157 The Great Kathmandu Tandoori Reviews

Read reviews about The Great Kathmandu Tandoori here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Great Kathmandu Tandoori. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Great Kathmandu Tandoori.

Excellent
5.2/6
157 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Great value
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"6/6
Cathy F.14 days ago · 1 review

Quality of food excellent. Best chicken shaslik I have ever tasted and have had many. The whole group thoroughly enjoyed their food. Service very good.

"Excellent"6/6
Mark F.2 months ago · 6 reviews

Lovely meal and atmosphere. The food is superb and the se rvice is very good too.

"Excellent"6/6
Donna S.3 months ago · 1 review

From the beginning we were made to feel welcome and staff very attentive - it was my fathers 79th birthday and they brought him a cake and candle at the end of the meal - we also we able to have a doggy bag to take home the food we has been too stuffed to eat. We all had a fantastic tie and my dad had a great birthday! Thank you Katmandu!

"Excellent"6/6
Alex L.3 months ago · 1 review

Top night and very accommodating for 12 of us at short notice. The food was brilliant and it's a perfect location with the Burton Road Tram stop being close by.

"Great"5/6
John F.2 years ago · 1 review

We used to eat here many years ago not long after it first opened. It was only a small restaurant then and the food was second to none - the freshness, the flavours and the tandoori cooking absolutely sublime with naan and pilau rice to die for. The restaurant has since expanded considerably in line with its reputation and to meet the ever-increasing demand for food in West Didbsury. We thought the curries were as good as ever but the tandoori mixed starter was disappointing - whilst the flavours were good, we were pretty sure it had been re-heated in a microwave and not cooked fresh in the tandoor, especially as it arrived very quickly after we'd ordered and the seek kebab was on the soggy side. However overall this did not detract from what was a very reasonably-priced meal served by friendly, efficient staff - and the curries, rice and naan are still THE best, though the Rajdoot runs it close (but is a lot dearer).

"Great"5/6
Dan T.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was absolutely amazing.... as always! They really are a cut above. Fine ingredients, perfectly cooked, wonderful flavour balances. Good sized portions as well. We went for a prawn and fish special, lamb handi and tandoori chicken shak-shu-na, as well as various sides. This is my third visit and there are very few restaurants that deliver such consistent high standards. Shame the service was a little bit slow, clumsy and disjointed. It was 8pm on the Saturday of Valentine's Day week, so understandably they were mega-busy. Staff were clearly working hard and I'm not sure an additional member of staff would have helped (quite tightly packed in the dining area). Just one if those things... small blot, but definitely a positive experience all things considered.

"Excellent"6/6
David S.a year ago · 1 review

Convivial atmosphere, attentive waiters, reasonable bill, scrumptious food! What more can one ask? Well, one thing. The wine was a disappointment, we chose the S African Shiraz. Not a patch on its Australian counterpart, started rough and had only marginally improved by the end of the bottle. It felt like the sort of bottle you could pick up at a cut-price outlet for £2.99. Those of us drinking it agreed, a £4.99 equivalent from say Aldi or Lidl would be much better and surely at £16.95 the restaurant could afford that slightly reduced profit-margin. It didn't spoil the meal though, which was top-notch.

"Great"5/6
Emma B.2 years ago · 1 review

Food is delicious however the service midweek for a large group of 8 appeared to be too much for the waiters. We were short changed on the amount of mo mo's we'd ordered for our starter, the staff brought out meals we hadn't ordered, and we struggled to catch someone's eye when we needed something such as a drink or the bill. I would still go back however, as the food is truly very tasty, and the service at the weekend for small groups such as couples is fine.

"Excellent"6/6
Martin H.a year ago · 1 review

Busy Nepalese restaurant with a lively atmosphere. Decor is bright with a welcome nod to Indian restaurant style of the 80s. Service is efficient and friendly. Food is exceptional, with all 6 dishes on our table very different-unlike many lower end Indian restaurants where most dishes seem to be produced from a single common base sauce. We have been coming here for years. Standards are consistently high.

"Excellent"6/6
Martin M.6 months ago · 2 reviews

Excellent service and perfect food. This place gets everything right from quality of food, consistency of presentation and flavour and choice of wine. A lot of similar restaurants can do hot spicy dishes well as the GK does but none can present the mild and medium choices with the same unerring skill in the balance of the sauces and cooking of lamb and chicken.