Reviews The Horse and Farrier

ThrelkeldDrinks, British, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
169 Reviews
The Horse and Farrier Keswick image 1
The Horse and Farrier Keswick image 2
The Horse and Farrier Keswick image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

169 The Horse and Farrier Reviews

Read reviews about The Horse and Farrier here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Horse and Farrier. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Horse and Farrier.

Excellent
5.3/6
169 Reviews
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Lynne D.8 hours ago · 2 reviews

Sunday lunch 3 roast perfection, staff friendly, great value for money

New"Excellent"
6/6
Pauline H.2 days ago · 1 review

Sunday lunch was lovely, we had pork,beef and lamb,the lamb was a bit tough but the rest was excellent and the service was too.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Peter B.9 days ago · 1 review

Warm and welcoming Food excellent Staff attentive courteous very friendly Great dining experience!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lance S.22 days ago · 1 review

There was nothing one could say about my visit other than excellent in every way.

"Excellent"
6/6
John B.2 years ago · 1 review

En route to Keswick theatre we booked a table for lunch - a really straightforward procedure immediately confirmed. Parking is easy. This is a lovely cosy historic building with tables well spread out and with friendly staff. The food is delicious! Our friend chose a brie and bacon baguette which was overflowing with bacon and cheese and served with tasty accompaniments - the portion was such that you couldn't still be hungry after eating this! Chips here are always good and "home cooked." Steak and ale pie was delicious as was lasagne. We were too full for desert but coffee was declared very good by us all. We were originally recommended to visit here by friends and now we take other friends to enjoy with us.

"Great"
5/6
Rae M.2 years ago · 1 review

I booked a table for lunch to have a meeting with colleagues driving up from Leeds. The food and service were excellent and the surroundings, inside and outside, were conducive to productive discussions. We were under no pressure to hurry and sat outside to finish our meeting. The Horse and Farrier is a great ambassador for Cumbria, both of my colleagues said they planned to come up with family and stay for a weekend. Thanks.

"Great"
5/6
Kenneth E.2 years ago · 1 review

We have been periodic visitors to The Horse and Farrier for many years. On this occasion, as previously, we received friendly and efficient service. The food was well-cooked, plentiful and reasonably priced. The surroundings might benefit from a little upgrading, but not at the expense of their undoubted character and history. Well worth a visit for the food. Have never stayed there, so can't comment on that aspect of the service.

"Good"
4/6
Lucy T.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was good although the fillet steak did not need goats cheese and aubergine. Would have been better as a steak Rossini in our opinion. Kids food was fine, but stingy on the beans and peas. Service was excellent, very quick and efficient with a friendly staff on the whole. Although when my daughter asked if she could order desert for her and her brother she was firmly told that she could do after everyone had finished in a very stern way. We were actually fine with them ordering their pudding as the person still eating had very little left to eat. She made my daughter feel very embarrassed and uncomfortable which was not appreciated. It has been a few years since we ate here. It used to be a really special place to eat and it now feels like just another good pub. Don't get me wrong, it is very good but it has lost its shine for us sadly.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jack C.2 years ago · 1 review

We had an excellent meal at the Horse and Farrier. We were made most welcome when we arrived and taken to our pre booked table. Our menus were given to us after we had ordered our drinks. The meals were chicken curry and fish and chips for mains followed by ginger sponge pudding and rhubarb and gooseberry crumble. All meals were served in a very reasonable time without them being served too quickly or too slowly. The food was excellent and the ambience of the pub excellent too. The staff were very polite and engaged in conversation very well. Thank you very much for a most enjoyable evening

"Great"
5/6
Martin H.2 years ago · 1 review

Bustling even on a cold, sleety March evening with locals and visitors, plus hounds. A warm welcome, assisted by a hearty open fire. Excellent selection of the best Jennings brewery has to offer and a broad wine offering, by the glass or bottle. Reliable, well cooked, pub grub - slow cooked lamb shoulder was succulent & fell off the bone plus daily specials. No surprise it's always busy - booking essential in the evening during the summer months - but our regular trips to the area wouldn't be complete without a trip to the Horse & Farrier.