Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Keswick
Threlkeld
The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld
The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld Reviews

The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld

Drinks, British, European

Dishes priced around£13

Photo of restaurant The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld in Threlkeld, Keswick

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld (824)

Read what people think about The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Horse and Farrier - Threlkeld and book a table with confidence!

5.3/6

824 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
6422
5285
467
326
218
16
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
New"Excellent"
6/6
Dawn G.9 hours ago · 1 review

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Very tasty food with good portions. Excellent service. We loved our waiters sense of humour 👍🤣

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah T.14 hours ago · 1 review

Very welcoming landlord nice service -nice Sunday lunch & excellent crème brûlée

New"Excellent"
6/6
Deborah W.2 days ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic food, great service, and lovely atmosphere. Keith our waiter was superb. We all had the fish pie special which was plentiful and great quality

New"Excellent"
6/6
Brian S.3 days ago · 2 reviews

Welcoming friendly staff, efficient and caring service and great pub food, all on the side of Blencathra. What's not to love. The perfect place to chill one of my all time favourite pubs.

New"Very good"
5/6
David W.3 days ago · 2 reviews

Very friendly staff. Good choice of good value food. Great relaxed atmosphere.

New"Very good"
5/6
Karen W.5 days ago · 1 review

Lovely atmosphere, food was good and staff were very freindly. Would definitely recommend.

New"Very good"
5/6
Brian H.5 days ago · 1 review

Very good food and service. Slight wait as very busy.

New"Very good"
5/6
David A.6 days ago · 1 review

Booked in for a late Sunday lunch after our walk. It was exactly what was required.

New"Not good "
2/6
Derek T.6 days ago · 2 reviews

Disappointing. The food lacked finesse - rather heavy on mash, roast potatoes and swede swimming in gravy, and a bowl of overcooked green vegetables. The toilets needed a bit of cleaning. When this was brought to the attention of staff we were told that they had had a busy day.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Charlotte D.7 days ago · 1 review

Great Sunday dinner, very fast service times (which was must appreciated after a long day hiking, swimming and paddleboarding).

New"Very good"
5/6
Tim B.7 days ago · 1 review

A lovely pub in a beautiful location. The Aunday roast was excellent!

New"Very good"
5/6
Gaynor G.7 days ago · 1 review

Had a roast lamb Dinner - very generous portions. Most enjoyable. Plenty of pudding choices. Paired it with a delicious gin

New"Very good"
5/6
Liz M.7 days ago · 2 reviews

Fab Sunday lunch. Be prepared for lots of food! Lovely.

New"Average"
3/6
Frank B.7 days ago · 1 review

Food was very ordinary, Service was adequate, Have had better experience here in past. Better food and value e lsewhere

New"Excellent"
6/6
Helen P.8 days ago · 3 reviews

We come here every year when we visit Keswick. The food and service is always really good. We had a lovely gent last night dressed very smart who served us and was brilliant!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Diane A.9 days ago · 1 review

Place was very quiet when we arrived 5pm so not much atmosphere but within 60 mins the place was buzzing. Service was very quick food lovely and hot. We had an issue with one of deserts but it was rectified straight away. Verny nice meal will eat here again.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Allen R.12 days ago · 1 review

Very pleasant experience,lovely food and excellent service from the staff

New"Awful"
1/6
BENJAMIN B.13 days ago · 1 review

It was very poor overall we would not go back again

New"Average"
3/6
Virginia O.13 days ago · 1 review

The bruschetta was below par, the calimari was OK, but suspect it was out of a packet. The service was rushed and the waiter managed to knock over a pint of beer then knocked lemon slice onto my hubby’s trousers whilst trying to clean up . We were very disappointed after expecting much more. We also witnessed other diners being subject to very rushed service. Such a shame as it is a lovely pub. Won’t be back I am afraid.

New"Very good"
5/6
Sue B.13 days ago · 3 reviews

Great food very accommodating although some drinks ordered and never got but it was very busy.

"Very good"
5/6
Linda B.14 days ago · 1 review

Good food, plenty of it. Great service. Perfect end to a perfect day.

"Average"
3/6
Bob C.14 days ago · 1 review

My wife’s curry was not properly cooked so had to be sent back and was redone. No adjustment offered on bill which was disappointing.

