evening - preferring to have our main meal at that time rather than mid-day. We did find the menu a little disappointing but we all three of us chose fillet steak which was very good. We thought that the idea of having a "mini" desert was excellent - much better for the waistline. The staff in the dining room looked after us very well and served us perfectly. We have dined here many times - and will definitely go again.

"Okay"
3/6
Tony E.a year ago · 1 review

We do like the building and the general atmosphere and on a previous visit everything was good and we had thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. However on this occasion there seemed to be some problems. Early in the day I sent an email request to you, to have a wine served as an aperitif: this was not forthcoming or mentioned, just the ordering of drinks. When at table the party ordered from the menus handed out but the member of of staff returned, full of apologies to say that three out of the six were not available. All three were lobster. Reorders were necessary. The length of time from orders to service was quite extensive. My scampi and fish gave the impression that it had been standing too long before being served. I did not want address any complaint at the time because my wife's son was treating us for her birthday, so I did not wish to cause any embarrassment. Overall somewhat disappointing I regret to say.