Reviews The Chequers Inn

Town centreBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.2/6
289 Reviews
The Chequers Inn Woolsthorpe image 1
The Chequers Inn Woolsthorpe image 2
The Chequers Inn Woolsthorpe image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

289 The Chequers Inn Reviews

Read reviews about The Chequers Inn here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Chequers Inn. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Chequers Inn.

Excellent
5.2/6
289 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Tracey M.a day ago · 2 reviews

Lovely country pub with fantastic food and service. Definitely recommend.

New"Excellent"
6/6
pete h.5 days ago · 7 reviews

Great Thankyou very much . A nice place to eat

New"Excellent"
6/6
Louise L.8 days ago · 1 review

This is our favourite place to eat in the Vale - the food and service never disappoint plus we love the ambiance!

"Excellent"
6/6
Dave R.a month ago · 1 review

Good food served in a really nice friendly environment. Always good to enjoy a meal out at The Chequers. Looking forward to the next visit already!

"Excellent"
6/6
Steve S.2 months ago · 1 review

It was a dark night, a lilltle cold and rain in the air. We parked the car in the ample spaced car park in front of and around the back of The Chequres. We've been before but not for a long time. Once through the front door we walked straight into the bar area where there were a few customers at the bar with a member of staff behind it. With a broard smile she welcomed my wife and I to The Chequres and asked me what we would like to drink and whether we had booked a table, if so we could have a drink in the bar first and when we were ready she would show us to our table, (sorry I didn't get her name but she was wearing glasses). We booked an early evening meal so we asked to be shown to our table. Within a blink of an eye the staff member picked up two menus and swiftly walked us to The Snug and placed our menus on the table right by the lovely warm open fire. Once we were settled down, with our coats off, she asked if we wanted a drink. We asked her to give us a few minutes and without fartherado she returned we chose two large red wines at which she rattled off a number of Red Wines to which we chose the Merlot. Once the two glasses of Merlot was on our table we had chosen our meals. Another member of staff, with notebook in hand, she took our orders making sure she repeated the order to ensure all was correct before leaving for the kitchen. I had the Shortcrust Steak and Ale Pie (with mushrooms), hand cut chips and Green Beans, my wife chose the Homemade Burger and the trimmings. Not long after, our meals arrived with yet another member of staff, again with a broad smile on his face asking who had ordered the Burger etc. He too asked if my wife wanted anything with the Burger, K Up was her choice, it arrived in a suitable white pot. Finally, the pudding menu arrived, I ordered the Dark Chocolate pudding with a scoop of nutty icecream and my wife had the Lemon Tart with a scoop of Sorbet, within seconds got tucked in. Both courses were well cooked, presented and tasted just as one would have expected. A lovely experience in lovely surroundings with caring staff looking after all your wishes. We will be returning without a doubt. Thank You Steve and Sue.

"Good"
4/6
Raymond M.a month ago · 1 review

The service was excellent and the candle-lit atmosphere welcoming and appropriate for Valentine's Day, but the food was quite a long way from good. It was clear that most of the dishes were pre-prepped and created to maximise profits rather than aim for quality. The miniature bowl of pea soup was ok, but the platter of sea food not particularly good. The batter on the large tempura prawn was not crisp - in fact Iceland do a much better version. The oyster was small and lacked real flavour, and the two minute scallops per person were nothing like the fat, juicy, delicately-flavoured scallops I would expect in a restaurant, though they were saved by the garlic and cheese. The steak in the beef wellington was excellent - well cooked and tender - but the pastry was limp and soggy. The mixed, chopped vegetables were not particularly enjoyable and the dauphinoise potatoes were not how they should be by a long way. Instead of creamy, garlicky, cheesy and crispy on top, they were more a slice of potato cake - stodgy and bland. The selection of puddings weren't bad, though the chocolate sponge wasn't light and airy and hadn't appeared to rise properly. Just disappointed as it wouldn't have taken that much more effort to make this a wonderful dining experience rather than an easily forgettable one.

"Excellent"
6/6
Yvonne M.2 years ago · 1 review

The Chequers Inn is one of Belviors gems. A wonderful ambience with a roaring fire - which is in the bar area. We ate in the Bake House which is lovely. The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive during our stay. We were there on a Sunday so opted forthe Roast Sirloin, which was served with all the trimming. Delicious! I would recommend this.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kyan F.2 years ago · 1 review

Our first time at The Chequers Inn and it did not disappoint. As we arrived we saw that there was a wedding on too and yet once we were seated at our table we had no idea it was on. The meal was superb, it was well timed between courses and the service was excellent.

"Okay"
3/6
Charli B.2 years ago · 1 review

I usually love the chequers, but the visit this weekend left me feeling disappointed. We arrived and our table wasn't ready (not really a problem) but when it was ready nobody told us, so I had to go to the bar half an hour later and ask if our table was ready, to which I was told 'yeh, it's been ready a while'. After this service was pretty slow and the waitresses didn't know why the daily specials were. The food was ok, but far from the best food I've had at the chequers previously. We asked for the bill several times but ended up giving up as it didn't arrive and went to the bar to pay. Sadly, shortly after leaving the restaurant I became quite ill, with the symptoms suggesting some sort of food poisoning. I didn't notice a problem with the food whilst eating, but something clearly wasbt right. I hope that I just caught the chequers on a bad day, as I previously really enjoyed coming here, but I would like to see drastic improvements in the service before I return next and to hope that nobody else became sick after eating here. If this does not improve I won't be returning again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Natalie M.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Fantastic service in a wonderful setting. We're so pleased to have chosen this restaurant to celebrate Fathers Day! Will definitely be back again soon. The food was beautiful. Very tasty and wonderfully presented. The restaurant staff were brilliant with our two young children (5 and 2) allowing them to share a portion (as it was so hot that day they weren't very interested in food!) and splitting it for us so even their food was beautifully presented. Was very excited to spy the restaurants private dining room and will certainly consider this for future events. All in all a very pleasing visit 😊