"Excellent"
6/6
Luke A.14 days ago · 1 review

Delicious Sunday roast with a beautiful location and really friendly service!

"Very good"
5/6
Ivan B.14 days ago · 1 review

Great Sunday Roast service was prompt the food was excellent.

"Excellent"
6/6
Douglas L.15 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic service and amazing food. Will be back. Thank you

"Excellent"
6/6
Liam C.15 days ago · 1 review

Great service, delicious food and great environment, thank very much.

"Very good"
5/6
Jacky B.16 days ago · 1 review

A meal at the Horse & Farrier is always the final treat of our annual holiday in the Lake District.

"Good"
4/6
John H.16 days ago · 1 review

Good pub grub served quickly by happy friendly staff, recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Thomas D.19 days ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic food, great atmosphere and excellent staff. We’ll be back.

"Good"
4/6
Quandoo Diner19 days ago · 1 review

In general were satisfied with our experience but would mention presentation of food was overpowering inthat portions particularly Yorkshire pudding were somewhat for too much on the plate.

"Excellent"
6/6
Martin C.21 days ago · 1 review

Booked table and although not ready at the time they worked hard to get us seated when very busy. Fantastic food. Huge portions. Staff friendly and service good. Very happy

"Excellent"
6/6
Karen M.21 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and atmosphere. Very helpful staff. Would definitely recommend!

"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny H.22 days ago · 1 review

The setting of this place is beautiful at the bottom of Blencathra. The staff are very friendly & helpful, as for the food it is always delicious. I have been here few times now & it never disappoints.

"Excellent"
6/6
Marion M.22 days ago · 1 review

Fabulous food, great service and an excellent place for lunch. Staff are so friendly and helpful.

"Good"
4/6
Keith K.25 days ago · 1 review

Excellent value and service on the edge of the lakes

"Very good"
5/6
Dave H.a month ago · 1 review

Arrived early for our meal but staff were quite happy to accomodate us. Service was timely and very friendly. Lunch menu option was good and varied, served hot, in generous portions and tasty. Busy and popular eating place, I would recommend booking in advance. Overall a pleasant experience.

"Very good"
5/6
Janice A.a month ago · 1 review

Staff very good and food excellent , service very fast

"Very good"
5/6
Richard J.a month ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and good atmosphere. Great staff. Thoroughly splendid evening!

"Very good"
5/6
Stephen W.a month ago · 1 review

Good food, quick and friendly service in a busy pub

"Very good"
5/6
Quandoo Dinera month ago · 1 review

Excellent Sunday lunch, good beer and the usual friendly and efficient service

"Excellent"
6/6
jo n.a month ago · 1 review

Beautiful food! Young female waitress very welcoming and friendly!! Great service. Will definitely visit again.

"Very good"
5/6
Mike T.a month ago · 1 review

A very pleasant dining experience in all respects, enjoyed by all

"Excellent"
6/6
Sheila H.a month ago · 1 review

A very warm welcome and excellent service - staff were friendly and efficient even though it was very busy. The food was outstanding: absolutely delicious with brilliant sauces. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Patricia D.a month ago · 1 review

All the food from starter to pudding was wonderful and staff were friendly and helpful as always.

"Very good"
5/6
Del E.a month ago · 1 review

Great food. Attentive service. Prompt and efficient delivery. Eclectic surroundings

"Excellent"
6/6
Doreen W.a month ago · 1 review

Have visited quite few times and food is always very good as is the service.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen E.a month ago · 1 review

Lovely, homely pub, ideal for a filling meal. The atmosphere was relaxed, it was nice and warm and the food was well presented, tasty and plenty of it. Children’s menu was decent and the staff were very understanding when we had to rearrange our booking time. We will be paying a visit next time we’re in the area.

"Excellent"
6/6
Roger C.a month ago · 3 reviews

Excellent Sunday lunch. Recommend booking ahead because it’s very popular.

"Very good"
5/6
Quandoo Dinera month ago · 1 review

Excellent food and drinks with generous portions . Friendly helpful staff. Timing of all 4 courses ( ! ) excellent …

"Very good"
5/6
Emma H.a month ago · 1 review

Really good food- we all had 3 courses :) I had the duck which was on special and it was delicious. Staff were very friendly and its a relaxed atmosphere.

Nearby restaurants